We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Can't Recommend” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Scranton
North Wales, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Can't Recommend”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

On the plus side, the room was clean and the staff was helpful but the facility needs an entire renovation. The side door to the rooms never locked and could be a safety issue. The price was right but spend a little more money on a nicer facility.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    17
    21
    21
    50
See reviews for
34
23
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the econo lodge for 1 night as a passerby on my way to NYC from Buffalo. As it was the cheapest around, I was surprised to the comfort and cleainess of the room. The front reception was very friendly and helpful. The room was very decent and its in a good area, close to all the restaurants and gas stations. Overall, very pleased with my night stay there.
Exceeded expectations.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Kais E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

This hotel is a hot mess. The advertisement is complete and total nonsense. There is no operating restaurant at this hotel. If you count the counter they have in the morning with prewrapped muffins and orange juice then maybe you will be happy. The pool bar roof is collapsed and caved in, the pool is empty. You won't feel safe as none of the exterior doors to the hotel lock. If you are lucky enough to be in the rear building, you'll have the joy of seeing the old pool showers exposed with their doors ripped off and covered in mold. Be careful when you pull in also, the lot hasn't been paved in what looks to be 10 or 15 years and is riddled with car swallowing pot holes. This place shouldn't have the EconoLodge name but, it does. My shower had hairs in it and dead spiders on the floor, there were dog droppings in the hall by the lobby when I came in. It is pet friendly so I guess I shouldn't complain about that.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms, access isn't locked, doors are always slamming, prostitution seems to r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beckrich1712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scranton hotels

Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

The other reviews are extremely accurate, minus the ones clearly written by the hotel's management. Smell was overwhelming. Far from a safe environment with no lighting and no security. Door felt like a three year old could kick it open and one probably did. Punch holes in the doors. The only exterior door that's every locked is apparently to the lobby to protect the staff at night, but forget about the guests. Loud slamming could be heard throughout the night. Found a condom wrapper outside my room after the first night. Several burn marks were found on the blanket. The paint was peeling. No ventilation in the bathroom. Toilet barely flushed and spit water back up. Ceiling tiles in the bathroom were moldy and water stained. The A/C system worked but was incredibly loud.

All in all, if you're looking for a some sort of cheap thrill to experience what it's like to stay in a hotel that resembles something you would see in an a theatrical exaggeration, this is the place for you. If you want to bring your family along, at least bring a firearm along with you. Oh, and you probably want to bring some heavy duty disinfectant (its been almost a week and I'm still itching). Seriously, I've stayed at some pretty crappy hotels and had some pretty crazy experiences, but I have absolutely never seen anything like this in anything but a movie. I didn't bother making a single complaint, because I figured the management and staff were either delusional or apathetic. I did notice that a significant portion of the staff was Indian, so maybe they're trying for a Mumbai slum motif. Spend the extra fifteen dollars and stay someplace where you won't be afraid to take your shoes off, and you'll get more than two to three hours of sleep.

Room Tip: Find a room at a different hotel. Bring your own security devices. Be prepared to secure your own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BucksConstable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butler PA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

Overnight stay on our way to Maine. There was a winter storm and didn't want to cross the poconos in the dark with the snow. So this was a last minute decision. Used my smart phone to find the nearest and cheapest. Check in was fast and efficient I did not have a reservation.
Hallways were somewhat dark easily noticed peeling wall paper in multiple areas. Our room had a
door that didn't latch correctly had to carefully pull shut for it to latch slamming wouldn't work :).
Room was actually very large. Slept about 7 hours then left at sunrise. Hotel needs renovation
but as a place to crash its fine just keep expectations low.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

I usually don't write reviews but this was one of the worst hotels I've ever stayed at. The price was cheap but it was a big mistake. When I entered the hotel the smell was horrible. I climbed the stairs to a dark hallway with carpeting from the 70's. The room smelled like disinfectant. The bedspread had tons of burn marks (in a non-smoking room). The furniture and carpets were stained. The floor was filthy. The curtains were torn. There was no clock in the room when I ask for one I was told "no'. The towels were stained, the tv was 30 years old, the mini fridge and microwave made scary noises, the sink had no stopper. The property was a mess. I had booked online without seeing it but am writing this review to save others from a bad experience.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colonial heights virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a bad location.rooms need to be updated .t.v.'s are way out of date.the free continental breakfast is a joke.its to be from 6a.m. to 9 a.m. the cups for juice is way to small.wifi is difficult to log in to.beds are uncomfortable bathroom to small.it is o.k if you are going to use it just to sleep.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bucksgirl03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scranton hotels
7.4 mi away
Days Inn Scranton PA
Days Inn Scranton PA
#8 of 10 in Scranton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 10 in Scranton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Scranton at Montage Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hilton Scranton & Conference Center
2.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Scranton
2.3 mi away
Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 1175 Kane St, Scranton, PA 18505-3670
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Scranton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Scranton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia and Choice Hotels so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Scranton
Econolodge Hotel Scranton
Econo Lodge Scranton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing