We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair,not great”

Typical Sicilian Ristorante
Ranked #40 of 333 Restaurants in Springfield
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The owner, Claudia, could not have been more accommodating. The food both gluten free (no wheat, rye barley) and regular meals were excellent. The The grilled articholk
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
525 reviews
355 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 346 helpful votes
“Fair,not great”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We came on a Thursday, and enjoyed the ambience of this being a local place, until a group at a birthday party literally madei it impossible to hear ourselves , or our waiter, speak. I'm all for having fun, but a group of 40 year old women need to understand there are others there who don't want to hear "whoopin n hollerin' their entire meal. A restaurant can't always help this, we realized, so we decided to try to enjoy our food.
I ordered a martini that sadly tasted like jet fuel, and our waiter was very nice and exchanged it for a glass of wine. We liked the bread served, but the overage of garlic pieces in the bread dip was overwhelming. The salads were good, but mostly uninspired.
Next, we shared the artichoke appetizer, which was fresh,but we couldn't understand why they would freshly fry something, and then douse it in a lemon type sauce, so that it all just tasted "wet". Better to serve the sauce on the side for dipping, so the good coating can stand on it's own.
The pork chop special was cooked well, and good quality, but we had asked for the sauce on the side,and, once again, it came doused in the sauce, which overpowered the quality of the meat. The waiter apologized, but they didn't offer to change it to meet our request. Our waiter was really cool, and even sat down at our table with us after our meal,to chat awhile..our favorite part of the meal.
I'm Italian, but this just wasn't my "kind" of Italian.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joboxer555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    15
    10
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Buxton, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Phenominal Food”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This is a small little restaurant, so reservations are really beneficial. Even with a reservation, they would not seat us as we were missing one member of our party. We sat at the bar and had a drink while we waited. The hostess was a little rude in trying to give our table away while we waited for our last person - even after saying we'd be happy to sit at our table and buy appetizers. The food was worth the wait. Every dish was fantastic. Large portions, beautifully served. The "typical sauce" is wonderful, although not as garlic-y as i'd hoped. We did not try desert, but if anything like the rest of the food I have faith that it would be great. Would absolutely eat here again and again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Coop228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicopee, MA
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Delish!”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The food is always excellent. Nice, quaint place with limited seating. Service is always excellent. And now open for lunch! I highly recommend the Typical Penne, it is divine. Also one of my favorites there is the gnocchi in vodka sauce. Get there early for dinner or there will be a wait.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank slalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best Italian in area”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Typical is a small cozy restaurant. The food is delicious!!! We have gone for several years and never a bad meal. Portions are on the large side so always leftovers for home. Bread is fresh and served with oil and garlic. Personal favorites are the Typical Penne and Magherita pasta dish. For dessert the lazy cannoli is so good!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Typical Penne, Nuff Said”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Great retaurant!!! Small but love eating there. The Typical Penne is awesome and I could eat it every meakl of the day if I wasn't worried about staying in shape. If you visit Springfield, you have to visit this retaurant. I am a native of the Field of Spring and I eat here fairly often.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TJ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Typical Sicilian Ristorante also viewed

 
West Springfield, MA
 

Been to Typical Sicilian Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing