We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in the mountains”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Scranton
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I'm not sure why so many people feel the need to be highly critical and negative when they write a review of a hotel or restaurant. Maybe they're just critics manque. Some of the recent reviews of the Radisson Lackawanna and its wonderful staff and restaurant are a case in point. My wife and I ate here years ago, had a wonderful experience, and returned just a few days ago to spend the night and enjoy a meal at the hotel restaurant in the main lobby. First of all, the staff was helpful and friendly from start to finish. Our room was clean, quiet, and reasonably priced. Once again we wandered the wonderfully restored lobby, admiring the fabulous tiled murals, marble pillars, and welcoming ambiance. Best of all, though, was the meal we enjoyed in the hotel restaurant. Due to the reviews, I was expecting to be either disappointed, at worst, or at best satisfied that the meal was not a total disaster. (We were also celebrating a wedding anniversary.) Much to our surprise and delight, we were simply astounded at how good our meal was, starting with the mushroom ravioli appetizer and then the perfectly done (make that terrifically accomplished) salmon entree. Our bottle of wine was nicely chilled and moderately priced. This magnificently restored hotel and lovely restaurant (breakfast was also great the next morning!) are an Appalachian gem. It's worth going out of your way for, and it deserves every one of its five stars. -Pat and Jack from NYC

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren P, Front Office Manager at Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Your review was an absolute delight. Thank you for your time. All of the staff here at the Radisson Lackawanna Station are fully committed to an exceptional experience, and while there may be issues that arise, they are far from the norm, and unacceptable to our management staff. We are delighted at our experience and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,058)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

768 - 774 of 1,058 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

Walking up to and into the hotel was great. Beautiful landscaping and front entrance. The interior and lobby area had a lot of charm and elegance. It used to be an old train station apparently and you can tell from the layout. The checkin process was fast and easy. We were prepaid since we got a deal fron hotwire. So very straighr forward. When we got to the hotel room is when the disappointment started. Very unclean bed and dirty sheets. Had to ask them to re-clean the room. When the hotel staff got there she even agreed that it was dirty and immediately started stripping the beds. The rooms were spacious however. In terms of location...there were a few things close by and it was a short drive to a mall.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoingSouth78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren P, Front Office Manager at Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Thank you so much for visiting our property and writing your review. I am glad to see that you enjoyed our spectacular building. I sincerely apologize for the concerns you raised about the cleanliness of your bedding, and will address your comments with our new Executive Housekeeper to ensure this is never an issue going forward. We hope to have the opportunity to "wow" you on your next visit to Scranton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I've stayed at this radisson several times (company selected) and never look forward to it. The hotel is located within walking distance of numerous attractions which is nice since it's not a pleasure to stay in the room. The lobby and building it's self is beautiful but that's where it ends. Every rm I've been in has a very dated and worn look and feel, furnishing are very tired. Bathroom linens were very nice, thick towels and soft,bath soaps and shampoo was nice as well.King bed was nice and comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank david g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We arrived at the hotel at 7 pm and were impressed by the gorgeous lobby. Less impressive was the fact that even though check in was listed as 3 pm, our room wasn't ready. You drive three hours and get to wait in the lobby. One of the desk staff was kind enough to give us free drink tickets so we went to the Trax lounge, but nobody would even acknowledge us, much less serve us. We went to Trax three times and left twice because of the terrible service. We went for an early dinner Saturday and sat right across from the cash register at the bar, there were several servers standing there and NOT ONE acknowledged us. After about five minutes they realized we weren't leaving so one of them grudgingly waited on us. I've never experienced such poor service. It was as though the staff thought they were too good to have to serve you - especially the women.

The rooms were extremely small but yet fairly empty, as if they don't have enough furniture to go around. And while Expedia mentions they charge you for a refrigerator or microwave, the do not tell you that they charge for parking - I found out by reading other reviews. Very sneaky. And parking was not easy to come by. The lot fills up early.

Only decaf coffee in the room - had to call and go down to front desk at 6:00 am for regular coffee. Not to mention I've never been to a high end hotel that doesn't have a complimentary coffee bar and newspaper.

The beds were comfortable and the hot water/water pressure was great - those were the best aspects of the room. But not worth the money overall.

Next time we'll stay at the Hilton. The bad exceeded the good here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren P, Front Office Manager at Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to visit Trip Advisor and write your review. We are so sorry to hear about the wait for the guestroom you reserved, as well as for the service you received in Trax Bar and Grill. I will address your comments with our Restaurant team immediately. We fully understand the importance of a welcoming environment when you travel, and this is certainly uncharacteristic of our staff. We hope you give us a chance to provide that experience on your next visit to Scranton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The service at the desk was terrible. The room was too small for the money. The service in the grill restaurant was horrible. Paying for parking so not good. Be aware your have to pay for microwave and refrigerator. No one could provide a good place to eat in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Buby Dorothy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren P, Front Office Manager at Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for your thoughtful review. I am disheartened to see that your visit was disappointing and the service you received from our staff not welcoming. This is very uncharacteristic of our staff, and I will address your concerns immediately. I truly believe this to be an isolated situation, and terribly sorry for any inconvenience. I assure you our staff is committed to a level of unparalleled service, and I am terribly sorry to see that you were not provided a true example of this during your stay. We would hope to welcome you back again in the future to offer you the true Radisson Lackawanna Station experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We either stay in Radisson or The Hilton when we visit family in Scranton. It's a beautiful building & lobby. The front office staff was very efficient on check in-check out. However, the blackout curtains didn't work perfectly and the shade in the bathroom in our room was not adjustable. The room was large and clean, wifi worked well. It has a beautiful view of the city and the soccer field. We've got an upgrade and a gift on arrival as a Carlson Club member. They didn't clean our room on time but they made it up with a bottle of wine and a very nice note from Front Office. The housekeeping supervisor was extremely accommodating as I lost my purse and she tried to find it in the room and keeping us informed. The staff member went above and beyond the call of duty.

We tried Sunday brunch in the past and it was really good but it was a major disappointed when we had a lunch buffet on our last stay. Roast beef was bland and there was not many choices. The buffet staff was very kind and courteous.

We definitely will come back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank surfnskate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren P, Front Office Manager at Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

We are so glad that you decided to visit us again on your visit to Scranton, and are sorry to hear about the 'hiccup' in service, but delighted to hear that our staff went out of their way to show their apologies and address the concern. We thank you for your comments about our lunch buffet, and will certainly share your experience with our Chef. This is definitely not a typical experience in our restaurants, and I will be glad to share your concerns. We hope to have you back again soon for another wonderful visit, and next time, we hope you can stay for Sunday Brunch!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Beautiful hotel, great history, amazing employees who are undoubtedly dedicated to your feelings. In spite of obvious unexpected issues which no one planned of course. Every Staff Member We Encountered Did Everything They Could To Treat Us With Respect And Offer Apologies. And all with a positive attitude.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean31new
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren P, Front Office Manager at Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you so much for your time, your business, and your review. We are so glad to see that the staff impacted your visit with their absolute commitment to our guests. We appreciate your understanding of any unexpected and uncontrollable events that may have impacted your stay, but are overjoyed to hear that the staff was there for you, and provided a memorable experience of our historical property. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scranton
0.1 mi away
Hilton Scranton & Conference Center
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Scranton at Montage Mountain
0.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Scranton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 10 in Scranton
414 reviews
5.1 mi away
Days Inn Scranton PA
Days Inn Scranton PA
#8 of 10 in Scranton
643 reviews
3.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Dickson City/Scranton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton

Address: 700 Lackawanna Ave, Scranton, PA 18503-1705
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Scranton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Scranton
Price Range: £88 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored former D.L.& W rail station. Designed by Kenneth Murchison and dedicated by President Truesdale in 1908, this neo-classical French Renaissance structure is the gem of Scranton boasting 146 renovated guest rooms along with Carmen's 2.0 Restaurant, Trax Bar & Grille, and elegantly appointed modern Banquet and Event space. We also offer freshly brewed coffee along with 10 wines by-the-glass, specialty Italian desserts, and pastries in our Station Cafe located in the Grand Lobby. Our distinctively professional and qualified staff proudly offer a 24-hour Fitness Center, 24-hour Business Center, 24-Hour Security, Free in-room high speed wireless, and complimentary airport shuttle to/from Scranton/Wilkes Barre International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Scranton
Scranton Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing