We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view of the surrounding area from the top”

Harbor Mountain Trail
Sitka, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great view of the surrounding area from the top”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Give yourself about 2-3 hours to enjoy the view and hike to the Hut from the trailhead at the top. No bathroom facilities. Bring bug spray and toilets tissue as well as water and trail mix. If you just want the view an easy walk from a small parking lot below the trail head will bring you to several tables with fire pits. Bring your own firewood or better yet a bag of charcoal. A great spot to enjoy the long sunsets of summer. Don't forget the gram crackers, marshmallows and chocolate!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kruzoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Holly Hill, FL, USA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The View of a "LIFETIME"....”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Harbor Mountain trail winds it way across the "Three Sisters"..there are views, that you will never ever see anywhere else in SITKA, you can view NORTH - into the Entrance to the "INSIDE PASSGAGE"...One of Alaska's most unforgetable sights..along the inside waterway, on your way to Anchorage...Gaciers, Whales, Killer Whales, you name it if its there, you'll see it, and IF...IF YOUR LUCKY, you might even see the AURORA BOREALIS...a real......lifetime memory...if your lucky enough to see it........YOU'LL NEVER FORGET IT..... ENJOY...that's what the trip is for....you'll have stories to tell your grandchildren for YEARS.!!!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Michel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moss Point, Mississippi
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Breathtaking! Go on a clear sunny day”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This is one of my favorite trails here in Sitka. The views are fabulous! You drive up and up on well maintained switchback roads, then park and hike up some pretty trails that are also well maintained. Alot of it is climbing up and down, but it's so pretty you don't mind it at all. It was a little too much of a workout for my non-athletic friend. It's a trail you need to bring bear spray with you though, as we heard there were bears in the area earlier in the week. But then, what trail in Alaska won't you be bear alert on? We saw a huge beautiful rainbow when we got near the Gavin Trail head! We didn't cross the rockslide that was the Gavin Trail head (we think), she just wasn't up for it. But overall, a good 2-3 hr hike, depending on how often you stop to take pictures (and we ate a light snack and rested on a hill once). The road to the trailhead is closed until mid-late May - just so you know... Go for It! you won't regret it. (p.s. I don't think they have bathrooms, but maybe I just didn't see them... )

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This is a beautiful trail to hike, we did not make it all the way as we were not planning on hiking this day and just happened upon it. Mediocre hike for the non experienced like us, but definetly worth it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Flower9-25-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juneau, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“spectacular on a clear day”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

If it's one of Sitka's rare clear days, make this trip. About a 20 minute drive up from Halibut Point Road on a narrow, switchbacked gravel road to a parking area up about 2200 feet, then about a 300 foot climb up a graveled foot trail to a ridge, which ultimately leads to Gavin Hill Trail. Terriffc views of both Sitka Sound and all the islands as well as alpine meadows

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Allen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Harbor Mountain Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing