We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't even bother, do not even call”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sitka's Eagle Bay Inn
Ranked #1 of 19 Sitka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
southeast, alaska
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Don't even bother, do not even call”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

The owner tried pulling a bait and switch, saying we would be able to get one room at one price and then the next day, saying the price was almost double what was stated the night before. If you do call, please plan on being on the the phone for a very long time, as they tend to speak very slow, and always interrupt you while you are trying to answer,

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank helibut3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie S, Manager at Sitka's Eagle Bay Inn, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
Once you have been in this business long enough, you find out that there are always going to be individuals that you will never be able to please. One thing that I pride myself and our staff on is being as friendly and helpful as possible. That being said I also expect our guests to treat myself and my staff with the same respect. This person is upset because she was REFUSED service and never set foot in our inn due to being extremely rude to staff. Our staff speaks at an accurate even rate because we want to be sure that your reservation and personal information is correct. When information is rattled off so quickly you cannot understand it, then yes, an interruption may be warranted. In regards to the accusation of bait and switch? This person called earlier that day and received a price quote from one of my staff, the quote was for one of our single bed rooms which is of course lower than our regular rooms. (Not double in price, but higher.) This person did not book at the time they received their quote and when they did call back the single room was already taken. So yes the price did change but not due to a bait and switch; the price changed due to availability of rooms. It always makes me a bit disappointed to receive a bad review because here at the Eagle Bay Inn we do our best to go out of our way to be helpful and kind. However, like I said before there are just some people who cannot be pleased. We are small and a bit out of the way if a mile outside of down town counts. We are also located in a business complex in between an industrial and residential side of town. But our rooms are clean, our staff is friendly and we do our best to accommodate, and that is all we can do. I hope that who ever reads these negative posts will also keep in mind that southeast Alaska is not like the lower 48. It is rustic, wild and a bit rough around the edges. But give us a chance and we will be warm, helpful, and do our best to help you enjoy this beautiful place we call home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    30
    8
    4
    5
See reviews for
24
29
4
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
117 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed overnight after disembarking from our cruise. The location was a bit far from the center but the place provided transport to attractions like the Bear viewing and the Raptor Center.The inn offers a nice breakfast and friendly staff. It is, however, closed whenever the desk clerk has to pick up or deliver clients. You better remember the door combination if you want to get back inside. That said, the room was spare and clean. So for one night it was fine. The inn was in a rough looking part of town--inn was part of a strip mall and big quarry (dusty) nearby. Sitka has only one decent restaurant and it was overbooked. So we didn't really enjoy our stay as much as we hoped.

Room Tip: Room was overlooking parking lot. Maybe the other side is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlorafromHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We are used to staying in the harbor area when visiting Sitka, but on this trip down to enjoy the Summer Music Festival, all those hotels were booked solid. I found this little place via internet search and we were pretty happy with the experience. It's very clean, the in-room amenities better than average (including a little individually packaged luffa scrubbie), and the breakfast choices were way beyond the usual "continental" choices and included many organic options and a hot protein each morning, such as scrambled eggs. Beds were comfy, shower pressure good, with lots of hot water. The view from our room of the bay and beach across the street was OK, even better was being able to walk right to it across the street in less than 2 minutes.

We found most of the staff to be very friendly and helpful. We had a rental car, but we heard staff arranging free shuttle pick ups for guests arriving at the airport, ferry and cruise ship docks even in the middle of the night!

All rooms are on the second floor and we were a little disappointed that there was no elevator for our son with cerebral palsy, but he was able to climb up and down the stairs with assistance. the only problem we had was with a plugged toilet late at night and with no staff available to give us a plunger until the morning we had to sneak down to the first floor and use the normally off limits staff bathroom. Not fun.

I would definitely stay here again, and look forward to checking out the other shops such as the natural foods store and movie theater in the mall area the next time we come down.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Sitka is a very remote location with very little choice in lodging. Avoid this strip mall mess of a motel at all costs. The owner has no idea what she is doing and behaves as if guests owe her something rather than the other way around. The "ocean view" rooms are really not "ocean view". It is actually just a view overlooking the strip mall rooftop with an obstructed view of the water across a busy street. The owners ask nearly $200 per night for a Motel 6 quality room that doesn't even have a closet. NO CLOSET. The bathroom shower curtain rod doubles as a closet, until you have to take a shower, of course. Then you put the clothes on the bed, while you shower. After everyone showers, you hang your clothes back up on the shower curtain rod. The "free" breakfast consists of cheap cereal and over-ripe blackened bananas. Stay in downtown Sitka for a better experience then this dump. Completely disappointed.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. That's my advice for choosing a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

I agree with the reviewers who were surprised to discover this motel was located in a strip mall. It's new and perfectly clean. The rooms and breakfast choices are nothing special -- pretty generic. The mile walk into town along the harbor is pleasant. Except for the Totem Park and Raptor Center, there is nothing of interest in the immediate vicinity. It's a 'busy' [by Sitka's standards] road. All I would add to previous comments is to avoid rooms on the ground floor. Walls are thin, and the chattering of early breakfasters can easily awaken you, as it did us.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor: walls are thin and the noise of those in the lobby can awaken you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeniorOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
107 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

The Eagle Bay Inn is located about a mile from the downtown area. It was a pleasant walk to the downtown through the Totem Park forest, the Crescent Harbor and the Sheldon Jackson Museum. Staff will pick you up at the airport or ferry (free) or from downtown ($10). The motel was clean and quiet except for some highway noise, the beds were comfortable and there was a good shower. The breakfast was basic compared to what most motels offer, with few whole grain options. There is no closet, just 3 hooks on the wall, but there was a refrigerator and microwave oven. The office was not open in the evening, but staff were available by phone and in general were very friendly and helpful. Not a typical motel but it served our purposes well. There is a Laundromat within walking distance, a reasonable restaurant and a health food store in the strip mall below the motel, and it is within walking distance of the Raptor Center,the Totem Park, the Sheldon Jackson Museum and the Russian Bishop House.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RetiredHawkeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Tennessee
Level Contributor
181 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Not a fancy place, but very comfortable. The gals that run this place do an excellent job. Met us at the airport and were very helpful during our stay. We had an ocean view room, which I liked very much. We liked the location, because downtown is pretty rowdy at night. The walk to the Totem park and the Rapture center & downtown was not bad-and we are all in our 60's! There is also a city bus you can catch close by. The strip mall was not a problem for us. No noise from it at all. The Mexican pizza restaurant there was very convenient and decent food. I don't know where VerySiberian has stayed in the past but no one will bother your room in any hotel if you have the Do Not Disturb sign on the door. The area around the hotel is depressed, as we found in many of the towns we visited in AK. WiFi all over AK is weak. Kim took us to the ferry and stopped at the grocery downtown so we could get sandwiches.

Room Tip: We liked the ocean view, even though it was a bit more money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thebandteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sitka hotels
1.2 mi away
Sitka Hotel
Sitka Hotel
#6 of 8 in Sitka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
1.3 mi away
Totem Square Hotel & Marina
1.1 mi away
Westmark Sitka Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Sitka
Super 8 Sitka
#1 of 8 in Sitka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
2.9 mi away
Cascade Creek Inn & Charters
1.9 mi away
Alaska Ocean View Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sitka's Eagle Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sitka's Eagle Bay Inn

Property: Sitka's Eagle Bay Inn
Address: 1321 Sawmill Creek Rd Ste C, Sitka, AK 99835-9740
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Sitka
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Sitka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Sitka's Eagle Bay Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New! Quiet, comfortable, affordable. Two queen beds in every room. Free WIFI, cable and local phone in lobby. Perfect for business travel, family, and for those who love a quiet place to stay. The Beach is right across the street, close to Verstovia Mountain,and its hiking trail. Recently under new Management!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Sitka's Eagle Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sitka's Eagle Bay Inn Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing