We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
NO ONE BETTER!!

This is our 3rd photography tour with Capt. Neil McDermott along with Tyler Eddy, resident... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
whoa3050
,
midwest
Alaska Whale Watching Boat Excursion

This excursion was excellent! We saw whales, sea otters, sea lions, seals, eagles, even a bear... read more

Reviewed 7 September 2023
Jennifer H
Read all 91 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveller rating
89
1
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
89
1
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews captain neil harbor seals whale song whale watching see whales wildlife photography visit sitka cruise ship personal experience three hours marine life small group animals otters tours murres overcast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 91 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2018

Neil found the perfect spot on our trip, even with three cameras it was hard to keep up with all the whales surrounding us, plus the sea was calm and the skies were clear (we were very lucky that day), and the complimentary hot coco was perfect. Not a disappointing moment, I would book this again if ever we return to Sitka.

Date of experience: September 2018
2  Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
NeilM3452, Owner at A Whale's Song Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2018

Thanks so much. That day was awesome!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

Great family outing, highly recommend. Very personal and informative tour. Provided a great whale watching experience with local flavor.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank nhloran
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
NeilM3452, Owner at A Whale's Song Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

This Makes us smile! Thank You!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018

Wonderful from beginning to end. didn't want to do another cruise line tour and wanted to try a local tour instead. Glad I did! This tour is smaller (6 people max) but provides a much more personal experiences from native locals. got to see Oscar The Sea Otter from close range on the way out to see local islands containing lots of sea birds. On the return trip, got to spend an hour or so watching the whales feed. got lucky enough to see an entire pod of whales (5-6) all in one place feeding and diving. one dived within 50 feet of the boat! the highlight of our trip. would recommend again. :)

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Joe Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
NeilM3452, Owner at A Whale's Song Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

That was such a beautiful and awesome Day. We thank you for joining us and for this wonderful review!
Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018

We booked A Whale's Song Expedition with another couple and had the time of our lives. We saw and photographed whales, harbor seals, puffins, starfish, and birds. We were impressed with the respect Neil showed the sea mammals, other sea life, and birds in how he maneuvered his ship. Lione and he were exceptionally knowledgeable about the animals and helpful to us in getting magnificent photographs. One thing that made this whale watching tour special is that there were only 4 passengers. Neil never takes more than 6 people so there is no jockeying or contorting one's self to see or photograph the wildlife. We highly recommend A Whale's Song Expeditions.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank esnjays2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Neil M, Owner at A Whale's Song Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

We are humbled by your great review! Thank You!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018

The trip was wonderful. We saw dozens of whales, sea otters, sea lions, eagles, and birds. The captain and naturalist were professional and helped us enjoy the experience.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank dukrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Neil M, Owner at A Whale's Song Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Thanks for the great review!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews