We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Hoover, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“First time surprise”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

My wife and I were taking a Hall of Fame tour with our two grandsons and reserved a room at the Hilton Garden Inn that was literally in the parking lot of the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame. We
booked a special that they were offering that came with two admission tickets to the HOF and the breakfast buffet. From the time walked in the front door until we left, the hotel personnel could not have been nicer. The room was more like a 5 star hotel. Very nice. There were severe thunderstorms going on the night we checked in but the hotel was connected to an Uno restaurant and we just walked down a hallway into Unos. Food was very good, service was slow. The breakfast buffet at the hotel offered you anything that you could have wanted. First time we had stayed in a Hilton Garden Inn and we definitely will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jhg80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    205
    70
    35
    22
See reviews for
244
104
32
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My wife and I have rarely, if ever, been this impressed with a hotel. From the moment we stepped into the lobby, which had three or four cleaning people meticulously scrubbing and cleaning every visible surface, we were knocked off our feet by how impressive this hotel is. The front desk staff is top notch. The garden-like decor is stunningly beautiful, and inspires an immediate feeling of comfort and relaxation. Our room was spacious and the bed comfortable. We loved the pillows. Our room came with a mini fridge, Keurig Coffee Maker, and a microwave.

There are a few minor things that prevented me from giving it a five (which I am very stingy about giving anyway). The in room coffee was bad, in spite of the great Keurig machine. I am not certain whether the problem was the water or the coffee they provided, which was an unknown brand. I would recommend bringing your favorite Keurig coffee pods, and perhaps using bottled water for an improved flavor.

The pool was nice and very clean, but the pool room was 91 degrees (while the weight room was freezing), which made it a bit uncomfortable at first, but the pool water was an easy cool temperature, and not too difficult to get into. I would have preferred a more moderate room temperature with a pool water temperature around 75 degrees. The "hot tub" spa water temperature was virtually the same as the pool water, which negated any relaxing of my tired, tense muscles.

We weren't here for it, but the Basketball Hall of Fame is right next door across the very roomy parking lot.

Overall one of my all time best hotel experiences!

Room Tip: HH Honors members get free wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DFM_58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Why? It was very poor value for the money. It was not a welcoming experience by the desk staff. When I asked to change the room because I did not want to be next to the elevator and not next to the vending and ice room they did move us but the attitude displayed by the desk staff was we were bothering them. The room was fine. Access to internet was wrong. Website suggested breakfast was included, it was not, and that cost $12 per person served in the noisy lobby area like near the main entry way, not in a separate room. Staff had expressions of unhappiness.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
2 Thank Lawrence L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

WOW! The Springfield, MA Hilton Garden Inn is a superior hotel! We traveled on a traffic laden highway for many hours from New York City and needed a comfortable nights' sleep before continuing on our trip to New England. We arrived late, but was surprised as to how beautiful the building was. We checked in in less than five minutes. We traveled with my small service dog who was treated graciously. We needed food for him and was directed to a close by restaurant. Our room was lovely, the bed super comfortable, the bathroom spotless. We had a great nights sleep and awoke to a delicious complete breakfast served in a lovely area of the two story lobby. Eggs cooked to style, a variety of meats and potatoes, breads, pastries, etc., plus excellent coffee made the experience memorable. Above all that, the wait staff was super friendly, helpful and most courteous. I would go back to Springfield just to stay at the Garden Inn! Our only problem was our GPS was not able to find the hotel correctly due to insufficient hotel information.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, United States
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

If you are a Horse Club and planning a Horse Show at the Eastern States Exposition in W. Springfield book this hotel for your group. Exceptional administrative sales service, great price, no headaches, wonderful comfortable hotel, easy access from highways, lots of parking for vehicles, real breakfast, convenient restuarants within walking distance, overal a great experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithfield, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Quality hotel with close ammenities and access to major highways and the city of Springfield. Attached restaurant is very convenient. For a trip to the Basketball Hall of Fame or anywhere in the nearby area, this is a great choice for the night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Gregory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Northwest
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We've stayed at this Hilton -- right next to the Basketball Hall of Fame in Springfield -- and have had very good experiences, particularly in the fall and winter months. But our visit this humid July day was a mistake of epic proportions. We checked in late in the afternoon without much fanfare, and were happy to leave our things in our room which was a little humid and warm. We switched on the under window AC unit and went to visit family. When we returned later in the evening, we started to get ready for bed and found the room still somewhat warm and very humid.

What's the difference between our hotel and a Louisiana swamp? The swamp would've been drier and cooler than our room which had a sponge for carpeting. Taking off our shoes, we found the carpet was damp as if someone had just washed the carpets. Our kids found their queen beds in the adjoining room had damp bed coverings and sheets, and we found the same in our King bed room. After alerting the hotel, the night staff worked with us to find a suitable room for our kids - and found a room with two somewhat drier (but still damp carpets) queen beds down the hall on the opposite side of the hotel hallway.

We had a difficult night of sleep with the loud but inadequate AC in damp bedding. The next morning, the hotel manager on site showed us several rooms but we found the same problem to varying degrees: the rooms in the back of the hotel seemed more damp than those on the front side of the hotel (facing the Basketball Hall of Fame building).

Good news, the manager moved us to another affiliated property in downtown Springfield which was uneventful, no humidity problems and in the end much preferred. So much for a restful vacation! I give the staff 4/5 for their efforts to find us a new room on site, empathy for our situation and their customer service. I would give 1/5 for the rooms given the newly renovated AC units seem to have been the root cause of the humid rooms: someone really goofed on the renovation.

Room Tip: Stay on high floors facing the Basketball Hall of Fame and away from the Uno's Restaurant, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Springfield
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield/Downtown
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Springfield
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Springfield at Monarch Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Springfield Marriott
Springfield Marriott
#6 of 8 in Springfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
1.7 mi away
Regency Inn and Suites West Springfield
Regency Inn and Suites West Spri...
#3 of 17 in West Springfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Springfield West Inn
Best Western Springfield West In...
#2 of 17 in West Springfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Springfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Springfield

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
Address: 800 Hall of Fame Ave, Springfield, MA 01105-2524
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Springfield 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield Hotel Springfield
Springfield Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Springfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing