We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly incompetent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Totem Square Hotel & Marina
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Sitka
Battle Ground, Washington
Level Contributor
114 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Pleasantly incompetent service”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

I have never experienced such misdirections and misinformation by any previous hotel desk staff!
They claimed that "summer staff" were unfamiliar with the hotel and area.We,however,were traveling in late July well into the summer.After misinforming us a half dozen times about ground transportation,sites,ferries,restaurants etc.It became laughable.

We were promised a queen sized bed and given a full sized that they insisted was called a queen in Alaska.The small room was called "The Executive suite".It was a small 12'x12' room with a view of the parking lot.At nearly 250.00 a night it seemed ridiculously expensive but there are few lodging choices in Sitka.One of the young clerks was puzzled when we expressed dissatisfaction about the small bed.They could not understand why we would mind
since our Travel Agency had paid the bill.We asked who they thought prepaid the travel agency to broker our hotel arrangement.
The young clerks of course must be trained properly by management
to provide more than check in and out service.They should have brochures to give guests and above all it is OK to say you don't know rather than give misinformation.

The location was good and the room was clean.The hotel has a van for pick up at the airport.The hotel must be called to request pick up at the airport.For transport to the Sitka Ferry you can sign up at the front desk to request a local shuttle for transport to the Ferry Terminal.It was 6.00 per person

Room Tip: Avoid rooms over the restaurant which may have loud music and revelers.Request view of the lovely ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    35
    42
    22
    10
See reviews for
22
41
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
elizabeth city, nc
Level Contributor
175 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Everything in town is expensive, so I guess it should be no surprise that I paid $167 a night for a very average room on par with a Quality Inn. Sleep quality was pretty good, and it was very clean. Soap, shampoo and conditioner are in a dispenser on the shower wall. Satellite tv had a good choice of channels. Within walking distance to everything.

Room Tip: Stay on the side toward the totem pole. On the weekends, the bar on the other side empties out and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weeksvillejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed here for one night before our cruise. No problems, no complaints. Front desk was professional and friendly. Room was adequate. We requested a room with a view of the harbor which we got. Location was great. Breakfast was not an issue since a group breakfast was arranged.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shellmark82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arrowtown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Clean comfortable hotel, very friendly and obliging staff. Nice Restaurant by water with great outlook. Not open for breakfast however. Food was good. Central location
There doesnt appear to be much to choose from in Sitka with regards to accommodation

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardNewman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
186 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

The hotel itself is nothing to write home about: we had a double view room (of the harbor)--- very small and dated. We asked for no housekeeping (do not disturb sign on our door), but someone entered our room anyway in our absence (not to replace towels or anything....just entered!). Desk staff very friendly. View was very nice and certainly beat the alternatives: parking lot and road. VERY disappointing is that the restaurant downstairs (don't think part of hotel) does not serve breakfast. Always a hassle to have to get dressed to coffee and a bite to start the day. I did like that this hotel run by native Alaskans and would return.

Room Tip: When you reserve, specify view of harbor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cvcalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria VA
Level Contributor
299 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

First, your choices in Sitka for hotels (or anything else) are fairly constrained, especially if you are in town pre or post cruise like many others at the same time. This hotel was fine for what I wanted - a night before leaving for an inside passage small boat cruise. Rooms were clean and big enough, good shower, coffee maker in room (might have returned them after previous comments). Free coffee downstairs in little gift shop area. Very friendly and helpful staff and airport shuttle. No breakfast. Nice deck and food service/bar operation. We just had beers on the deck and watched fishing boats come and go. Nice. Our room faced the street and the bar across the street - there was some noise early on in the evening but due to jet lag and travel, didn't have trouble getting a good night's sleep. Other room locations would definitely be quieter. You do pay plenty to stay here, compared to what the cost would get you in most places in the lower 48. But that's the way it is.....

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SBS50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Townsend
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We agree with other reviewers that the workers here are very friendly. We stayed here because we needed the guest laundry after being on an Inside Passage cruise for a week. Nice location by waterfront, small sunny park, old folks home with pretty garden. No breakfast in restaurant--went to nearby Victoria's. Our room was noisy, as others report--a few slamming doors, and the airport is nearby (although not many flights taking off from this small town), as are floatplanes (every day at 5:30 AM and throughout the day during our 2-night stay). White noise machine available at front desk, if you want it. Decor is dated, spartan, yet clean (needed to air the bleach smell out of the room upon arrival). We stayed here during a heat wave and it was hot in our 4th-floor room. Strange that they wouldn't use the hotel van to take us to the ferry landing!! Why not? Very expensive for what you get, but this is Alaska and all of our hotels were expensive!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthwindArtsCenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sitka hotels
0.1 mi away
Sitka Hotel
Sitka Hotel
#6 of 8 in Sitka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.2 mi away
Westmark Sitka Hotel
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Sitka
Super 8 Sitka
#1 of 8 in Sitka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sitka's Eagle Bay Inn
Sitka's Eagle Bay Inn
#1 of 19 in Sitka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cascade Creek Inn & Charters
0.9 mi away
Alaska Ocean View Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Totem Square Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Totem Square Hotel & Marina

Property: Totem Square Hotel & Marina
Address: 201 Katlian St, Sitka, AK 99835-7511 (Formerly Shee Atika Totem Square Inn)
Region: United States > Alaska > Sitka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Sitka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Totem Square Hotel & Marina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Totem Square Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shee Atika Totem Square Hotel Sitka
Totem Square Hotel & Marina Sitka, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing