We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views & Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Totem Square Hotel & Marina
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Sitka
Port Angeles, Washington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Views & Location”
Reviewed 18 September 2012 via mobile

Located on the edge of town. Everything within easy walking distance. The rooms are nicely furnished; clean; and quiet. The cafe on the premises is OK, but the service is lacking, even when not busy at breakfast or dinner. But there are limited choices after the tourist season. WiFi is goo; plus there are Ethernet connections for those who need this.

Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank slycow42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    35
    44
    22
    10
See reviews for
22
43
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alaska
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Sitka is one of the places I travel to at least every month.

This month when I got to the Shee Atika Totem Square Inn, I found out that management had decided to pull all of the coffee pots from the rooms. If you want your morning coffee, you can get up, get dressed, ride the rickety elevator to the lobby and buy a cup of coffee (or tea).

This is a run-of-the mill hotel with nothing that makes it stand out from the Super 8 or Westmark, except that they do NOT provide a means to heat water in your room. No coffee, no tea. Instead they are trying to force you to buy their lackluster coffee downstairs.

I don't think so. There are many places to stay in Sitka and I resent their disregard for my comfort.

Room Tip: Pick a room somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MuddyMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
67 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We stayed at the Shee Atika Totem Square Hotel for one night & we enjoyed our stay. The room was very clean and spacious, although nothing fancy. The staff at reception were unbelievable nice & helpful and always courteous. They went out of their way to ensure that we had a great stay. The restaurant was also a pleasant surprise. The fish tacos were delicious & the breakfast was also nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank curlyoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaska
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I stayed one night at the Totem Square Inn for business. The hotel it's self is a little dated but it is clean and gets the job done. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The shuttle pick-up and drop off to the airport was great. The views were great! And the internet was fast and reliable. My only complaints would be the tiny room with 4 pieces of equipment that they call a fitness center and the barking dog nearby (which is to no fault of the hotel). It is also seemed to be located really centrally.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missjosephine03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
197 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

My wife and I were totally pleased with this hotel. The service was attentive, the facilities have recently been updated, and the harbor views were terrific. We liked the location at the intersection of Lincoln and Kaitlean streets. The Dock Shack restaurant on site was very good and capitalizes on its harbor view. We paid about $225 per night. The rooms were comfortable and everything worked.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and get a room on the third floor overlooking the harbor and away from the Pionee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank berkeley78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

This hotel is well maintained and we enjoyed our comfortable room. But one cranky woman at the front desk is all it took to put a damper on our stay. We paid for a room with a water view. She assigned us a room that overlooked the parking lot, with just a smidgen of water visible from the window (~10%). She refused to change the assignment or reduce the price (we had already prepaid). So beware of this ripoff! Also, we couldn't check in before 3 p.m., and when the designated time past, it still took her about 20 minutes to confer with the computer and check us in. At the end of our stay, we asked if we could have a half an hour late check-out. We were flatly told no. Her whole manner was abrupt and never once did she make us feel welcomed.

The room was very clean, the towels fluffy, and the beds comfortable. The only thing that could be improved in the room is the temperature control for the shower/tub. A small adjustment resulted in the water turning from cold to scalding. It was difficult to get it just right without possible injury.

The onsite restaurant service and food quality were excellent. The restaurant staff were always cheerful (which was a welcomed change from the grumpy woman at the front desk).

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for view of the water. The extra charge is a scam.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greyhavens99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westlake Village, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The hotel was clean, staff pleasant and responsive. The location was great at one end of historical Sitka. My room was on the side of the hotel facing the neighboring bar so I experienced some noise. A complimentary shuttle is operated by the hotel. On the downside, the room was a bit too warm with no good means of keeping it cool. The price was high for what you get, but on par with others in Alaska.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the side with the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sitka hotels
0.2 mi away
Westmark Sitka Hotel
0.1 mi away
Sitka Hotel
Sitka Hotel
#4 of 8 in Sitka
18 reviews
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Sitka
Super 8 Sitka
#1 of 8 in Sitka
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sitka's Eagle Bay Inn
Sitka's Eagle Bay Inn
#1 of 19 in Sitka
98 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cascade Creek Inn & Charters
0.3 mi away
Longliner Lodge and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Totem Square Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Totem Square Hotel & Marina

Property: Totem Square Hotel & Marina
Address: 201 Katlian St, Sitka, AK 99835-7511 (Formerly Shee Atika Totem Square Inn)
Region: United States > Alaska > Sitka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Sitka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Totem Square Hotel & Marina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Totem Square Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shee Atika Totem Square Hotel Sitka
Totem Square Hotel & Marina Sitka, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing