We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“all ages”

Sitka Tribe Dance Performances
Ranked #1 of 2 Concerts & Shows in Sitka
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tlingit Native Dancers enter with beautiful regalia, mesmerizing the audience with ancient songs handed down through generations of these first Sitka peoples. The performance begins with the resonating sound of the box drum and the aroma of burning cedar in a traditional style Tlingit Clan House. Learn a few words of Tlingit and see one of the Pacific NW's largest carved house screens.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Baby buggy parking, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access
Level Contributor
88 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“all ages”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

The demonstration really helped us understand more about the culture....plus it was fun to observe. There is a tremendous investment by clan adults in helping children learn about the culture so that the culture continues.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Betty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    11
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Campbell, CA
Level Contributor
165 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great family event”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We were made confortable around the room and introduced to the Tlingit culture. The dancers were wonderful. The men, women and children were wonderfully dressed and so enthusiastic, it was easy to join in when we were invited. It was very educational for us all.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank JudyStacia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
119 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Performance”
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

Beautiful regalia. It was wonderful to see the children dancing with their mothers. I learned quite a lot.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank EAY1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenbank, Washington
Level Contributor
96 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“AWESOME !!! = a MUST SEE !!”
Reviewed 23 September 2012

This troupe of Native American dancers - including some 'little ones' - was spectacular !

The M.C. did an outstanding job of explaining the history & symbolism of the dances & costumes !

The hi-lite was being able to get up & participate in the final dance !

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank wayne963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Be On Time”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We arrived three minutes late, and the door was locked. We never did see the performance. You've been warned!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TourOperatonsMngr, Manager at Sitka Tribe Dance Performances, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
We do seek to start our shows in a timely manner so that those guests on a schedule will not be disserviced. Due to the darkened theater we try not to open our doors after performance begins so as not to distract either the audience or dancers. When possible we station a staff member to explain this policy to late arrivals but often we are all involved with the dance. We're sorry you missed the show.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sitka Tribe Dance Performances also viewed

 

Been to Sitka Tribe Dance Performances? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing