We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Alaska Whale Watching Boat Excursion

This excursion was excellent! We saw whales, sea otters, sea lions, seals, eagles, even a bear... read more

Reviewed 7 September 2023
Jennifer H
Perfect day

We spent a wonderful afternoon with Neil and highly recommend booking with him. We saw a mother... read more

Reviewed 10 August 2023
mamabearonthego
Read all 90 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveller rating
88
1
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
88
1
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews captain neil harbor seals whale song whale watching see whales wildlife photography visit sitka cruise ship personal experience three hours marine life small group animals otters tours murres overcast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 90 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2018

We booked A Whale's Song Expedition with another couple and had the time of our lives. We saw and photographed whales, harbor seals, puffins, starfish, and birds. We were impressed with the respect Neil showed the sea mammals, other sea life, and birds in how he maneuvered his ship. Lione and he were exceptionally knowledgeable about the animals and helpful to us in getting magnificent photographs. One thing that made this whale watching tour special is that there were only 4 passengers. Neil never takes more than 6 people so there is no jockeying or contorting one's self to see or photograph the wildlife. We highly recommend A Whale's Song Expeditions.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank esnjays2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Neil M, Owner at A Whale's Song Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

We are humbled by your great review! Thank You!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018

The trip was wonderful. We saw dozens of whales, sea otters, sea lions, eagles, and birds. The captain and naturalist were professional and helped us enjoy the experience.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank dukrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Neil M, Owner at A Whale's Song Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Thanks for the great review!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018

We were lucky with great weather and saw lots of wildlife. Our captain Neil would make sure that we got good lighting for our photos, and the cruise was smooth. It was also nice to be on the same trip with someone who love photography and wildlife. Lione provided good knowledge on birds and wildlife, while making sure that I had the right settings for the shots.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank NadiaPHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Neil M, Owner at A Whale's Song Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

Thanks Nadia! That was such a wonderful day. I hope to see some of your great shots. And hope to see you in the spring for whales bubble netting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2018 via mobile

What an amazing tour! We were welcomed aboard and offered coffee and snacks as well as pairs of binoculars to use. Our day tour gave us great glimpses of humpback whales diving for food or flunking. We had orca whales dancing in and out of the waves as well as harbor porpoises and harbor seals and otters. One otter was leisurely feasting on squid. Out at the Island of St Lazaria we saw puffins, auklets, murres, and even Harlequins. Captain McDermott was knowledgeable and shared our enthusiasm for all we saw out there. Lionne, our naturalist, was a great birder and super photographer. They made the trip truly enjoyable! I loved our tour and highly recommend it to those who are birders or who want to see a slice of Alaskan marine life.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Elaine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Neil M, Owner at A Whale's Song Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2018

Thanks Elaine. Great to meet you and talk about common background and sharing all the beauty of Sitka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2018

I and two family members took the 3 hours birding tour to St. Lazaria Island and were very happy with our experience. The trip around the island gave us excellent views of both the island and its nesting birds, and we also saw numerous sea otters and humpback whales on the way out to and back from St. Lazaria. Our return trip brought us close to the shores of Kruzof Island, where we had the closest encounter to a humpback whale I have ever had in any of my wildlife tours.

Neil's boat was clean and in good working order, and Neil and Leone (the naturalist aboard) were very friendly and knowledgeable, seeking to customize the trip according to what we wanted to see. The small group size (maximum of 6) allows for much more personalized trips and better wildlife viewing. The rate, while not cheap (you get what you pay for), is certainly in line with the hourly-average for Sitka. The advantage here is that Neil's tour provides an additional hour over the typically-two-hour-long trips other guides offer. This allows for extra time to spend on location for viewing wildlife, and I definitely feel two hours would have been too short.

I haven't taken the other specialized tours A Whale's Song offers, but certainly will do so in the future. If you're looking for a good tour operator in the area, A Whale's Song is an excellent choice.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank grandia32001
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Neil M, Owner at A Whale's Song Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2018

Thanks so much. We really enjoyed meeting you and the family! What a great day! Hope you got some great images.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews