We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food, nice view, service OK” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fly In Fish Inn

Fly In Fish Inn
Ranked #12 of 40 Restaurants in Sitka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$35
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Sitka, Alaska
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food, nice view, service OK”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

The food has become borderline excellent with the new chef! The wine list is forgettable. The service is better the second time we went. But the food is great! The fish entries have been the best in Sitka consistently. The venue is unassuming and loud. The food is soo good I recommend reservations. Reservations were never needed in the last! The staff if friendly they just need help. I hope they can keep this chef in Sitka.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kruzoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    27
    8
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food and Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Great food, atmosphere, and friendly staff. Chef Edith is amazing. We ate there multiple nights and don't have a negative thing to say!! You must try their homemade pizza on Tuesdays and Thursdays.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cahors
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Our best meal in Sitka”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

A chef that can cook !! We had an excellent dinner with attentive, friendly service. A very popular restaurant so one must book in advance !! Breakfast is also good but not quite up to the standard of dinner.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Poorly managed Inn”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

I travel in and out of Alaska quite often. I used to stay at the Fly In Fish Inn, it is a nice waterfront property. However, ever since the one brother took it over, Ken, it has become a joke. The newest chef seems to think she's all that but the food is sooo slow coming out to the tables. The prices are ridiculous and the food isn't all that great. They run their staff into the ground and treat them terribly. The owner and his girlfriend are frequently seen sitting at the bar drunk and behave badly. I have stopped going there and my company no longer reserves rooms there for employees or for our clients. I like to talk to the locals where ever I travel and most of the people I have spoken to say they will never set foot in there again. That says a lot. Apparently the Inn is facing foreclosure so it might not be open for much longer anyway.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Curt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
336 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Post Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Recently had dinner here and do not know why I had not discovered it in years past - very nice little restaurant overlooking Sitka Harbor. Really enjoyed my experience - went with a couple, with whom I was fishing - had baked halibut and the couple had both seafood and chicken - we liked it a lot. I will return year after year from now on. Recommend!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmclendon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fly In Fish Inn also viewed

 

Been to Fly In Fish Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing