We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay while you ski Montage Mountain”
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Scranton
Reviewed 24 August 2005

We have stayed at this hotel on our ski trip to Montage Mountain.
This is a very nice budget hotel indeed. It is located right next to the freeway exit for Montage Mountain Ski Resort and only about ten minutes away from the ski area. Marvelous Muggs Restaurant located across the parking lot is a very good place for a hearty and delicious lunch or dinner.
The front desk staff was very efficient and accommodating. We were offered a choice of rooms, and thus selected a second floor room with the mountain view, which indeed turned out to have a view of the slopes.
Our room was very clean, as were all the common areas of the hotel. All the appliances (fridge, microwave, coffeemaker) were in good shape, beds were comfortable, and the bathroom was sparkling.
The continental breakfast served in the spacious lobby was quite filling. It included, in addition to usual stuff, self-made waffles and selection of fresh fruits. The fruits and coffee were available in the lobby all day long.
The pool area and exercise room were not very impressive but we did not care.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is visiting Scranton for skiing or for business. However it would not be appropriate any kind of romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank skiprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (431)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

420 - 426 of 431 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2005

I had occasion to stay here due to some business that went late into the night, and I didn't want to drive 120 miles home only to return early the next morning.

I had originally mistakenly booked the Clarion Hotel up the street, but the good folks at the hotel let me out of my reservation despite being 35 minutes past the cutoff time. I walked into the Comfort Suites and got a room quickly. The front desk clerk was efficient, if not effervescent. She checked me in, alerted me to the amenities and let me know what time breakfast was served.

The room was sufficient. It was clean, and it was somewhat comfortable. Not exactly a "suite" per se, as you wouldn't be able to put the kids to bed and watch TV without disturbing them. A half wall divided the two areas, but for the single traveler, it was fine. Both areas share one TV, in the middle of the room.

Breakfast was just OK with do-it-yourself waffles, fruit, bagels and yogurt. There was plenty of seating at 7:30 on a Friday morning though, as few people were eating there.

I would likely stay here again, but I would just as likely shop around to see what else was available.

  • Stayed: August 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DBC925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2005

Can't think of a single problem to mention about our trip to Northeastern PA this past weekend and our stay at Comfort Suites of Scranton. We stayed overnight (a Saturday night) while visiting family who have a trailer at a nearby resort community. When we arrived to check in, the staff could not be more welcoming and hospitable. They told us everything we needed to know, even went as far as to say that there may be some traffic congestion around the hotel when we return to our rooms at night! They answered all of our questions and even told us about area attractions. The hotel was completely booked for the night, so we heard one of the staff members behind the desk answering calls for reservations: She responded by saying that the hotel was full, and she even offered to make reservations for them at nearby hotels! We reserved two rooms, and even though she couldn't get them adjoining or next to each other, the staff member got them as close together as she could- only about 3 or 4 rooms apart. Our only real complaint was that the hallways on our floor (3rd) smelled like smoke from the smoking rooms, even on our non-smoking side. But we didn't bother complaining to the desk- after all, what could they really do about it? Besides, it wasn't too bad.

But it's no wonder why this hotel is so popular- it was one of the cleanest and well-furnished hotels we ever stayed in! Our rooms were so nice that they looked like they were pulled out of a luxury hotel. Plenty of room and amenities!

The hotel was located on a hill adjacent to Interstate 81- making it the perfect place to stay overnight on a road trip. But you could also stay here on your trip to the Scranton/Pocono Mountains regions- it's about 10 minutes from downtown Scranton and 30-45 minutes from the Pocono regions. It was right off exit 182A (SB), 182 (NB) of I-81. It's located at the same exit for the popular Montage Mountain resort.

The breakfast was really good, although there could have been a bigger selection. The Belgian waffle maker was very popular, as were the bagels, oatmeal, and cereal. Checkout was smooth and easy, as it was done via the TV in one of the rooms.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the NE PA area, or anyone driving down I-81 and looking for a place to stay, even if it's just overnight. One of the best!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2005

The folks at the front desk were friendly and helpful. The room, mattresses, linens, and towels were all clean. The vents looked as though they had just been cleaned! A nice place to stay while travelling.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ptc512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Ontario, Canada
321
Reviewed 19 April 2005

We arrived in Scranton April 16, 2005 travelling home from a trip down south and stopped in to see if there were any rooms available. The manager and desk staff were very friendly during check in and check out. We requested a cot in our room and it arrived immediately following check in, as well as brought a remote for the television as the room remote was missing. The room was clean. The continental breakfast was great. I would stay again most definitely.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Meilleur prix en réservant à l'avance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeannine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Manon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scranton hotels
0 mi away
Hampton Inn Scranton at Montage Mountain
2.5 mi away
Hilton Scranton & Conference Center
2.6 mi away
Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Scranton
5.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn Scranton
Fairfield Inn Scranton
#5 of 10 in Scranton
262 reviews
7.6 mi away
Days Inn Scranton PA
Days Inn Scranton PA
#8 of 10 in Scranton
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 44 Montage Mountain Rd, Scranton, PA 18507-1753
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Scranton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Scranton
Price Range: £57 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Scranton
Comfort Suites Scranton
Scranton Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing