We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Park that is an inner treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Forest Park

Forest Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$99.00*
and up
Day Trip to Yankee Candle and Bright Nights Light Display
Ranked #5 of 40 things to do in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Park that is an inner treasure”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The Park is large, well groomed and maintained. It has a small but great Zoo and is a place for a wondeful picnic.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    62
    15
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saugus, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
209 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Love the animals”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We try to visit Forest Park every time we are in Springfield. We love the zoo and the train ride that takes you around the park. The staff was also very nice, and their is a stand outside the zoo for ice cream. There is a gift shop inside the zoo where the prices are reasonable. It really is a very pretty park and well maintained.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Debra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tinton Falls, New Jersey
Level Contributor
68 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Park”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Springfield's Forest Park is part urban oasis, part playground, part wilderness. Its 795 acres are all worth exploring. I am lucky that my new house is in walking distance. We're there at least once a week. Check out the summer farmer's market -- a knockout. Haven't been to the zoo yet; we're saving that for when our niece and nephew visit later in the year.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank miscrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“My favorite place in Springfield ”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

I have really fallen in love with Forest Park and can't get enough. The Olympic bars on the baseball fields are my favorite place to work on calisthenics ever! Jogging through is amazing and calming. Picnicking near the duck ponds with my husband is fantastic, and seeing everyone have a genuinely nice time is a wonderful addition to the city. Young or old, there's something here for everyone.

Helpful?
Thank hugebrat413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mattydale, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Park and Zoo”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We headed to the park for the Zoo. How impressed we were with the large well taken care of park we drove through before we reached the Zoo. Had we known we would have planned a picnic lunch. The Zoo was fantastic- friendly staff- wonderful variety of animals and demonstrations. A must see for both.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mareh132014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Forest Park also viewed

 

Been to Forest Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing