We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a Look”

St. Michael's Cathedral
Book In Advance
More Info
US$62.50*
and up
Sitka Sightseeing Tour including Fortress of the Bear
Ranked #5 of 45 things to do in Sitka
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
116 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Worth a Look”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Decided to dash in and out to see St. Michael's Cathedral quickly on one of my downtown adventures. It was one room and the smell of previous fire still lives strong inside. Interesting inside but better view from outside. Great if your Religious but not worn the donation in which was not required when I visited.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelingMedTech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    76
    36
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Micco, Florida
Level Contributor
161 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Make sure you take time to read”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

It was very interesting and if you know anything about Russian/Alaskan history this is your place. Much of the history was lost on us but it was beautiful and full of interesting artifacts, art and relics. Go and see this local spot of history.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank FLtravel0330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
170 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Neat treasure trove”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We were very pleasantly surprised by this cathedral. We got there right before they were closing and we really didn't want to pay for us both to go in for five minutes, but the admission lady let us both in for one. We felt guilty, especially seeing all of the beauty within, so we donated the other admission, but it was so worth it! It is a gorgeous building with many treasures inside. I wish we had had more time to look more closely at all the objects they had on display there. It is definitely worth the $5 donation, plus it will help preserve it for future generations!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Girl4God28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Must See in Sitka!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This cathedral is amazing and highlights the unique community of Sitka. Sailors discovered the burning building and everyone in town worked together to save the relics. Because of the community working together, this cathedral has a wealth of historic artifacts.
Must see! Donations accepted but not required

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank chchomehi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cahors
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A must visit”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This mini-cathedral houses some of the most wonderful artwork and artefacts. One does not need to be a follower of the Orthodox or any other faith to appreciate the beauty inside this building.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to St. Michael's Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing