We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much better than a hotel”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sitka
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Katlian Street Suites
Ranked #7 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Sitka
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Our family of four stayed in one of the two condos on Katlian Street and it really worked out perfectly. The two-bedroom apartment was immaculate, roomy, and very comfortable. The location overlooks the harbor and is walking distance to eveywhere in town. Equipped with cable tv, internet, a full kitchen, and two bathrooms, the condo felt more like home than a hotel ever could. The next time we head to Sitka I will definitely book here again.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank starfski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2012

Dan and Grechen Stockel are the proprietors of Katlian Street Suites. Our family (me, husband, two kids in their 20s) stayed in the 2BR/2 bath [shower, no tub/s] condo happily for 4 (sunny) days - washing clothes, walking next door to delish Ludvig's Bistro (make reservations!), hiking, sea kayaking, etc. Dan picked us up at the airport (about a mile away) upon arrival and took us to the ferry (about a 15 minute drive) for the departure to Juneau, after making sure we filled our water bottles from the local spring. We left not only with a sense of gratitude for the hospitality but for the comfort and cleanliness and spaciousness of the well situated condo. We scored some smoked salmon/salmon jerky/salmon-anything from the seafood business Dan runs below the condo, too. Early on, as I was cobbling the trip together and talking it through with him, he made the suggestion that we spend that one day we had up for grabs in Sitka rather than Juneau. Got that one right! (We did spend one afternoon/overnight in Juneau and that was plenty. In addition to the cute stuff/gold rush vibe architecture, it's got the deadening architecture of state buildings along with a gazillion cruise ships to make it a place good for a few hours. (State Museum is worth it.) Plus, it's r e a l l y spread out. Sitka is really compact.) The condo is right in Tlingit town, across from a busy working harbor. And it has a balcony. It was fun and functional. And Dan and Grechen were fresh and easy to work with - not crusty or greedy or burnt out.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ~~
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Boy did we luck out by booking at the Katlian Street Suites. Dan & his wife Gretchen were the perfect hosts. The suites are brand new, immaculate, well stocked and in a great location. Dan & Gretchen are beyond friendly and helpful. They helped us plan our stay in Sitka and Gretchen and daughter Brooke gave us a wonderful personal tour. Dan helped us connect with a fishing charter. I can not say enough good things about them or our great stay in Sitka. The units have wonderful kitchens but two fabulous restaurants are in walking distance. It is a great place for couples staying together or families traveling.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatembNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012 via mobile

So happy to find this condo in sitka. So much better than the place we were going to stay.

it is about the same price as some of the hotel rooms but its so much nicer

All the amenities you would expect.
Full kitchen
2 bedrooms 2 bathrooms
Washer/dryer
Nice deck overlooking Harbor

Spotless clean

So nice to not have to inspet everything

Definitely a gem in sitka

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freberd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

During another long trip to Alaska we visited this time Sitka, a charming little town in the southeast. When searching for lodging I came across Katlian Street Suites. This place seems a perfect fit for us. It had a full kitchen, washer/dryer, two bedrooms and two bathrooms. For two of us it was a kind of large accommodation but less expensive than other smaller places. While reading reviews of this place on TA I was a little reluctant because almost all these glowing reviews came from posters who never contributed to TA before or after posting just one review. Nonetheless, we decided to stay in Katlian Street Suites.

Exchanging e-mail with Dan, the owner, was encouraging. On arrival the first impression of the commercial part of the street as we were driving from the ferry was somewhat daunting but our lodging was located across very neat business buildings. The owner has a business downstairs and the Ludwig’s Bistro is located next to it.

This place surprised us. The whole suite was large, spotless, tastefully decorated with modern furniture, including very comfortable leather sofa. The main floor was very bright with high ceiling and there was a balcony with chairs where we sat a couple times in the evening after all businesses closed. We watched boats in a marina across the street.

The suite has no phone service but there was a quick Wi-Fi. The cable TV was sometimes a little finicky but we did not spend lots of time watching TV because we hiked on many wonderful trails in the area.

We enjoyed preparing many of our meals during a week long stay in well supplied kitchen. On our arrival there was also some food provided like smoked salmon, coffee, bottled water. The big bonus was the farmer’s market right across the street. I think this farmer’s market is there only every other Saturday so we were there on that Saturday. To my amazement this farmer’s market was fabulous and much better than many farmers’ markets I visited in much bigger communities.

Overall this was a fantastic place for our week in Sitka and I would give the Katlian Street Suits the highest rating. Unfortunately, I cannot do that because of what happened to our car. While placing our car in the upper parking lot neighborhood’s kids one evening decided to climb on the top of a hood of our car and drag their bike with them. We opened a door of our suite after we heard loud voices. To our surprise we found kids who, after asking them what they were doing, weren't ready to get down. Surely enough we found plenty of new deep scratches on our car. If we had a brand new car or a rental car we would make a big deal. We were not happy about it but the next day the owner told us he is talking with his insurance about it so we waited but he never contacted us. Therefore this is a reason why my grading of this place has to be lowered. I would return to the Katlian Street Suites again but what would we do about parking of our car? I guess I could park downstairs on the street in designated tight parking spaces. This is not free parking and limited number of spaces we noticed was most of the time occupied.

Room Tip: To avoid potential damage to your car I would not recommend parking in the upper parking area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Places
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Katlian Street Suites is a bargain. It's spic-and-span clean, equiped with all the comforts of home including some food essentials, it's very light and airy with a huge cathedral cieiling and it's situated close to "downtown" as well as being in among the busy and fascinating fishing piers.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wagandwoof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

This was a perfect place in the heart of Sitka. Rather than stay at the hotel for two groups, it cut our expenses in half. There was bottled water and coffee available and every thing was clean and well cared for. Full kitchen is great to have even if you are eating out. We hope to stay there again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlaskaBorn58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sitka hotels
0.2 mi away
Sitka Hotel
Sitka Hotel
#4 of 8 in Sitka
31 reviews
0.3 mi away
Westmark Sitka Hotel
0.1 mi away
Totem Square Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Sitka
Super 8 Sitka
#2 of 8 in Sitka
294 reviews
0.2 mi away
Longliner Lodge and Suites
0.3 mi away
Aspen Suites Hotel Sitka
Aspen Suites Hotel Sitka
#12 of 14 in Sitka
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katlian Street Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katlian Street Suites

Address: 246 Katlian St, Sitka, AK 99835-7501
Region: United States > Alaska > Sitka
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Sitka
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer two, almost identical suites, each with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, a kitchen, living room and dining room that are located on Katlian Street in Sitka, Alaska. Both suites are in the same building with separate entrances and offer views to the ocean, ANB harbor, Sitka Sound Seafoods and the John O'Connel bridge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Katlian Street Suites Sitka, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing