We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Longliner Lodge and Suites
Ranked #7 of 19 Sitka B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

Friendly, comfortably appointed, immaculate. Quiet. Highly recommend. The (included) breakfast was most excellent, ordered off the menu, delicious. Location is convent within walking distance of the main downtown and close to Ludvig's (also recommend )

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NDeCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2013

I have been visiting Sitka, AK for 10 years and ran into an exceptionally bad example of customer service for any business/vacation destination. When staying at the Fly-In Fish Inn, my two friends and I had requested that our room be refreshed and that we get clean towels on a daily basis, since this place only does so once every three days. The employees kept saying they would. By the third day, we received new towels, but no room pickup. One of my buddies went back to the staff to remind them what we had requested and what they had said they would do. The owner came up to our room shortly after that and talked to us in a very confrontational tone stating, "Did you read the welcome manual?", (seriously, who ever reads a welcome manual for a hotel?) "If you would read, you'd understand we only change out towels ever three days. If you don't like that, then you can take your business elsewhere." Our response was that we would do so. So we went to a different hotel that day and in the middle of our vacation due to the poor customer service, primary given by the Owner.

Room Tip: Don't book with the Fly-in Fish Inn...Westmark Sitka was way more accommodating!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We booked this based on other tripadvisor reviews. It did not disappoint. In fact, while wondering around town we saw a few of the other Sitka hotels, and we were sure glad we picked this place.

We had a room on the first floor overlooking the water. Fabulous views and the room was right across from the restaurant and deck. There was a little bit of noise at dinner time because people were eating on the deck (yes we had nice sunny weather!), but this is not a late night place, so the voices were gone by bedtime.

The room was spacious and very clean, and the beds were super comfy. The breakfasts were wonderful and very filling. We also ate dinner at the restaurant every night. It was really good and wonderful views. We all were mesmerized with watching the fishing boats coming and going... not to mention the eagles and occasional sea otters. The owner even helped me do a load of laundry.

If you have time, book a flight seeing trip with Ken of Air Sitka. This was the highlight of my son's stay in Sitka. Ken even taught him how to fly fish.

If we are ever back in Sitka, this is where we will stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a water view.
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank ARgat0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

If your ok with walking about four blocks to the business district, this is a good place to stay. We found it easier because we rented a car. Carla was helpful in arranging whatever you wanted. Suggest requesting a room facing the water so you can watch the boats go by.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kasey1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Located an easy short stroll from Sitka's downtown restaurants, shops and attractions, the Fly In Fish Inn is a great choice for in town accommodation in beautiful Sitka. Rooms overlook the water or street/parking lot. Views of the harbor offer chances to spy Steller sea lions cruising past as well as soaring eagles and squabbling gulls. The passing parade of commercial fishing boats heading to sea or returning with their catch is always interesting.

I booked a second floor waterfront room that was large (two queen beds) with a table/desk, dining chairs, microwave and coffeemaker. Our room was located directly above the dining room but I never heard a noise from the restaurant and outside deck below. In past reviews some have mentioned being bothered by noise from the dining room during their stays. However, during my early April stay the dining room did not serve breakfast plus the dining room's outdoor deck was not in operation so all was very quiet. However, if one finds noise bothersome, during the busy summer season it may be prudent to book a third floor room away from the dining room/outdoor deck or select a room overlooking the parking lot. Voices carry so one might hear noise from restaurant patrons when the deck is in use.

The bathroom was clean with abundant thick towels. This being Southeast Alaska, there is no air conditioning but our room's window could be opened to let in fresh air. Our visit was in early April so the temp in our room was pleasant. Additionally, mosquitos were not a problem when we left the window open overnight.

Fly In Fish Inn has a dining room; we thought the food was very tasty, so much so that we dined at the restaurant twice during our stay. Fettucine Alfredo was satisfying with perfectly cooked al dente pasta plus the large Caesar salad (two can easily share this salad) offered crisp romaine lettuce with a good flavor-balanced Caesar dressing. Another night was pizza night at the dining room. Our group of five sampled different pizzas, each one of them offering crisp thin crusts, fresh ingredients and plenty of flavor. Portions are large; two people sharing a salad and a pizza will be well fed. Bruschetta was yummy, a good appetizer as well. We were all pleasantly surprised by our meals. During summer a deck off the restaurant/bar is open for business. A tiny bar anchors the dining room near the entrance to the restaurant. A small selection of wines are offered---be sure your waitperson knows you want a RED zinfandel when ordering zin. Oops....there was a slight mixup when white zinfandel was mistakenly delivered to our table; judging by her reaction, our very nice waitress clearly did not know there was a difference. The chef and cordial hotel owner were on premises during meal service, interacting with dinner guests to be certain diners were enjoying their meals.

Some reviewers have mentioned noise from the float plane when it cranks up in front of the inn. I was concerned about this as I am very sensitive to loud noise, preferring absolute quiet when trying to sleep. In fact, the float plane dock is located directly in front of the room I booked. However, while the aircraft was active, leaving early every morning on each day of our stay, it was not disturbing. It was no louder than the many gulls carrying on in the water outside our room. I was surprised for I have been jolted awake at other inns by the earsplitting racket of floatplanes taking off. Happily this was not the case for us at Fly In Fish Inn in early April.

Fly In Fish Inn is conveniently located within walking distance of Sitka's downtown. Excellent fine dining is steps away at Ludvig's Bistro (open seasonally, reservations are essential!) and El Burrito Loco (delicious Tex-Mex food with huge portions plus pizzas are offered). If you do not hail from a commercial fishing community, for a local slice of life be sure to take a short stroll to say hi to the friendly folks at nearby Murray Pacific on Katlian Street; prowl the aisles to have a look at interesting fishing gear (100# fishing weights, heavy duty wet weather gear, commercial fishing hooks and lines, etc) essential to the local fishing fleet. A great locally-produced treat to take home is Alaska Pure sea salt that is sold at Murray's (it is also sold at other businesses around town). Made in Sitka with pristine Gulf of Alaska seawater, delicious Alaska Pure finishing salt comes in several different varieties unique to SE Alaska (plain--it tastes clean and pure, blueberry--a fantastic finishing salt with intense blueberry flavor, alder-smoked--this is VERY smoky, and Sitka spruce tip--herbaceous and crisp, a real taste treat). I have no connection with Alaska Pure sea salt but love the product....bringing the salt home as a souvenir or gift beats a t-shirt any day! If you have a hankering for ice cream, be sure to try Harry Race Pharmacy in downtown SItka where tasty sweet confections are available at its old-fashioned soda bar.

Back to Fly In FIsh Inn once more....If renting a car there is ample parking in the Fly In Fish Inn lot. Another plus is the inn has a washer and dryer for guest use. There is stair access to rooms plus an elevator is available to whisk one and their luggage to the two upper floors.

Upon checking in we were cheerily greeted by the owner. During our stay she was kind, always concerned that we were happy with our room and dinners. I only have one very minor beef with the inn. During our stay it was not always easy to reach personnel at the front desk when we needed something (extra drinking glasses, more facial tissues, toilet tissue, etc). While that may be more typical during non-high season, it was a bit disconcerting during our our multi-day stay. I realize the staff is very busy but when one needs something, it's so nice to have someone at the ready to tend to a request promptly. This is not a slam as I realize the owner/staff work very hard to make guests happy as well as deal with the time consuming everyday nuts and bolts of running an inn. However we ran out of some guest room essentials several times during our stay. Since there was no one at the front desk and we were unable to reach a staff member via phone, we just gave up and drove over to Seamart (a local grocery with one of the best views of Mt Edgecumbe to be found in Sitka) to purchase the necessary items.

I recommend booking a room overlooking the water for good harbor views. Select a room with a balcony if one is available. If worried about potential noise, to be on the safe side during summer season reserve your accommodation on the third floor as far away from the outdoor restaurant deck as possible.

Friendly Fly In Fish Inn offers a nice in town alternate to the larger impersonal Sitka hotels. I can easily recommend this property.

Room Tip: I recommend booking a room overlooking the water for good harbor views. Select a room with a balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Whalegeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

I have been bringing a group of salmon fishing buddies up to Sitka for 16 years. We had stayed at the fly and fish Inn for 9 of these years. As owner / manager Dee Hanson always made this a special trip and a special place for us. Great service, great food. Great staff of people. This year under new management it was a disaster, awful service and just not the same friendly place. I do not see The Fly and Inn being there next year if attitudes there stay the same. Very sad

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank norbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

We only stayed at the Fly-in Fish Inn overnight before our big fishing trip on an island resort and were very happy. The room was huge, clean, and comfortable. Great views from our porch overlooking the water. We were entertained by a fat sea lion swimming around the dock. The eagles greeted us in the morning. Breakfast the next morning was more than we expected and was enjoyed by all in our party. The owners were very accommodating. We were not being picked up until later that afternoon. Fly-in Fish Inn kept our luggage locked away and safe while we were free to explore town. We were in walking distance of so much - all the shops, the museums, and the Totem park. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Alaska4Ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sitka hotels
0.4 mi away
Sitka Hotel
Sitka Hotel
#4 of 8 in Sitka
31 reviews
0.5 mi away
Westmark Sitka Hotel
0.3 mi away
Totem Square Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Sitka
Super 8 Sitka
#2 of 8 in Sitka
294 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cascade Creek Inn & Charters
1.6 mi away
Sitka's Eagle Bay Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longliner Lodge and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longliner Lodge and Suites

Address: 485 Katlian St, Sitka, AK 99835-7506 (Formerly The Fly In Fish Inn & Restaurant)
Region: United States > Alaska > Sitka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Sitka
Price Range: £80 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Longliner Lodge and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the FlyinFishInn, the LongLiner Lodge is a newly owned 14 unit hotel and restaurant located in Sitka, Alaska that sits on the waterfront and offers exceptional views including Mt. Edgecumbe, eagles, sea lions, and even whales. Our hotel includes both multi-room suites and standard hotel style rooms. Our master suite includes a balcony over looking the ocean, a full size kitchen, dining, and living area, two bedrooms and a bathroom with both a shower and a 3 person Jacuzzi tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Longliner Lodge and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longliner Lodge And Suites Sitka, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing