We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good deal in Sitka”

Ann's Gavan Hill Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sitka
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ann's Gavan Hill Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 19 Sitka B&B and Inns
San Jose, CA
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Pretty good deal in Sitka”
Reviewed 14 July 2008

We had two rooms here in June 2008 and had a decent experience. The rooms were comfortable and clean. You have to share a bathroom with other guests, but it didn't turn out to be too much of a problem, as there are actually many bathrooms in the house. The house itself is on three floors and somewhat jumbled. Looks like it has been remodeled several times. There was a bit too much clutter around for my taste -- ie: mops on the front porch, knick knacks everywhere -- but I guess it adds personality to the place. Ann's breakfasts were huge and delicious -- breakfast burrito, eggs benedict, that sort of thing. There's a refrigerator and stove on the bottom floor that you can use if you want to cook something yourself. We really enjoyed the other guests -- everyone has breakfast together -- and I learned a lot from them (one couple had lived in Sika before). It's a quick walk to downtown -- about 10 minutes. After looking at the prices of hotels in Sitka, which are pretty bland and corporate and twice the price of Ann's, I was glad we chose to stay there.

Regarding restaurants...it's a pretty limited selection. We were pleased, however, to find Ludwig's selling whole, steamed Dungeness crab in the parking lot behind Brennan's for $15. It was fun sitting on plastic chairs, dipping crab in butter in the fresh Sitka air. They also offered a spicy clam chowder that was excellent. We also liked the restaurant in back of the bookstore.

Sitka is packed when the cruise ships are in -- but once they leave about 6:00 p.m., the place is deserted and feels like it's all yours.

  • Liked — The breakfasts
  • Disliked — Too much clutter
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oneyearoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    9
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
22
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, CA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2008

My husband and I stayed at Ann's for 2 nights in 2007 while traveling via marine ferry, and we just loved it. Ann made us feel as if we were visiting family members in Alaska. Her breakfasts were excellent, the rooms were homey and comfortable (although not lavish), but her personal service was above and beyond. She demonstrated great attention to detail, and is a very interesting person. We felt she really added to our Alaska experience and we would definitely return if we are ever fortunate enough to visit Sitka again.

  • Liked — Ann, and her personal service.
  • Disliked — It was not located right in the town center, but was definitely within walking distance.
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mswaxcruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Station, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2007

We stayed here for about 6 days and felt like we were leaving family when we left. Ann and her family are so warm and sharing, it was hard to leave. The warm comfortable bed, hearty breakfast and whirlpool tub soothed our jetlag. it was awesome to stay within walking distance of - pretty much everything. It was relaxing to sit out on the porch swing, listening to the gentle tinkle of the windchimes, with tree covered Gavan Hill right in your face. beautiful!

  • Liked — mountain view
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank pennyhopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver CO
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2006

We just returned from an Inside Passage journey on the Alaska State Ferry, a trip that included three nights in Sitka at Ann's Gavan Hill B&B. Ann's is located just uphill from the center of town - about a 10-15 minute walk from most everything. Located about 5 mniutes from the Gavan Hill trailhead.

The rooms are most everything you would want in a B&B. Hot tub on the deck. Fabulous breakfasts. Ann is a long time Sitka resident and she has done most everything - commercial fishing, etc - so she is a storehouse of local information and stories.

  • Liked — Friendly, very knowledgable proprietor. Very comfortable.
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank GeneDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, CA
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2005

This b&b is in a residential area about a 10-15 minute walk from downtown. The property is attractive and well-kept. The high-points for me were the jacuzzi tub in the guest bathroom and the spa on the deck.

Ann is both professional and friendly. She goes out of her way to make sure you find all the places and activities that match what you want from a vacation. She drew a hiking map for me that was full of unexpected little treasures of experience. She cooks a thoroughly appealing breakfast, too.

Helpful?
5 Thank 2manydogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sitka hotels
0.6 mi away
Sitka Hotel
Sitka Hotel
#4 of 8 in Sitka
26 reviews
0.4 mi away
Westmark Sitka Hotel
0.6 mi away
Totem Square Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Sitka
Super 8 Sitka
#1 of 8 in Sitka
286 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sitka's Eagle Bay Inn
1.6 mi away
Cascade Creek Inn & Charters
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ann's Gavan Hill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ann's Gavan Hill Bed & Breakfast

Property: Ann's Gavan Hill Bed & Breakfast
Address: 415 Arrowhead St, Sitka, AK 99835-7214
Region: United States > Alaska > Sitka
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Sitka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Ann's Gavan Hill Bed & Breakfast Sitka, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing