We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay and great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Scranton
Batavia, NY
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent stay and great breakfast”
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We had a very pleasant stay here. Room was clean and comfortable with all the normal amenities, frig, hair dryer, iron, coffee maker etc. Breakfast was included and we expected the normal continental of fruit, donuts, rolls, muffins and so on but were pleasantly surprised with a hot breakfast that included scrambled eggs and make your own waffles that were delicious.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Livinfortheride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    8
    9
    14
    22
See reviews for
9
16
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We were very pleased with the staff and their helpfulness. The room was very nice and quite adequate. The restaurant on the other hand was not good. The waiter didn't know the menu. He had to run back and forth to the kitchen to get answers to basic questions. He was the only one for waiting and seating. We waited over 45 minutes to get a hamburger and tortillini. My salad came with no dressing (was never asked what kind I wanted) also never asked how my husband wanted his hamburger done. Never asked if we wanted refills on ice tea or did we want dessert. We were there for an hour and a half for just the entre and there were only three other booths with customers, two arriving after us.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chrisrose502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio City, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Walked into the lobby, and it smelled badly - pretty disgusting. Then I noticed the wall behind the front desk: extremely dirty wallpaper peeling off of the wall and being tacked down with rusty nails!! I wanted a cheap room, but was unwilling to risk it... neighborhood looked a bit too tough for my taste as well. Scruffy, wrinkled attendant as well... just not professional... like they didn't even clean or care, let alone try to impress. Generally disgusting - would NOT recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BKguest632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DhanPatel, Guest Relations Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent visit to the Red Carpet Inn & Suites, Scranton. We are disappointed that you found our lobby and location uninviting. I have referred your review to our maintenance and front desk managers to look into their specific areas. Our property is located downtown and the area is mostly quiet. Again, thank you for your comments and we will work to improve on those areas that are within our power to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012 via mobile

Hey, I just need a clean room. Could afford better but I am frugal and this is a good value. Only 10 dollars for the dog.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eileen8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DhanPatel, Guest Relations Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Thank you for your very kind words concerning the Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton. We take all feed back seriously, so that we may continue to improve our property for all of our guests. We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012 via mobile

A stop on our way home lead us to Scranton. Having a dog and no reservations didn't leave us with many options. After calling a few hotels we found The Red Carpet Inn with availability. What a HUGE mistake! As soon as we pulled in, we knew this was a mistake. After being greeted rudely at the front desk we found our second floor room. With extremely old decor and furniture, the room is disgusting. There was a bug in our bed, a disgusting water stain on the ceiling and a floor that I refused to walk on barefoot. The shower was so disgusting and moldy my brother in law, 1 year out of college, would not go in. We were so grossed out by the place we forced ourselves to sleep from 8pm to 1 am and leave! Don't even think about staying here even as a last resort!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ForteDevelopment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DhanPatel, Guest Relations Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton. Please accept my sincere apologies for the disappointing level of service you received during your visit. While we continually strive to improve our facilities and service, the information that you have shared with us, gives us the opportunity to see our operation from your perspective. We have passed your review along to our housekeeping and maintenance departments, so that that they can pay closer attention to the guest rooms. Again, I would like to apologize to you and hope that you will give us the opportunity to better meeting your expectations in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scranton, Pa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2011

We have stayed there a few times, Smelled bad.. I had to spray with Air Freshener. Sheets did not fit right.. Everytime I got up I had to redo the sheets... The last time we were there we were bit up by something. Had it checked out and it was Bedbugs... Its a nice location, Very reasonable priced, but definately needs new beds and redecorated and fumigated really bad.....

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soso88_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeghnaP, Guest Relations Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton, responded to this review, 21 March 2011
Thankyou for your review ! We are disappointed that you had to face issues regarding smell. Please note that we have already taken steps in conditioning the air. We sincerely apologize for the same. We also cleared our deep bed bugs treatment and inspections in the early beginning of the year to avoid complaints from our guests. However, we do encourage that any issues related to bed bugs should be notified to the Manager or atleast at Front Desk to avoid any harmful health effects to you. We understand how important clean interiors of room are for our guests. Taking into consideration, our General Manager makes sure that we keep updating our hotel interiors. Because of weather disruptions this year in winters, our renovations in furniture got delayed. However, you are welcome again to gain better experience of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

We wanted a downtown budget hotel and in spite of negative reviews found no other options. To our surprise we found friendly staff and a large well furnished room; carpeted, wall papered, comfortable bed, a desk with chair for computer, excellent wifi, round table with two chairs, tv, dresser, small clean bathroom, large bathroom vanity, large clothes rack with wooden hangers, easy to use safe box and everything worked. Bedding and towels are old but clean (a few stains and holes but not dirty). Halls, parking, breakfast room , can be cleaner, but it was clean enough for us. The area where the hotel seats is under construction, some buildings being demolished and others built. We found it safe and had a great time in Scranton. No problem going back if need be but wish there were more options downtown for budget travelers. Would recommend if friend definitely needed a budget hotel downtown.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraVioleta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scranton
4.8 mi away
Days Inn Scranton PA
Days Inn Scranton PA
#8 of 10 in Scranton
620 reviews
1.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Scranton
0.4 mi away
Hilton Scranton & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 10 in Scranton
409 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton
3.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Dickson City/Scranton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton

Property: Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton
Address: 320 Franklin Ave, Scranton, PA 18503-1202 (Formerly Howard Johnson)
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Scranton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Scranton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton Hotel Scranton
Red Carpet Inn And Suites Scranton
Red Carpet Inn Scranton
Scranton Red Carpet Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing