We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sparkling Clean”

Ann's Gavan Hill Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sitka
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ann's Gavan Hill Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 19 Sitka B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Sparkling Clean”
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Beautiful house, sparkling clean, Bathroom with spa tub and seperate shower, hot tub on porch, comfortable room, and wonderful breakfast. You are actually staying in Ann's house. This B&B is not seperated from the main house, You are a guest in her house. I loved it! Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1LGM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    9
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
21
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
183 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We had a bit of a hiccup at the beginning of our stay when no one was home and there was no note when we arrived. Once this was all resolved, our stay was very satisfying. Tasty breakfast (though not offered second helpings of pancakes), bedroom good large comfortable common room for guests in the basement.. Upstairs bathroom very posh.

No transport offered, so it's important to know what the options are on arrival. We had to take a taxi from the airport but there is a shuttle for the ferry, and a community bus during the day.

Ann mapped out a walking tour of Sitka for us, and it worked very well for us (even in the intermittent rain).



The B&B is located about a ten minute walk from the town centre.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flight2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

This was a very pleasant place to stay and is a great price-point for Sitka. My wife and I stayed here 4 nights. Ann was very nice and made us feel welcome. I really liked the detailed walking tour she laid out for us immediately on arrival. There is also a hot tub that you have unlimited access to, which was great (we used it several times late in the evening). The breakfasts were also very hearty and delicious (although mostly processed-think powdered pancake mix, frozen Tyson sausage patties, hollandaise sause from a jar, etc. I guess we have been spoiled with natural, organic from scratch cooking at B&Bs!), and the host even offered to cook whatever we wanted for breakfast our final morning. There is even a spectacular DVD/VHS collection, all of which can be viewed from the room, plus access to cable TV if needed.

The only thing that made the stay "average" was what another reviewer already noted--too many rules. Unfortunately, it felt like we were being nagged by a picky mom. For example, as mentioned by another reviewer, you couldn't take your coffee around the house without a saucer underneath. My wife was even nagged for trying to do so early one morning as I studied for a test in the basement (yes, it was a working vacation). My wife remarked that she felt like she was walking on eggshells at times while in the B&B, which isn't how you want to feel while trying to relax.

Perhaps it was too much like staying in somebody's house--and that somebody is very particular and has a lot of rules that you feel you have to follow--rather than staying in B&B free from all worries.

Room Tip: There is a room with a balcony with two chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blink7589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haines
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Ann and her husband were great hosts. Room was comfortable and they made me feel as if I was a family guest in their home. Breakfast was wonderful I will stay there again if I go back to Sitka. Walking distance to town.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Darwin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annecy, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Ann is very very kind and will help you for everything you want.
The Bed and breakfast is just perfect to stay a few days in Sitka.
Breakfast is very good and each morning, it's new.
Hike on gavan hill is beautiful and the view is just amazing, you should go when the weather is fine and the path starts just behind the house.
Thank you very much

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Sitka is a great place to visit and Ann's Gavin Hill B&B is an excellent place to stay. The rooms are comfortable however do not include en suite bathrooms. Folksy is a good description with a bear skin shot by Ann hanging on the wall. There is a large hot tub on the side deck which was comfortable. It is a ten minute walk to downtown Sitka however we found it easy to do and had no problems. Breakfast is excellent. Customer service was excellent - when we told Ann that we would have to miss the Bear Fortress because the shuttle was not running she volunteered to drive us there herself and then gave us a tour of the mountains and lakes south of town - a two plus hour event!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grumpy065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Ann's was a great place to stay . Ann was a terrific host , providing lots of local information and tourist tips. Breakfast was a tasty and stimulating affair with the other house guests. Rooms were comfortable and quiet with everything you need plus more . Located a nice walk from the centre of town .

Room Tip: request the largest room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rggibbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sitka hotels
0.6 mi away
Sitka Hotel
Sitka Hotel
#4 of 8 in Sitka
18 reviews
0.4 mi away
Westmark Sitka Hotel
0.6 mi away
Totem Square Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sitka's Eagle Bay Inn
Sitka's Eagle Bay Inn
#2 of 19 in Sitka
98 reviews
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Sitka
Super 8 Sitka
#1 of 8 in Sitka
265 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cascade Creek Inn & Charters
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ann's Gavan Hill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ann's Gavan Hill Bed & Breakfast

Property: Ann's Gavan Hill Bed & Breakfast
Address: 415 Arrowhead St, Sitka, AK 99835-7214
Region: United States > Alaska > Sitka
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Sitka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Ann's Gavan Hill Bed & Breakfast Sitka, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing