We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Little Pricey”
Review of Mama Iguana's - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mama Iguana's
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Mexican, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Little Pricey”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

The portions are a bit small and rather overpriced, as are a good few of their drinks. The service was nice though and the ambiance of the place was lovely. They also had an excellent selection of tequila, so if you want to try a good variety, this is the place, just make sure you have a designated driver.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Devious_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    20
    13
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“So- so food and freezing”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The air conditioning was on full blast and we were freezing on a beautiful day outside.
Food was not that interesting. Best part of the meal was fresh guacamole made at the table. Otherwise not great - fish tacos bland and tamales not delicious. Our daughter liked her fajitas. Also very loud - hard to have a dinner conversation.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank seapearl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Decor alittle creepy... But good food!”
Reviewed 26 May 2013

At first I didn't notice the decor, because it was really dim inside the dining area (second floor), but once I did, I was like, "Wow, a huge creepy looking skull above my dining table... That's different!"

Regardless of the shock of the decor, the food and drinks were really good. I ordered a margarita and the bartender was on point with this drink! Mango margarita with my steak quesadillas. Delicious!

Pros: Food was great!
Con: Creepy skeleton and skulls all over the place
Too dark to see your food
Noise on a busy night made it hard to hear my fellow diners

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tomira R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy Hook, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed 5 May 2013

This was a good place... fun for drinks and good food. The tables were close and it was a little loud.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank TKMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 30 April 2013 via mobile

I had the mama iguana burrito and my boyfriend had the swordfish and both dishes were excellent, mojitos were not so good so I would go for the margaritas next time. The only thing I dislike was the glass wall between the restaurant and the gym, u can see all the sweaty people walking by, and the parking lot, the gym is so busy that takes over the lot. They should have specific spots for the restaurant

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ilianad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mama Iguana's also viewed

 
Springfield, MA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing