We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loyal customer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn Scranton
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Scranton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“loyal customer”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We have stayed at this hotel now for half a dozen times and each time appreciate the friendliness of the staff, the comfortable, clean rooms and convenience of the location. The breakfast is clean and adequate for our needs, (hot stuff hot, cold stuff cold), and delicious.The staff quick to clear away when we were done eating and enjoying the delicious coffee. The pool area was clean and we enjoyed doing laps in the pool for our morning workout. A few recommendations I would make, based on stays in other Marriotts would be to have a sliding door installed in the entryway, change from a chlorine-based pool to a salt-water pool, (easier on the skin!); provide towels in the pool area(none noted yesterday); update the cooling system so it's consistent whichever floor your on. The third floor cooling did not seem as adequate in the summer as the second & first floors. The room itself was very comfortable, spotless and lovely-thank you Raquel! :) If/when we're in Scranton again, we would stay here. Thank you.

Room Tip: First or second floor during the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea C, Manager at Fairfield Inn Scranton, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for your loyalty to the Scranton Fairfield Inn by Marriott! We sincerely appreciate you choosing to stay with us and are glad that you find our accommodations comfortable, our breakfast fulfilling, and our staff friendly! We appreciate you letting us know your suggestions and will make sure that towels are available in the pool room, look into our heating and air conditioning by floor, and the possibility of getting a salt water pool. Thanks again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    97
    59
    19
    6
See reviews for
99
56
12
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dover
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This was our second visit to this hotel. We arrived late in the morning expecting a room. Unfortunately due to a NASCAR event no rooms were ready, but the wait of 15 minutes was fine. The hotel clerk even prepared two gift bags for my wife and I as a result of the wait, which was a very nice touch. The room itself was clean and the hotel was super. We shall return to this hotel the next time we are in Scranton. The ladies to maintain the breakfast area deserve special recognition as breakfast was great in spite of a big crowd of people and limited seating.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronDover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea C, Manager at Fairfield Inn Scranton, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We sincerely appreciate your feedback and are grateful for your loyalty to our hotel! We look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My first impression pulling up to this Fairfield Inn was "it's small". There was no sliding door upon entry which is difficult when you are juggling 4 suitcases plus other things, and one of you has to hold the door open.

I haven't been to a hotel without a sliding door in I don't know how long. And it's not even a double door, it's a single glass door that's heavy.

After we squeezed in through the single door, there were no carts available upon check in and the manager at the desk was completely unapologetic about it nor did he offer to hunt one down. He had a can't be bothered attitude overall.

The lobby was again small, unimpressive and possibly in need of renovations. Beyond the lobby was a small breakfast area.

We got up to our room, and no surprise, it was very SMALL. We had a king bed, and a sofabed. I had asked for a rollaway bed as well, not knowing the size of the room on the internet, and was astonished that they gave me one. Because where on earth would it fit? With the sofabed open you barely had room to squeeze by and go to the bathroom.

The room was very dark, there were not adequate plugs, and everything seemed very outdated.

I gazed longingly out the window at the brand spanking new Springhill Suites next door wondering why I didn't book a room there instead.

The only highlight of this hotel is that the bed was very comfortable. I mean like a 9 out of 10 comfortable which to me is very important.

The breakfast was the same as any lower end chain hotel. Run of the mill pastries, some cereal, and some add water powdered eggs. Icky "fruit".

I wouldn't stay here again...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eastwestmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lois G, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Scranton, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you very much for the time you took to review our hotel. Any and all feedback is greatly appreciated. We do apologize that your stay was not satisfactory. I would like you to know that the items that are within our control have been addressed (i.e. staff service). Unfortunately, some of the other items can not be fixed immediately. Once again, I do apologize that you did not find our hotel to be suiting to your needs. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

As other reviewers mention, this place has a very competitive rate, but when I see Marriott I expect more than what I got.

I travel regularly for work, and I've come to review hotels fairly liberally and always consider my review fair when it isn't positive.

The staff is very friendly! The hotel is conveniently located. Parking was great.

The room unfortunately is not up to my very reasonable standards. There was hair in the tub, mold underneath the soap shelf (you can see it if you're using the toilet), and the bathroom floor was dirty. I like the their choice of shampoo and conditioner.

The room has ONE easy access power outlet. If you travel for business, or have a family that enjoys even minimal technology I don't need to explain why this is an issue.

The beds are comfortable, the sheets are clean, but the a.c. isn't very great. I need my room to be cold for me to sleep comfortably, and the temp of the room is not easy to lower.

This is my first time staying in Scranton. Unless I find a different place in the area, I'll likely go back to diving to Lehigh Valley for a room.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank SedoneStars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lois G, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Scranton, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We greatly appreciate any and all feedback we can get. I am glad that you found our staff to be accomodating. I do apologize for the cleanliness and mechanical issues you experienced. I have brought the issues to the attention of my housekeeping and engineering staff. As mentioned, we do appreciate the feedback and can assure you these issues have been addressed. Thank you for your business with our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster County, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We spent two nights at the Scranton Fairfield while visiting family in the area. Our room was clean and comfortable, and it included a mini-fridge and microwave which are always nice to have when traveling. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast included a nice variety of hot and cold items, including fresh fruit. It was a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lois G, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Scranton, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you so much for the time you took to review our hotel. We greatly appreciate any and all feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that if you are in the area again to visit your family you to decide to stay with us again. Thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed one night and enjoyed the stay. The pool was great, the breakfast had a great variety. We needed extra towels and had no problem getting them. We also got a roll-away, which was found to be uncomfortable. We managed with placing the pillows on the mattress to make it more tolerable. Aside from that, we had no complaints. We would stay again;

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank threemstotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lois G, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Scranton, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here. I would like to apologize about the comfort level of the rollaway. We will be happy to welcome you back next time you are in the Scranton area. Thank you for your business with our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Our rooms had king size beds as requested and the sofa bed was a nice bonus. Everyone working at The Scranton Faifield Inn was more than helpful and seemed happy at their jobs. Breakfast was included and was better than expected, including hot food as well as cold and was well-maintained by the staff. The location was good for our purposes and they have a real nice indoor pool open 17 hours a day!

Room Tip: Larger rooms are a good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lois G, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Scranton, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We greatly appreciate any and all comments. I am glad you found our staff to be accomodating and glad you enjoyed the room type and breakfast. We hope that if you are ever in the Scranton area again that you will decide to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you for your business with our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scranton
3.4 mi away
Hilton Scranton & Conference Center
6.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Scranton at Montage Mountain
6.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 10 in Scranton
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Dickson City/Scranton
4.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Scranton
3.4 mi away
Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn Scranton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Scranton

Property: Fairfield Inn Scranton
Address: 949 Viewmont Dr, Scranton, PA 18519-1663
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Scranton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Scranton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Scranton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scranton Fairfield Inn by Marriott welcomes you with excellent amenities and always-friendly service with a smile. We're conveniently located, within miles of major highways and over 50 restaurants, shops, and other attractions. Business travelers have made us one of the go-to hotels in the Scranton, PA area for our close proximity to the Oil and Gas region, major healthcare facilities such as CHS, Alliance Global, TMG, Geisinger and other major companies! Likewise, leisure guests love to stay at Scranton Fairfield Inn for a convenient rest near popular attractions: NBC's "The Office" Tour, Viewmont Mall, Steamtown National Historic Site and Mohegan Sun Casino. When you're ready to relax, do so in our spacious rooms complete with luxury bedding, free Wi-Fi and premium Satellite channels on 32" flat screen TVs. Start each morning with our newly expanded free hot breakfast, now featuring scrambled eggs, sausage, fresh fruit, Dannon yogurt and more. You'll also enjoy an indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairfield Inn Scranton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scranton Fairfield Hotel Dickson City
Fairfield Dickson City
Fairfield Inn Dickson City
Scranton Fairfield Inn
Dickson City Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing