We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home in Sitka”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sitka
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Frank and Gloria's Place
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Sitka
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Four of us stayed at Frank and Gloria's for two nights in July and it was like staying with two long-time friends with lots of information they're anxious to share about the Sitka area. Since we were really staying in the lower two floors of their home rather than a separate unit, it was very comfortable and spacious. We had the use of the kitchen on the lower level and the large common area on the second floor with a variety of bed and sleep-sofa options to use. Excellent experience all around!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank chrisa1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7)
There are newer reviews for Frank and Gloria's Place
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 7 of 7 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed to nights with Frank and Gloria in a very comfortable room on the ground floor. There's a sitting room for guests to share too, but we spent a fair bit of time upstairs enjoying the company of these two delightful, relaxed and very hospitable people. They are about 2km north of the centre of Sitka, just off Halibut Point Road and perched on a slope with a wonderful view. We hired a car from the airport for the time we were there so that we could get around to see the sights of Sitka, and we'd recommend this - there's a bit to see away from the centre. Frank and Gloria and their home remain with us as a happy memory now we're back in Australia.

Room Tip: A room with a view is nice to have but not necessary as you can see it all from the common room.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Jules8Perkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed with Frank and Gloria in July 2013. The unit is an apartment with private entrance in their home. The queen bed was awesome and comfortable. The apartment is totally spotless, and guests have use of the laundry facilities if needed, at no extra charge. The views are spectacular. Frank and Gloria's Place is located in a lovely residential neighborhood with friendly and quiet neighbors. It's only a few miles from the activities in downtown Sitka, and within walking distance of the grocery store. High speed wifi internet and cable TV is included.
We enjoyed our stay very much!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Owlie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Why pay hotel rates when you can have your very own studio/condo? Private enterance, clean, full kitchen, bath, and the view is amazing. What could be better? The hosts! Frank and Gloria are two of the nicest people that you will ever meet. Their home is beautiful. And they invite you to stay in their apartment (downstairs) as if you were family. I would recommend it to anyone one who doesn't want to be right in town, but minuets away. There is a bus route that passes there road several times a day if you don't have a car. I did not. Frank even picked me up from the ferry. REALLY! "Best find in Sitka"!!! Thank you Frank and Gloria!

Room Tip: There is a grocery store right down the street. You can make your own coffee and breakfast in the m...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank myguenevere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sitka hotels
2.3 mi away
Sitka Hotel
Sitka Hotel
#4 of 8 in Sitka
29 reviews
2.3 mi away
Westmark Sitka Hotel
2.3 mi away
Totem Square Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Super 8 Sitka
Super 8 Sitka
#2 of 8 in Sitka
293 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cascade Creek Inn & Charters
3.2 mi away
Sitka's Eagle Bay Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frank and Gloria's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frank and Gloria's Place

Address: 109 Sand Dollar Dr, Sitka, AK 99835-9623
Region: United States > Alaska > Sitka
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Sitka
Price Range: £78 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Also Known As:
Frank And Gloria's Place Sitka, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing