We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eggtravaganza”
Review of Zoo in Forest Park

Zoo in Forest Park
Ranked #6 of 40 things to do in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This zoo, featuring over 200 exotic and domestic animals, was the inspiration for Dr. Seuss and his stories. Dedicated to wildlife education, the zoo provides educational programs for children and adults.
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
“Eggtravaganza”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Will go later in the season when more animals are out. They hade an Easter Egg hunt and were very friendly. It appeared to be a very clean zoo. The park surrounding was amazing!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank realmccoy028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    35
    14
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edgewater, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Forest Park Zoo”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We took our famly with our 2 year 5mo. granddaughter to this zoo and were happy to see the variety of animals and how well-kept it was. Our grannddaughter Jocelyn loved the monkeys,llamas camels ,birds and other exotic birds and animals. We all - young and old enjoyed it, I would recommend this to anyone who wants to spend a nice morning or afternoon.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JRHsgram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Park, and Zoo!”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I was a little shocked how amazing the zoo at Forest Park is. They had exotic animals and locals animals. Everything was very very clean and all the animals looked happy and healthy. Their little gift shop sells animal food to feed the barn animals, a long with stuffed toys, and snacks. For a gift shop it's so affordable.
Great place for a day trip, it's amazing how many animals they have packed into the little corner of that park.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cramped and smelled”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

It amazed me they had so much crammed into one part of the park and then had numerous empty pins. It was more like a petting zoo on steriods. Not worth visiting.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelingknutcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great little zoo!!”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We had a great time visiting all the animals. Lots of different kinds that you don't always see. You could get very close to the animals for a good look and all the kids could see. There were even babies that were born at the zoo. Very cute and the park itself has more to offer... gardens, playgrounds, a splash pad and pool. Not sure about fees for that. But there was a little train that takes you around the grounds. A bit pricey...$4 per person..

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JenZ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zoo in Forest Park also viewed

 

Been to Zoo in Forest Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing