We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lots of pie choices but just ok pie and really bad service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nugget Restaurant & Bakery

Nugget Restaurant & Bakery
Ranked #27 of 40 Restaurants in Sitka
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Full service restaurant open 7 AM - 8 PM (June-Sept.) 8 AM - 8 PM (Oct.-May)Friendly atmosphere, great ocean view, always helpful & friendly staff
Homer, Alaska
Level Contributor
158 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lots of pie choices but just ok pie and really bad service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

We had heard about Sitke Pie and went to the airport early to check it out and it while there were many options of both cream and fruit pies to choose from - it wasn't the worlds best. The crust is dry, not flaky. The service was pretty horrible.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    12
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Not sure what the fuss is about!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

I came here for lunch with a local friend, who said it is her favorite restaurant in Sitka. Frankly, I can't see the big appeal! I had a very average halibut burger, and "borscht", which was more like a beef vegetable soup. The highlight was the blueberry pie, which was very good if a bit glutinous.
I would eat here again only if I had business at the airport.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dhviola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“i love that its in the airport but i love the food too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

i love that its in the airport but i love the food too! the breakfast is what i had and it was amazing! you should go there! you'll love the food!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lovemuffin206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sitka, Alaska, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great home cooked food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Food taste just like Grandma's! Breakfast is the best in town! Oh yeah and they have the best pie around too!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Samantha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freeport, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great food, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

This might be the only airport restaurant in the world that is worth going to if you aren't flying. Get some pie!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank beachygrl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nugget Restaurant & Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Nugget Restaurant & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing