We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Convenient”
Review of Super 8 Sitka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Sitka
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Sitka
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Super Convenient”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Super 8 accommodation (404 Sawmill Creek Rd Sitka) LOCATION, LOCATION.
Pleasant from the outside and very "average/basic" on the inside! The room twin double beds, fridge, microwave, standard coffee machine, TV, little hanging space , 2 draws and bathroom! It's very close to the main part of town and a short walk to the harbour which is attractive! The room was clean and comfortable AND a great location as it's so close to the main part of town and shopping , restaurants, bars and a short easy walk to the harbour/ marinas.
Fabulous food at Dock Shack (located inside The Totem Inn) on the harbour with seating inside and out.
The reception lady was SO helpful even calling a taxi for us to take us to visit to the Fortress of the Bears ($12-$18). It is SO worth visiting. The Raptor Centre is a flat quick 10min easy walk up the road.
The Super8 has a 24hour washing/ dryer facility with a Change machine too!
Breakfast is a continental help yourself at the entrance near reception 6.00-9.00 am with a microwave to heat up whatever is required and on day one was somewhat disappointed BUT its basic

Room Tip: Our room was downstairs non smoking facing the car park NOT the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trina027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    110
    71
    13
    8
See reviews for
71
84
23
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

If you want a decent place to stay in Sitka without shelling out a lot of cash, the Super 8 there might fit the bill for you. If you are looking for atmosphere and a restaurant, you might try the Westmark down the street instead. Myself, I went with the Super 8 because I am a no-frills kind of traveler. I want clean, quiet, and not too expensive. And this was my kind of place!

I visited Sitka for a couple days as kind of a pilgrimage to see where my late mother went to college. The girl at the front desk was a local who was helped me find what used to be Sheldon Jackson College as well as other areas of interest in the small town. My trip was beautiful and amazing. I hope I can return to Sitka one day.

The room. The room was pretty basic, but safe and very clean and functional. The TV was an old boob tube. No plasma screens here! You should be outside doing other stuff in Sitka anyway. The WiFi was decent, which was a huge relief because my cell phone wasn't working with the local network. There was a free continental breakfast in the lobby. Again, nothing fancy.

Thank you, Super 8. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank AKalc_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The hotel is located in a very convenient location in town. It is near the restaurants and shopping and is also close to the airport. The room served our needs and was enjoyable experience for the 4 nights we stayed. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The air conditioning was also fairly quiet when we used it. The water pressure and temperature of the shower was also very good. They have a breakfast but did not get the chance to experience it since we went fishing very early in the mornings that we were there. The room also came with a mini fridge which was very convenient. The only negative was that they do not have a transfer to the airport or ferry terminal. We arrived by the ferry and hopped on Sitka Tours (white/blue bus) that took us the 7 miles to the hotel for $6/head which I thought was pretty reasonable. The staff was also very nice and accommodating as we needed to store our luggage since we arrived early in the day (before check in time). The rates were also reasonable in comparison to other properties in town. We will definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The Super 8 in downtown Sitka is one of the few, somewhat affordable places to stay within walking distance of the local sights. Everything is expensive in Alaska, so don't be surprised by the hotel and B&B rates. This property is nice, nothing fancy, and provides only juice, coffee, tea, cereal, toast and packaged pastries for breakfast. But, the staff is friendly, helpful and can be trusted to hold your bags if you get to town before check-in. There is no transfer service, so a cab fare has to be paid from the ferry or the airport. $20 at least. The room was clean and comfortable and pretty quiet, until the road construction nearby got going at 6 a.m. The biggest plus is the convenience. It is close to everything we wanted to see. A bit of a walk to the Raptor Center, but is worth every step if you go through the Totem park to get there. We did book the room for two nights six months in advance and had no trouble with the reservation. We do recommend booking early for summer and to check back to be SURE they have it right, due to other traveler's experiences.

Room Tip: You may want an upstairs room, to avoid the early risers stomping around overhead. Just be aware the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank detaildiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas, texas
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Super 8 wasn't necessarily "super" in every respect but is a fine choice for visitors. Well situated, just 5-10 minute walk from "downtown". Room was spartan but clean and quiet . No elevator ( although just two floors). Breakfast was limited and basic but included several hot choices. Staff was helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bloody44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This hotel was easily the most expensive of my 2 week trip in Yukon and S.E.Alaska and was almost the only one that did not provide ferry or airport transfer.Getting from the ferry terminal on the bus was a pain in the neck(90 minutes wasted for me and 4 other guests) and paying $10 to go a mile to the airport was very annoying when we could have easily been run over there.Decent hotel but poor lack of services.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bastrop
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Had 4 rooms reserved with conformation. Got to motel and, oops, only 2 rooms available. We had 1set of grandparents, daughter & son in law & 4 young adult grandchildren. We were told 1 room might become available later, so left and toured city. By evening, no room in the end, so we got 2 roll away beds in each room. The manager said she would decide how she could comp us, but first she had to go to a birthday party. Boy, I felt special :(. That evening we washed clothes for 8 people. None of the top dryers worked, but, of course, didn't realize that until they ran the cycle. Found ONE dryer on bottom that worked. Took forever to get everyone's clothes done. The very young & inexperienced girl who the manager left in charge while she partied, gave us $10 of her personal money for the dryers ($2/dryer). There is goodness in this world! When the manager returned, she told me she would charge us for 1 room which I thought was fair. She assured me the girl would be reimbursed for her $10. Meanwhile, back in the laundry room, another guest said he had a room reserved for 2 nights but when he came back from fishing, all his bags were packed & setting outside his room. He was told they only had him down for 1 night. I realize this is hearsay, but tend to believe it after our experience.
Beware!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sltd183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sitka hotels
0.3 mi away
Sitka Hotel
Sitka Hotel
#4 of 8 in Sitka
20 reviews
0.1 mi away
Westmark Sitka Hotel
0.3 mi away
Totem Square Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sitka's Eagle Bay Inn
Sitka's Eagle Bay Inn
#3 of 19 in Sitka
99 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cascade Creek Inn & Charters
0.5 mi away
Longliner Lodge and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Sitka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Sitka

Property: Super 8 Sitka
Address: 404 Sawmill Creek Rd, Halibut Rd & Sawmill Cr Rd, Sitka, AK 99835-7446
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Sitka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Sitka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Sitka 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 Sitka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Sitka
Sitka Super 8
Sitka Super Eight
Super 8 Sitka Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing