We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing Japanese meal - dry reheated chicken katsu” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Little Tokyo

Little Tokyo
Ranked #15 of 40 Restaurants in Sitka
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
314 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Disappointing Japanese meal - dry reheated chicken katsu”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

We both had a family menu - a chicken katsu and beef teriyaki - the chicken was dry (I remember hearing a microwave click before being served so being heated in such a manner would account for its dryness. The Beef teriyaki while not as dry was not cooked to order - I felt both dishes tasted as if they were simply reheated. The salad leaves were fresh. The miso soup was so so (not as flavoursome as the ones I've eaten in Tokyo but a plus it wasn't too salty). The tempura shrimps were not in a light crisp batter - tasted more like a hot dog batter around the shrimps - not the typical light tempura batter for which the Japanese are renowned. The california rolls were passable but the sushi rice could have been more flavoursome. Pickled ginger to accompany would have been nice. I wouldn't want this be anyone's first introduction to Japanese food.

Prices reasonable but quality lacking. Most of the staff appear happy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GlobeTrotters4001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    26
    12
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Average sushi”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

With the prices and all the fresh fish available here you would think the sushi would be great, but at least when I ate lunch here it was mediocre at best. Do yourself and your pocketbook a favor and eat elsewhere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dhviola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“double check your bill with the prices on the menu”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

I'm still not sure how the $11 bento box came out to $17. Didn't include tip, they said. Tax is not that high. I thought it was odd, but I paid. All I thought was that it was really expensive for really crappy bento. (Don't order the bento.) Then, I heard other travelers saying the same thing happened to them. Maybe they charge $6 for the lousy cup of tea.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mv2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sisters, Oregon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very good Japanese food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

I have eaten at this restaurant since it opened as I visit Sitka every year. The service and food is very good and authentic. They also have a good selection of Sushi to try.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelNow1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sitka, Alaska, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yummy Sushi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Best Sushi I have ever had! They really know what they are doing there! The rolls are the best ever! You get so much for a great price too! Would recommend to everyone who comes to town and looking for a different type of meal!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Samantha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Little Tokyo also viewed

 

Been to Little Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing