We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“betterthanucanimagine”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sitka
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Otter's Cove Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 19 Sitka B&B and Inns
Medinah, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“betterthanucanimagine”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

the facilities are very comfortable and extremely clean. the breakfasts are outstanding. fruit in a bowl and full breakfast to follow. plenty of coffee and juice also. nice location also. right on the water with great views.

Room Tip: we had the room without the water view and it did not make the stay any less enjoyable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank larry p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
57
11
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
dallas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed at this B&B for 3 days. Our first night we stayed in the queen room, without the view, and the next 2 days we stayed in the Whale room, which is the nicest since it's set apart from the other two. The backyard is better than the pictures. It's gorgeous. The hot tub is fantastic, we used it twice a day. The house was fully booked when we were there, but the other couples really respected each others privacy, and didn't jump in the hot tub at the same time. It was very easy to use and always ready to go. We watched sea otters and eagles daily from the back yard - so fantastic! The room was completely spotless and linens and towels very luxurious. I was shocked at this. My husband wouldn't stop talking about it. The only drawback is that it's a B&B, which I don't really like. At 7am, breakfast is served in the community kitchen, on the other side of the wall. So, whether or not you want to get up that early, you are up! This was the only negative, and everything else is so great that you don't really care. The last day we were there, Cheryl served it at 8 which was really nice. Laundry is free, and that is sooo nice. I left my bathing suit in my room and Cheryl went to the ferry to give it back to me! I couldn't believe it. I would love to stay at this property again. She really should charge more!

Room Tip: choose the whale room for the most privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chloedallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed here 3 nights at the beginning of our Alaska trip. This is one of the very nicest B&Bs I have ever stayed in. Cheryl has thought of everything, even top rate laundry facilities. The location is on a beautiful bay, a perfect place to watch the sun set and enjoy the fire pit. The house is a couple of miles out of town, but this is a plus not a minus. You do not need a car in Sitka. The local taxi service is transportation, a tour guide, a cultural experience, and a fun way to meet some locals, all in a rolling van. We loved Sitka, and staying at Otter's Cove was a great experience!

Room Tip: The two rooms on the back have the bay views, but we had the third bedroom without the views, and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank zingerinBonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights in the Bear Room. View from the room and outside is fantastic. Right on the water. Although we didn't make use of it, there is a full kitchen to cook your own meals and a gas grill outside. Breakfast was nice with a cooked entree each morning. Make sure to ask for straight coffee if you want it, as Cheryl defaults to serving flavored coffees. Rooms were immaculate.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank applebyutah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This was our first trip (of what we hope will be many more) to Sitka. Otter's Cove was as comfortable as our own home, and it was hard to leave. Cheryl was a very gracious host, who surprised us each morning with a beautiful, filling breakfast and all the coffee we could manage.

The patio was a delight to cook our own dinners and watch the amazing sunsets over the water as the Pinks were jumping for joy at just being alive!

Bonus was the washer/dryer, we could have left half our clothes home! Next time we'll pack lighter to bring home more fish!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

This is a very well appointed B&B. Clean with numerous amenities. The views are outstanding. We did not get to experience a full breakfast as we had to leave too early to catch a flight. But our hostess went out of her way to prepare a great continental breakfast for us early in the morning. We would go back.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lawjusth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

I travel to Sitka once a month on business. Over the years, I have stayed at every hotel and B&B in town. Otter's Cove is by far the best place to stay in Sitka. Based on my years of travel to rural Alaska, I think it is probably one of the top B&B's in the state. Otter's Cove is located right on the beach in a beautiful setting, it is clean and impeccably furnished, and the breakfasts are outstanding. It is also reasonably priced and has all the amenities of a first-class hotel including free internet access. Staying at Otter's Cove is a positive rejuvenating experience that I highly recommend to anyone, whether you are visiting Sitka for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms here. Two rooms face the ocean; one does not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sitka hotels
4.0 mi away
Sitka Hotel
Sitka Hotel
#6 of 8 in Sitka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
3.9 mi away
Westmark Sitka Hotel
3.9 mi away
Totem Square Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Sitka's Eagle Bay Inn
Sitka's Eagle Bay Inn
#1 of 19 in Sitka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
3.8 mi away
Super 8 Sitka
Super 8 Sitka
#1 of 8 in Sitka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cascade Creek Inn & Charters
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Otter's Cove Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otter's Cove Bed & Breakfast

Property: Otter's Cove Bed & Breakfast
Address: 3211 Halibut Point Rd, Sitka, AK 99835-9521
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Sitka
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Sitka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Privacy Of A Hotel With The Comforts Of Home, This Water Front B&B Has Three Completely Private Rooms, King And Queen Beds, Full Common Kitchen And Lounge, Open Year Round, Kids Welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Otter's Cove Bed & Breakfast Sitka, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing