We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Clean... Disappointment with Beds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Saint George, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
“Great Location, Clean... Disappointment with Beds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

I stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn at Springfield in early May 2014. I have stayed at a couple other HGs in the past and was drawn to this hotel based on the Hilton standard and the hotel’s proximity to downtown. This hotel is situated next to the Basketball Hall of Fame and actually shares its parking lot with the Hall. It is very easy to locate as it is just off the highway. As is typical with Hilton Garden Inns, the lobby is bright and inviting, a place where you want to spend some time and just relax or do some work on the laptop. The staff were very pleasant. Throughout the hotel: cleanliness and brightness. The hotel’s onsite indoor pool and hot tub provide a great escape and well maintained. The hotel is connect via an indoor walkway to a Uno Chicago Bar and Grill, which also provides the hotel with its room service menu. But if you are tired of Uno, a short walk across the parking lot to the Basketball Hall of Fame complex will provide you with 3-4 more options. Now, with respect to my room… while the front desk seemed to be going out of their way to assign me a “quiet” room, I appears that I was assigned the worst room in terms of view (and not sure if it was as quiet as promoted to be). My view was of much of the wall/roof of the lobby area. Also, I must have overlook that, according to the front desk, only rooms with King Size beds offer the “Sleep System” as my room with two double beds did not offer this option and I must say, the mattresses were below expectation (I could feel the springs and steel frame). Then there was the issue with the factory/plant across the Connecticut River; during my stay there were two occasions where the factory would give off this loud, drawn out “venting” which sounded like a jet or large air valve. It was enough of a noise to wake a person up at 3:00am! Apart from this inconvenience of sleep, the room was very clean and I can say that the hotel’s wireless/wired internet, which is complimentary, is very good; take note that several of the other larger hotels in downtown charge for internet and the Hilton does not. Some other added amenities: Keurig coffee machines in each room, black-out curtains (that work) and that Hilton standard of large, thick bath towels. I have to point out that the elevators were among the slowest elevators that I have experienced in many years (and I was only on the second floor!). So in the end would I return? Well, if the beds/mattresses were upgraded in the Queen rooms, I would for sure. But the price of a stay and the current standard in hotel mattresses for deluxe hotels, this issue was certainly a turn-off and a disappointment that I would not of expected in a Hilton Garden Inn.

Room Tip: avoid room "262" - no view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StandingRoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    202
    70
    34
    22
See reviews for
242
102
30
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Hollywood, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Was in town for a wedding, my experience at the hotel was wonderful. Excellent management and staff, room was clean and fresh. Breakfast Bar was very good. I would recommend this hotel and stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syosset, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

This hotel is perfect for a short stay in Springfield- especially if a visit to the Basketball Hall of Fame is on the to-do list. The hotel is located in the same parking lot as the Hall of Fame and there are plenty of restaurant options that are adjacent as well. The hotel is well kept and the staff is attentive and helpful. 24 hour fitness center and an indoor- heated pool. What more can any family ask for when making that quick stop in Springfield?

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rick b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

This hotel is literally in the same parking lot as the Basketball Hall of Fame. It's a great location for business travel as it is located close to the highway. There are also several decent restaurants at the hall of fame which are a convenient walk from the hotel. The hotel pushes Uno's for food because they are attached, but there are much better options near by. There is a Starbucks a short drive away as well. Breakfast is not included in this hotel as an FYI.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgirl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahopac
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Hotel staff very friendly and accommodating. Manager was a pleasure and very helpful. Nicely appointed rooms and well kept lobby. Very clean, centrally located and will look forward to returning. Thank you

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank MahopacFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopewell Junction, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Though I thought the price was a little high for late March in Massachusetts it was worth it. The entire place was clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was delicious. The only complaint was noise from others on the floor, but you can't have everything.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

I like that they have multiple restaurants in the same parking lot and within walking distance. Also you could get to the closest restaurant without stepping "outside", or into the cold. The front desk employees are very professional and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Joel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Springfield
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield/Downtown
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Springfield
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Springfield at Monarch Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Springfield Marriott
Springfield Marriott
#6 of 8 in Springfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
1.7 mi away
Regency Inn and Suites West Springfield
Regency Inn and Suites West Spri...
#3 of 17 in West Springfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Springfield West Inn
BEST WESTERN Springfield West In...
#2 of 17 in West Springfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Springfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Springfield

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
Address: 800 Hall of Fame Ave, Springfield, MA 01105-2524
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Springfield 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield Hotel Springfield
Springfield Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Springfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing