We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
NO ONE BETTER!!

This is our 3rd photography tour with Capt. Neil McDermott along with Tyler Eddy, resident... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
whoa3050
,
midwest
Alaska Whale Watching Boat Excursion

This excursion was excellent! We saw whales, sea otters, sea lions, seals, eagles, even a bear... read more

Reviewed 7 September 2023
Jennifer H
Read all 91 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveller rating
89
1
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
89
1
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews captain neil harbor seals whale song whale watching see whales wildlife photography visit sitka cruise ship personal experience three hours marine life small group animals otters tours murres overcast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 91 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2019

This was such and enjoyable and informative tour. They do a great job of finding the whales while being eco friendly. Incredible experience seeing whales, otters and puffins. Thank you so much Neil. Allan and Michelle

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Neil M, Owner at A Whale's Song Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2019

Thank you for your kind words. We sure loved having you aboard. Awesome day for sure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2019

We traveled to Sitka for the whale migration in March. Neil the owner,captain,naturalist and all around good guy did his best on our first day ( not a lot of herring close to the surface therefore not a lot of whales) and stayed out much longer at no additional cost to us. He traveled further than usual but there is no guarantee with that darn wildlife. Here's the OMG!!! On day two we experienced 40-50 bubble net feedings!!!!!!! We spent 8 hours being totally immersed in this force of nature! Neil positions his boat for the best photography and his naturalist/photographer Lione was excellent! Both Neil and Lione were informative and even when you think you know most everything about humpbacks, they will teach you more. Neil uses a hydrophone which makes the experience amazing because you may not always know exactly where they will surface but you will know exactly when. AND you get to hear their calls loud and clear!! We were lucky enough to see a baby bubble netting and got the most amazing photographs we've ever taken of Humpbacks. Nobody works harder to give you a relaxed, informative , friendly yet very professional tour. You are not just number... tour for the week, you are people that Neil wants to have the very best experience he can provide. This boat takes a max 6 people so personalized is the word. Trips can be for tourists who want to see a whale all the way to professional photographers who understand wildlife, lighting etc. Can't say thank you enough

Date of experience: March 2019
1  Thank whoa3050
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Neil M, Owner at A Whale's Song Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2019

OMG. Thank you for this. I’m humbled. Dang I love our customers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2019

We saw bubble feeding by humpback whales, breaches, a double breach, a herring burst out of the water into glistening sun, Edgecumb the volcano, Lazaria the rockery, beautiful sunny days and calm waters. The days on the water were all you could ask for and more.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Joanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
NeilM3452, Owner at A Whale's Song Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2019

Joanne (aka Teddy) It was such an honor to show you and Cheryl all the amazing beauty of Sitka and her amazing residents!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2019

We booked the three day tours with Captain Neil. He and Lione are fabulous! They could not have been more accommodating! We just had our second day on the boat, and on this day alone we saw: harbor dolphins, sea otters, sea lions, many kind of birds, and the ,all the local famous scenic spots. And then the whales--- What can I say. Captain Neil found a pod of about 12 humpbacks that were lunge feeding. And we stuck with that group all day. Using Neil's and Lione's experience and knowledge and his hydrophone, we were able to know exactly when they would lunge feed! We saw the humpbacks do tail slaps, lunge feeding, fin slapping, and even saw two whales do a breach at the same time, next to each other, near the boat! They were so close that I dont know if I had enough room in the picture frame to get both of them in!

I can't wait to see what our third day shows us.

Oh, and don't forget your sunscreen! Even though this is a temperate forest climate, Captain Neil went ahead and arranged for clear and sunny skies for all of our days on the boat. Oh yeah. Bring some sun screen.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank wandpohboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Neil M, Owner at A Whale's Song Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2019

Cheryl and Joanne. Thanks so much for these kind words. Those days were magical to say the least. It was my pleasure to have met you. Please enjoy the remainder of your time here in beautiful Sitka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2019

Neil, the owner and our guide was so incredibly knowledgeable. We stayed out for a couple of hours and got to see so much beauty, wildlife and humpback whales. It was truly majestic and an amazing experience. We learned SO much from Neil, can't wait to go back!!!!!!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank juliesintx
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Neil M, Owner at A Whale's Song Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2019

Thank you so much for this great review. We strive to keep up to date with the most recent scientific information and share with our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews