We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No rest for the weary!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Scranton
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“No rest for the weary!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We booked for one night as we were in town for a family member's funeral. When we came in after the funeral to check in, we hoped for a little time to relax and decompress. Unfortunately if your room is along the border of the lobby (we were on the 2nd floor) you will NOT have any peace and quiet if there's something going on downstairs IN the lobby. Even turning up the TV couldn't buffer the noise. I set out to get some ice and a soft drink but the ice maker was broken, no vending machine, and the area seemed shabby and unclean. A note to let me know where to go next would've been helpful.
The room...the furniture was scraped and worn, the chair at the desk was absolutely filthy, the duvet looked as though somebody might've just gotten up before we arrived, bathroom counters had a greasy film and you could see the "wipe marks", the hot/cold in the shower was reversed, the sink stopper was broken, the remote to the TV was falling apart and only limited features worked, the light coming thru the door illuminated our room all night due to the gaps the whole way around, the walls are PAPER thin....had to call front desk at two a.m. as the drunks next door were fighting and it sounded as if they were in OUR room.
The parking....okay, five dollars isn't much. We put our parking pass on. But in the morning there was broken beer glasses all over and I would surmise that if they were so concerned about people parking there that maybe weren't staying there that somebody would be on "parking lot detail" and then would see the glass and clean it up.
There is more, but I am drained by this experience and the fact that I haven't heard back from management after I sent an email is disappointing. Our cousins stayed at the Hilton across the way and had a lovely stay and paid quite a bit less than we did for a room with one queen bed. That is exactly where we will go for now on.
For a place that has had a multi million dollar renovation, I had assumed the accomodations would be parallel. Unfortunately, we found it sub par and seedy. Stop by and see the beautiful lobby, and have a drink or a bite to eat, but save your hard earned money and stay somewhere where they actually appreciate your business.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsfioriti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren P, Front Office Manager at Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for your review. We are terribly sorry to hear about your disappointing visit. I am troubled to hear about the cleanliness issues you encountered in your room, and I will be addressing this with my housekeeping team immediately. Additionally, I am sorry to hear that the event being hosted in the lobby was bothersome while trying to get some rest. We completely understand the importance of a clean, quiet environment when travelling, and I am truly sorry that this is not what you experienced. I assure you your comments have been heard, and will be addressed with the proper department heads so that we can ensure these items are never a problem moving forward. Thank you for providing us with the opportunity to improve our product and enhance our guest experience. We hope to be able to welcome you again and exceed all of your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    227
    174
    124
    94
See reviews for
322
242
53
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maplewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed here overnight on a trip up to the Thousand Islands. What a surprise it was.

Ok the hotel and rooms are definitely older.

However the view over the town is a nice one and the service was lovely. Whilst the hotel is not next to the main mall or bus station, they are within easy walking distance. The building is beautiful!

There happened to be fireworks in Scranton that night and the staff told us about them and purposely gave us a room with a view of them.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bianca07040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren P, Front Office Manager at Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review! We're so glad that you found the hotel to be convenient, right in the heart of beautiful downtown Scranton, and that you enjoyed the gorgeous building that we have. I'm thrilled to see that the staff was able to place you in a room where you were able to view the fireworks taking place downtown. So many of our rooms boast incredible views of the city, and we're glad you were able to enjoy it! We hope to welcome you again should your travels bring you back to Scranton!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Plains, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Beautiful historic building and a fabulous place for a wedding! However, the front desk and the cleaning crew need to take a refresher course. Rooms need to be re decorated and updated! Waite staff and wedding staff were fabulous to deal with! I believe management needs to pay attention before they ruin beautiful historic building.I was at a wedding here last weekend in March
2014. Venue was perfect...management needs to pay attention to reviews and take appropriate actions!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank bella241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren P, Front Office Manager at Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay. I can assure you that every guest comment is thoroughly reviewed and addressed by our management staff, whether via direct guest interaction, satisfaction surveys, or review sites such as trip advisor. It is through the experiences of our guests that we are able to address issues and continuously improve our product and service. I assure you that the situation you are experienced on your visit this weekend was an isolated one and has been addressed and corrected. This is not typical of an experience at our property, and we apologize for the inconvenience. That being said, we are delighted that you enjoyed the wedding, and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future so that we can meet and exceed all of your expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scranton hotels

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed here Thanksgiving weekend. The rooms were nice and everything worked fine, but we are relatively easy-going people. Lobby area definitely needs renovation. We priceline bid booked the room so got a very good price which made it worth it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mmgpnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel is an old train station. Runs are nice though decor its sparse. Staff is nice and beds are comfortable. It can be loud when they hold large events.

There are two in house options for food. The restaurant is top notch with great buffets that are usually worth the price. The bar in the back is good too. Good there is good as well though the menu its more limited. There are lots of Orion outside that are an easy walk.

Transportation service to and from the airport are good. Overall an excellent choice. Only a few improvements in the room comfort and tv service would make it better.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank crjdrv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren P, Front Office Manager at Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you so much for your thorough review! We are glad that you enjoyed the historic nature of our beautiful property, as well as our award winning restaurants. We appreciate your time and your comments, and hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Constantia, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

You'll be happy to be stuck here if you have a delayed flight.

First of all, this historical property is breathtaking! The location is perfect; directly in Scranton, but not to loud, or hard to get to. Its also right off the highway, and they have an excellent complimentary hotel shuttle. The food.... WOW, simply amazing, and I'm pretty picky! They have a great fitness center, with a sauna as well.

The rooms have PLENTY of outlets, and updated amenities, contrary to what you may think! The staff truly think of everything.

Overall, this place is perfect from business, to family, to couples, to anyone who needs a little 'getaway' without hurting their wallets! Stay here - you will not regret it!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren P, Front Office Manager at Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Sarah,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at The Radisson Lackawanna Station. While we are sorry to hear that your flight was delayed, and you were unable to fly out when planned, we are thrilled that we were able to alleviate any of the stress that comes with travelling! Our guest's experience is our number one priority, and we thank you for recognizing how important your comfort is to us. We're so glad that you were able to utilize all the services we provide, as well as enjoy our fantastic restaurants. Overall, we're glad you got 'stuck' with us, and hope you'll come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menomonie, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

My fiancé and I really enjoyed our stay! The only complaint we had is that the music in the bar was so loud, we didn't stay to eat there and went across the street. I could hear the music in our room as well making it hard to fall asleep. Overall great experience though! Music just needs to be taken down a bit for those with important meetings in the morning.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren P, Front Office Manager at Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Sarah,

Thank you for your review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit, but apologize that you were inconvenienced in anyway by the entertainment in Trax. I will personally address this with our Bar Manager to ensure that our weekend entertainment is kept at an appropriate noise level for the comfort and enjoyment of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scranton hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Scranton & Conference Center
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Scranton at Montage Mountain
0.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Scranton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 10 in Scranton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
5.1 mi away
Days Inn Scranton PA
Days Inn Scranton PA
#8 of 10 in Scranton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
3.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn Scranton
Fairfield Inn Scranton
#5 of 10 in Scranton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton

Property: Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton
Address: 700 Lackawanna Ave, Scranton, PA 18503-1705
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Scranton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Scranton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored former D.L.& W rail station. Designed by Kenneth Murchison and dedicated by President Truesdale in 1908, this neo-classical French Renaissance structure is the gem of Scranton boasting 146 renovated guest rooms along with Carmen's 2.0 Restaurant, Trax Bar & Grille, and elegantly appointed modern Banquet and Event space. We also offer freshly brewed coffee along with 10 wines by-the-glass, specialty Italian desserts, and pastries in our Station Cafe located in the Grand Lobby. Our distinctively professional and qualified staff proudly offer a 24-hour Fitness Center, 24-hour Business Center, 24-Hour Security, Free in-room high speed wireless, and complimentary airport shuttle to/from Scranton/Wilkes Barre International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Scranton
Scranton Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing