We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay here!!”

Ann's Gavan Hill Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sitka
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ann's Gavan Hill Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 19 Sitka B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stay here!!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed here for two nights two weeks ago, along with a fellow Alaska traveler who was able to book a room on short notice. We found the rooms clean and charming - although I do think we got the nicest room there, on the top floor, with a small balcony. The location was wonderful, a five minute walk to downtown, and the breakfast's were to die for. Ann was so helpful and very practical about how to get here or there. She has her own life as well - this is no B&B with full-time front desk staff, but she was there when we needed her. Lovely place. We will stay there again next time we happen by Sitka.

Room Tip: I think the rooms on the third floor are by far the nicest and most airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    8
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
20
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

My granddaughter and I spent 2 nights at Ann's. She is a ticket!! Lovely lady and the bed was sooo comfortable. We were upstairs in the back of the house. with a little balcony. The breakfasts were pretty good, with eggs and meat at both meals. We both enjoyed the hot tub and take a look at her flowers! She has the most amazing way of getting daffodils to bloom in July!
We thoroughly enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonnwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We arrived quite tired after coming from Haines, with a stopover in Juneau. Ann showed us the facilities that were at our disposal and let us get some rest. They have a hot tub on the porch, a washer and dryer(just for guest use), and a small kitchen area with a full size frig(again just for the guests use). Breakfast was wonderful, fresh blueberry pancakes, fresh fruit, orange juice, and coffee or tea. Ann has a wealth of knowledge about the area, being a longtime resident. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RLM2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is a wonderful place to stay for its delicious breakfasts (served at a beautifully set table), great location and is an exceptional bargain price-wise. Ann is giving of her knowledge of the area. She has a lot on her plate with the time involved to service everyone, as well as a grandson, but handles it all. In case she's busy and doesn't mention it at check-in, there is a downstairs common area which has a television and there is a kitchen area to use (stove isn't functional but there is a microwave). We stayed there a few nights and enjoyed conversations with the variety of people sitting down with us at breakfast, as well as with Ann.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kbtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanibel
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed two nights after a cruise and found it an excellent choice. As said, Ann is very informative, giving us better advice on hiking and restaurants than any guide books. Stayed in upstairs, spacious room, and took advantage of downstairs kitchen for leftovers instead of mediocre restaurant on second night. The place is close enough to walk to downtown, but after doing that our first day, we felt we'd seen enough and rented a car the second day. On Ann's recommendation, hiked up Harbour Mountain and Mosquito Bay--fantastic views, and then drove to other end of Sitka.

Room Tip: Upstairs king was very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VermontMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

If you want to get a local's perspective and immerse yourself in the real Sitka, this is the place for you. Ann and her husband have a small, clean home that is packed with knick-knacks, hunting trophies, and beachcomber's bounty. Ann is an interesting, salty, friendly, and appealingly feisty hostess. One minute she's fixing you delicious buckwheat and pecan pancakes, and the next she's telling you how she teased her fellow fisherman by catching and releasing the same one fish all day, so that they all followed her boat around the bay thinking she was making a huge day's catch!! While not a hunter or fisherman myself, I listened to Ann's harrowing stories with admiration and awe. My extended family of five occupied the 3 bedrooms upstairs. We had a bathroom to ourselves, and it was quiet and clean. Ann's decor is more cutesy and country than my taste, but hey, when in Sitka...This place is not far from town - my girls and I walked to the (really nice) shops in town on more than one occasion. Ann provides a communal kitchenette in her basement, as well as a sitting area with cable t.v. (the t.v. in the room just plays DVDs). Shoes off was a policy we encountered at every Alaskan B & B. Finally, her coffee was good and strong!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olliesam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Upon arrival, it can be somewhat confusing where to enter. There’s a front door plus a deck at the end of the house that has 2 entrances off it. Use the deck and knock on the door closest to the back. Like other B&Bs in Alaska, there is a no shoes policy, with a rack just inside the back door where you leave your shoes. This helps keep the carpet clean. I had a room with two twins, bathroom shared with two other rooms on the top floor. There’s a tv in the room with an incorporated dvd player as it does not have cable with a good selection of dvds available in a common library. Breakfast is eaten at a shared dining room table, portions are generous and the menu varies. The day I was there it was eggs benedict that everyone raved about, preceded by cut fruit, supplemented with juice. She has alternatives if the menu of the day isn’t to your liking. Ask for wi-fi access code.

Ann has had a variety of experiences in Alaska and is actively involved in supporting Sitka business activities and can tell you about Fortress of the Bear as well as a variety of hiking trails around town. She’ll help you figure out transportation to more remote locations and in some instances if it works for her schedule, may offer to take you somewhere herself.

To get here, look for the Sitka Tours bus – they’ll have a sign indicating price of shuttles to town. It’s $6 one way and $10 for a round trip and they’ll deliver you to the door of your lodging. Because the airport is a few miles out of town, this is a great convenience. Arrange your departure time/pickup in advance by calling the number on the voucher they give you if you purchase a round trip. If you’re traveling alone or as a couple, this is the way to go.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Journeying_Jean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sitka hotels
0.6 mi away
Sitka Hotel
Sitka Hotel
#6 of 8 in Sitka
13 reviews
0.6 mi away
Totem Square Hotel & Marina
0.4 mi away
Westmark Sitka Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Sitka
Super 8 Sitka
#1 of 8 in Sitka
255 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sitka's Eagle Bay Inn
Sitka's Eagle Bay Inn
#1 of 19 in Sitka
95 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cascade Creek Inn & Charters
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ann's Gavan Hill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ann's Gavan Hill Bed & Breakfast

Property: Ann's Gavan Hill Bed & Breakfast
Address: 415 Arrowhead St, Sitka, AK 99835-7214
Region: United States > Alaska > Sitka
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Sitka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Ann's Gavan Hill Bed & Breakfast Sitka, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing