We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for a quick stop.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn Scranton
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Scranton
Reviewed 8 October 2012

The Marriott brand has always been my first choice of hotels when I travel for the simple reason that it is clean. I've stayed at the JW Marriott right down to their low budget hotel like the Fairfield Inn and Townplace Suites and all seem to have the same standards of cleanliness. Rooms smelled fresh, clean and up to date. Pleakfast was Jimmy Dean breakfast sandwiches among other items. Not a bad band for your buck. Don't use the directions from the website to get here, they are wrong from 81 South. There is also some construction and detours. A bit of a pain to find, especially if one is tired and arriving late.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea C, Sales Coordinator at Fairfield Inn Scranton, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Thank you for you review! We are happy that you found your stay comfortable and will look into getting correct directions on our website!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2012

A typical older Fairfield Inn, no surprises there, but despite very pleasant and helpful front desk staff, the hotel could do no better than an overall average due to a much needed overhaul and refurbishing.
In particular, the base of the bath tub was so worn out that where you would stand for a shower looked permanently stained, so much so that my wife refused to stand on it. Half of the painted veneer on the edge of the bathroom door was missing and the bare wood was exposed. This stay was basically just a place to sleep for the one night and at least the bed was comfortable.
On the plus side, despite the flaws, housekeeping seemed to do a decent job of having the room well kept. The television was very clear and had good definition.
There's an indoor pool, which although we did not use, the water looked very clear. The complimentary breakfast was adequate, while the staff were very cordial and did a good job keeping the area clean.
The location of the hotel is well situated in a large shopping area with a mall, several strip malls and the usual assortment of "big box stores". Plus there are enough restaurants within a five minute drive to satisfy any appetites for a week or more. There's also a large IMAX movie theatre
about a mile away just off the same road next to Kohl's.
Someone said they heard the hotel was undergoing refurbishing, if so future reviews might reflect that. Until then, just an average room.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Retired62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DicksonCity, Manager at Fairfield Inn Scranton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2012

Thank you for you review. We do work hard to upkeep our hotel. We will follow up with maintenance issues such as the ones you have listed. I do apologize for the tub surface being worn off. We do make sure all the tubs are cleaned. I am glad that you found the staff helpful and pleasant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We've stayed here before and continue to do on our way from Montreal to/from the southern USA. The rooms are clean with windows that open. We stayed four nights here on two occasions in the last month and enjoy the hotel.

Some beds are newer than others and on our last stop-over we asked for firmer beds. We were definitely more comfortable in the newer beds.

The motel is close to restaurants and a large mall with an excellent BAM bookstore.

The Dickson City Fairfield continues to offer a friendly staff and good value.

KG

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kgmontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DicksonCity, Manager at Fairfield Inn Scranton, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2012

Glad you enjoy our hotel!! Thank you for your loyalty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Location is fantastic and the staff could not have been friendlier. This is not a luxury hotel, but it is great for the price. Basically clean and well maintained. Wild be nice if the spa works, but the kids enjoyed the pool!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dwg30039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DicksonCity, Manager at Fairfield Inn Scranton, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Thank you for your reponse. Glad you all enjoyed your stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

My family (6 of us) traveled in from CT to see family and friends in the Scranton area. We loved the location because we have family surrounding the site. Having 4 children we find it nessesary to have a pool to entertain them at night.
The pool room was cold, pool temperature was fine except when you got out it was frigid. The spa was drained and inoperable. Total downer. We asked the front desk if they had washers and dryers for drying bathing suits and they said "no" and that we would have to walk/drive over to the residence inn (which is right next door) in order to use theirs. When my husband did, they denied him access because it was after 10pm :/
Further more, there must have been a group of preteens because the hallways and Lobby had a lot of horse playing and loud rambunctious kids. The kids then infiltrated the pool area with little to no supervision. The hotel did nothing to get the chaperones to handle the situations at hand. We witnessed one of the boys jump and land on top of my 5 yr old and the chaperone did nothing. I was totally not impressed with operations to this point. The following morning as we were packing up to head home, a condom wrapper was found beneath my daughters bed. That sealed the deal for us. We will not be coming back here. It's sad when a Marriott loses sight of their standards. So much for some peace and relaxation.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristineZ2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DicksonCity, Manager at Fairfield Inn Scranton, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Thank you for your feedback. I dont believe that we were made aware of any problems with kids in the pool area. If we were aware, a manager or front desk staff would have taken control of the situation. I do apologize for their behavior in the pool, however. What you found under the bedskirt is completely unacceptable and will be taking more detailed inspections of rooms to ensure that does not happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We were in the area to move my niece into college for one night. The hotel was a good location for us and is located right off of Route 81. It's off a main street that has a lot of stores and restaurants within a few miles of the hotel. It is a very busy street and difficult to make a left from the hotel due to the traffic. There is also a Residence Inn right next door.

It's a small hotel (3 floors) but very comfortable. The gentleman that checked us in was very nice and efficient, the process took only a few minutes. The hotel offers free continental breakfast, a pool, hot tub, daily newspaper, and a PC in the lobby with internet. The hotel also has free WIFI throughout along with free parking.

We didn't use the pool and the hot tub wasn't working, I was looking forward to using that though. The breakfast room was very nice with a good selection of items including yogurt, fruit, breakfast sandwiches, waffles, cereal, muffiins, bagels, tea, coffee, & hot chocolate. It is well taken care of. It ends early during the week at 9am, but weekends it's open to 10am.

The room was very nice, the 2 queen beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was spacious but with minimal toiletries (only a small bottle of shampoo & conditioner). The towels were a bit hard. There was a flat screen tv with a good amount of channels and a small coffee maker with a regular & a decaf coffee packet. I'd assume it's replaced daily.

We had a small problem with the toilet backing up and the manager came right up and fixed it, it worked fine after that.

I would recommend the hotel and stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoeytravelerNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DicksonCity, Manager at Fairfield Inn Scranton, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Thank you for your kind words of our hotel and staff. Hope to see you again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

For starters, we are Marriot reward members and wanted to find a nice hotel inside of Scranton for the least amount of points. This one looked very nice online, and mostly the same in person. It is situated in a small plaza also including a Residence Inn as well as a Japanese restaurant . Next door there is also a Staples and Best Buy for any electronics lovers!
My family and I came to this hotel mainly because we could use or gain points, and also because we had tickets to see the Scranton Wilkes Barre Yankees. When you first arrive you enter into a somewhat small lobby with a pool and breakfast area nearby. We got our room and noticed a bad smell like mold or mildew. Having allergies to both of these we called down to the lobby and they got us a new room right away.
Unfortunately we did have this issue, however service was great to address this issue. Our new room, just like the other is basically like any other Marriot hotel. Very nice, pretty clean and up to date. There were some small crumbs, cookies etc. left from the previous visitor, however nothing major. The air conditioning works extremely well and cooled off the room on a hot summer day.
A couple small disappointments arose during our visit, but again nothing really major. Watch out for the showers, the water does not go out easily, and you are standing holding the plug for 10 minutes. Also the pool is very shallow, considering the deep end is 4 ft. The storage room was constantly open, leaving an unpleasant look to a seemingly nice hotel. Lastly, the breakfast was just average for a Marriot! No eggs, bacon or any of the usual hot foods.
In the end, I did enjoy my stay here for the most part. The only thing I would change is bringing the quality more up to the full Marriot state. I would give this hotel a 3.5 but first of all I can't, and secondly the service here was outstanding, so they are the ones who deserve the good grade.

Room Tip: Pretty nice size, nice tv, not a #1 bathroom though
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_Klawiter95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DicksonCity, Manager at Fairfield Inn Scranton, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2011

Thank you for your feedback. I am happy that our employees were able to handle the inconvenience of the smokey room to your liking and that you enjoyed our service overall. We will be keeping a closer eye on the details in the rooms. I do apologize for not having the hot items that you were looking for on our breakfast bar, however our breakfast is a deluxe continental and not a hot breakfast as you might find at other marriott hotels. We have added hard boiled eggs and bacon and egg sandwhiches to our breakfast. Hope you come back and stay with us again next time you are in the Scranton area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scranton
6.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Scranton at Montage Mountain
5.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 10 in Scranton
418 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hilton Scranton & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Scranton
0.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Dickson City/Scranton
3.4 mi away
Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn Scranton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Scranton

Address: 949 Viewmont Dr, Scranton, PA 18519-1663
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Scranton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Scranton
Price Range: £76 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Scranton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scranton Fairfield Inn by Marriott welcomes you with excellent amenities and always-friendly service with a smile. We're conveniently located, within miles of major highways and over 50 restaurants, shops, and other attractions. Business travelers have made us one of the go-to hotels in the Scranton, PA area for our close proximity to the Oil and Gas region, major healthcare facilities such as CHS, Alliance Global, TMG, Geisinger and other major companies! Likewise, leisure guests love to stay at Scranton Fairfield Inn for a convenient rest near popular attractions: NBC's "The Office" Tour, Viewmont Mall, Steamtown National Historic Site and Mohegan Sun Casino. When you're ready to relax, do so in our spacious rooms complete with luxury bedding, free Wi-Fi and premium Satellite channels on 32" flat screen TVs. Start each morning with our newly expanded free hot breakfast, now featuring scrambled eggs, sausage, fresh fruit, Dannon yogurt and more. You'll also enjoy an indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fairfield Inn Scranton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scranton Fairfield Hotel Dickson City
Fairfield Dickson City
Fairfield Inn Dickson City
Scranton Fairfield Inn
Dickson City Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing