We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NICE DOWNTOWN LOCATION”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Springfield at Monarch Place
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Springfield
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“NICE DOWNTOWN LOCATION”
Reviewed 2 October 2010

My only gripe--and for all hotels--is that they charge for internet ($10/day) This is particularly inconvenient for those who are not travelling on the company expense account. If Econolodges (some very nice) charge $50 for the room and FREE internet why should a $150/night hotel hit you for another $10?!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DGAT1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    179
    125
    66
    41
See reviews for
163
101
27
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2010

The only restaurant open during our stay was the sports bar, which had popcorn all over the floor. We ended up going to the Marriott next door for dinner, had a wonderful experience, and seriously wished we had stayed there instead.

In addition to the restaurant issue: The front desk staff was unfriendly, there was no bell person on duty, the color of the open spaces and the rooms was dark and uninviting, the entire hotel smelled old and musty, it was very unclear where reception was located when driving in, and despite there only being a handful of guests in the hotel, we were placed next to two rooms that had rowdy men who woke us up at 2am while loudly discussing in the hall what type of hooker they were going to purchase for the night. The security came loudly knocking and shouting through their doors at almost 3am, but they had already left for their adventure.

This is without a doubt the worst Sheraton I have ever stayed at. It is a blight to the quality and service level one expects from the brand.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TFTtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falcon_Mgt, General Manager at Sheraton Springfield at Monarch Place, responded to this review, 1 October 2010
We are sorry about tour experience at our hotel. In terms of the apearance ownership has made 5Million in improvements per Starwood guidelines, the colors are Sheraton branded colors, we have scent dispensers all over the hotel. The two men unfortunately were offensive , we have security and they neededto address the men.We are sorry that your experience was not consistent with our standards.

Warm Regards
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Springfield hotels

Montreal
Level Contributor
56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

Spent a night here with my wife this month as we were in town for the Anthony Bourdain show at the Symphony Hall (located on the next block). We were very pleasd with our experience. I was a little concerned as to what to expect based on previous reviews, but was very pleased upon arrival. We were put in a "renovated room" with view of the river (although that also implies a view of I-91). The room was indeed fully renovated - new carpet, new bathroom tiles, new bath, new vanity, furniture, curtains, lamps, etc - it was a very nice Sheraton room - absolutely no complaints. The TV was large, flat-screen, with lots of channels. The shower had lots of hot water and good pressure. Towels were like new.

The hotel is atrium style, but we didn't hear any noise throughout the night, from our 7th floor room. We could hear the white noise created from being close to the highway, but to be honest this was mostly muffled by the A/C fan and was not a concern.

Located right in downtown Springfield - could be a good or a bad thing depending on your needs. It was perfect for us as we were attending a show at the (gorgeous) Symphony Hall, but there wasn't a ton to do around the hotel. Downtown Springfield has limited shopping and dining, but we did really enjoy our dinner at nearby Cafe Lebanon. Easy on/off access to I-91 and no-hassle self-parking for $9.95 (indoor).

We were very pleased with our experience - nice rooms, quiet, and a very friendly staff - and the price was reasonable, too. Would not hesitate to recommend. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTLSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falcon_Mgt, General Manager at Sheraton Springfield at Monarch Place, responded to this review, 28 September 2010
Thank you so much for recognizing the efforts we have put forth to improve our hotel. The capital improvements were 5M ;and we are so happy you enjoyed your visit to our city. We hope you visit again soon.

Warm Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2010

Spent one night in Springfield to visit the Indian Musuem. We selected Sheraton and for $89.00 I was amazed. Friendly customer service...Nicely appointed rooms with very comfy beds and pillows.

Enjoyed a great breakfast the following morning in one of the two restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ponton1db
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
231 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Starwood's recent investment in upgrading Sheratons and the responses by management to negative reviews here weighed in my decision to stay at this Sheraton rather than at the Marriott directly across the street. While the staff seems friendly, the hotel wasn't prepared for full occupancy. The lines at check-in and in the restaurant were long even though there seemed to be a lot of staff around. When I wasn't acknowledged as an elite Starwoods member in any way, I knew something was odd about the staff's training. As for the facility itself, I might have been in a room that wasn't yet upgraded. The maids definitely kept it very tidy, but the decor was dark and rather depressing. On the plus side, the hotel has a lovely view of a classic bridge over the bridge and is close to a charming historic park.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roxieontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2010

When we checked in the toilet was plugged. That's always a nice start. A dog barking on and off all night was nice too.
They told me they would take care of the parking when we checked in (we were in a downtown garage right under the hotel). When we got the bill at checkout it was 10 dollars a night. (We could have parked free if I had known what "take care of the parking" meant!)
We wanted to go on line to check out some of the local food places and the internet cost us 9 dollars a night. My son was using his laptop and I tried to check my e-mail on my laptop and the front desk told me it was 9 dollars each. So if the kids want to use their iPods it's another 9 dollars each device! That would have cost me 50 dollars.
Local calls are $1.50 each. Is that necessary? I'm not usually really a cheapskate but come on! This is a 160 dollar a night hotel.
I was afraid to drink the bottle of water they left by the ice bucket. Figured it was 6 bucks.
Springfield needs a Best Western. Clean and affordable.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prairieson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

Booked this hotel soley based on it being pet-friendly. Though it does in fact allow dogs, there is no area near hotel to walk dog. Closest park is a couple blocks away and was not safe - geniunely worried as to whether we would be mugged while our dog used the bathroom. Staff was not friendly, smoke-alarm went off and inaccurate explanation provided, parking was impossible in garage, a/c did not work well and made loud noise through-out night and website claimed heated pool, which turned out to be ice cold. Hotel claimed to be entirely smoke-free yet rooms smelled extremely smoky and musty. Saw several guests holding packs of cigarrettes as we all waited outside during smoke-alarm.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kktk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Springfield
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield/Downtown
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
0.0 mi away
Springfield Marriott
Springfield Marriott
#6 of 8 in Springfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Springfield
1.4 mi away
Regency Inn and Suites West Springfield
Regency Inn and Suites West Spri...
#3 of 17 in West Springfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
1.6 mi away
Naomi's Inn
Naomi's Inn
#4 of 8 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Springfield at Monarch Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Springfield at Monarch Place

Property: Sheraton Springfield at Monarch Place
Address: 1 Monarch Pl, Springfield, MA 01144-1099
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Springfield at Monarch Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Springfield's largest hotel, The Sheraton Springfield Monarch Place Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the city, just minutes away from several of Springfield's attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Springfield at Monarch Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Springfield At Monarch Place Hotel Springfield
Sheraton Monarch Place
Springfield Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing