We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unusual and worth seeing”

Alaska Raptor Center
Book In Advance
More Info
US$79.00*
and up
Alaska Rainforest Sanctuary Walking Tour and Wildlife Encounter
Ranked #1 of 46 things to do in Sitka
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Growing from a backyard, volunteer-run operation, the Alaska Raptor Center has become Alaska's foremost bald eagle hospital and educational center, as well as one of the state's premier visitor attractions.Each year, the Alaska Raptor Center provides medical treatment to 100-200 injured bald eagles and other birds. Our goal is to release our patients back into the wild; some, however, are injured so severely they could not survive in the wild even after rehabilitation. These birds may join our Raptors-in-Residence, providing excitement and education for more than 36,000 annual visitors and for the 15,000 schoolchildren we reach through the Adopt-A-Raptor program and Classroom Presentations around the country.The Alaska Raptor Center's 17-acre campus borders the Tongass National Forest, a temperate coastal rainforest, and the Indian River in Sitka, Alaska, and features award-winning natural habitats for our 19 Raptors-in-Residence.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“unusual and worth seeing”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The Raptor Center rescues and rehabilitates injured birds, Many of them are, then, released into the wild, but some need to live at the Raptor Center. I enjoyed seeing these beautiful birds up close!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank AnnDG_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    536
    136
    26
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia, USA
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A nice walk”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I visited the Raptor Center from a cruise ship. We walked from the port past the four blocks (Sitka's downtown) and through Totem Pole Park, maybe a mile. The Center wasn't overly priced. They had about 20 birds outside and several volunteers sharing information about the birds and the schedule of the birds at the center. The display is not large and not small either. I was happily surprised to find how reasonably priced the gift shop was.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank fushooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaffney, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very informative”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This attraction is small but very nice, the staff are well informed about the various raptors at the facilty, the bald eagles are beautiful and majestic to say the least.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank scdak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing birds”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I was here as part of an excusrion while on a cruise. The number and variety of birds varies, as they heal and move on, but the staff gives a good presentation of what they do. The walk around was wonderful cuz I got to see birds I'd never see. Owls and falcons and hawks. Wonderful! You wan actually walk to this from town or catch a cab. Stop in to see 'Tootsie' the tiny owl in the office.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Up Close and Personal with Raptors!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We walked to the raptor center from downtown, it wasn't bad, about 20 minutes. This place will give you mixed emotions. It was amazing seeing bald and golden eagles, red tailed hawks, peregrine falcons, owls....but it was also difficult to see the permanently injured birds that will never leave this place. Nonetheless the staff does a good job of educating the public. We were horrified to learn that so many eagles are injured by humans. Thank goodness for places like this. The Alaska Raptor Center is definitely worth visiting while in Sitka!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank lorij562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Alaska Raptor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing