We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A labor of Love, June 28, 2014”
Review of Houdini Museum

Houdini Museum
Ranked #9 of 33 things to do in Scranton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A museum dedicated to Houdini, the famous magician. Includes a film, a guided tour of the exhibit and a 1 hour stage magic show with nationally known magicians,with doves, ducks, a rabbit and a poodle. Lots of comedy and audience participation. Our magicians have appeared on HBO and other network specials. We often sell out and advance phone reservations are discounted. Arrive between 1 PM and 2:15 and see the entire event. Earlier tours are a bit longer.
Baltimore
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A labor of Love, June 28, 2014”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We were in PA visiting relatives and caught a show.
They mentioned they have many more items to display and were looking into renting a larger venue. That is a great idea to update it all and organize it a little more with more space. So call to make sure they are open at this location.
Some of the reviews are true. Why can't we spend time looking at the exhibits at our own pace?

I wish them well, especially Dorothy that makes the show fun for Adults and kids. The older gentleman was rude and rushed on the phone and while giving the tour and while he played to the kids, that was only to get them to buy stuff. They are just a two person operation so they sell tickets while the show goes on. They do birthday parties that may be fun.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank katwomansz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    31
    12
    11
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
391 reviews
228 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 375 helpful votes
“Closed for renovation...”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

What a shame! The Houdini Museum was definitely on our Scranton schedule so we could take souvenirs back to the other grandchildren back in England. Having eventually found the attraction and then a place to park [there is space at the back of the property] we discovered [July 2013] to our horror that it was closed for restoration. We'd seen no prior notice as we'd been travelling so it was a great disappointment. We wish the Houdini Museum well but it unlikely we'll be back in Scranton again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank EximiousTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Falls, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Kids really enjoyed”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Great magic tricks, history and museum. Price a bit high but more than that, they are hurting for money to keep the place up and really push beyond the admission fee for donations.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester County
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Like if your aunt and uncle did magic at their house.”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Lovers of clutter and old-timey magic tricks (floating woman, balls and cups, pulling the rabbit out of the hat, etc.) you have found your Eden. Two eccentric magicians with an obsession around the founding father of escape acts, Harry Houdini vamp, do tricks, do shtick, and sell their odd little hearts out. The opening presentation of a video (on what must be on televisions bought in the 1980s) from the Travel Channel visiting the very museum you are sitting in get points for sheer ballsy-ness and meta-ness. After that comes the short walk around two medium-sized rooms chock-a-block with Houdini bric-a-brac most of it unlabeled in no particular order and a lot of it frustratingly sitting behind other stuff. Here's a tip: just because you own it doesn't mean you have to display it (also maybe dust once in a blue moon). The saving grace of the experience comes from the female half of the proprietors - Dorothy Dietrich. Specifically her magic act rises out of the general mediocrity of the proceedings not from the tricks - which include just the well-worn classics - but her willingness to drag audience members into the fray charming and vamping her way into their hearts. Given the small audience drawn, you're likely to wind up as one of them. The male half of the team, the unlikely named "Jonny Bravo" presents like of the junior version of the same tricks interposed with an overly earnest attempt to sell inexpensive magic-related trinkets. Another tip: if children came with audience members, they pretty much were going to wind up in the gift shop (or "gift corner" more accurately) anyway so no need to push so hard (also the "I'm psycho" thing is a little offputting - maybe dial it down a notch). In short, for a price less than a movie with popcorn you may get to watch your husband get pretend stabbed in the neck - how you gonna beat that?

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank thewestchestarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lords Valley, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Visit Dec 8,2013”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

My grandsons, and I, 14 years old and 11years old, spent an amazing 3 1/2 hours at the museum yesterday. What a wonderful treat and privilege to be entertained by one of the most famous and talented magician in the history of the world,Dorothy Dietrich. I suggest that before you attend the museum, tour and show, that you Google this amazingly talented , beautiful and sincerely sweet lady and watch the videos of her world famous bullet catch and straight jacket escape, with Tony Curtis narrating. It was a thrill to be so close to this world famous magician. The theater was very comfortable, the tour extremely informative ,and the show was thrilling!!
Kudos to Dorothy and the great Bravo!!! Sincerely,Jess Rothenberg

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jess R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Houdini Museum also viewed

 

Been to Houdini Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing