We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(Scranton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites(Scranton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Dunmore)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,145)
Filter reviews
1,145 results
Traveller rating
424
270
211
134
106
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
424
270
211
134
106
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshistoric buildingstained glasstrax barbeautiful hotellobby restaurantbeautiful lobbymain lobbyscranton areamarbleconvertedbrunchrailroadgrandeurrestorationuniversityera
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
806 - 811 of 1,145 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2014

My husband and I were looking for a nicer hotel to stay overnight - just for a quick getaway without the kids. We were planning on doing some activities (shooting, etc) near the Poconos, but were not happy with the hotel options in that area. So, we expanded our search and landed at this hotel in Scranton. We had a room with a whirlpool tub and king size bed. The room was clean, stocked appropriately and was cozy yet spacious. We definitely made the wise choice of staying here than at a Days Inn or similar. My husband travels a lot for work, and has been in his fair share of fancy hotels like the Ritz to downright dumps, like an unnamed place in El Paso. This hotel was nice enough to enjoy the time away without spending a fortune. We had breakfast at the restaurant downstairs at Carmen's 2.0 (see review for that) and it was delicious.

Pros:
-Reasonably priced semi-luxury accomodations
-Bed was comfy and linens were fresh
-Only $5 to park
-No bodies under the bed

Cons:
-University of Scranton is directly behind the hotel...the town seems dead when school is out
-Not much to do around the area
-Free Wifi was slow and annoying

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly to check availability of rooms with whirlpool tubs. I didn't see any listed online but was given many options once I called.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ShellyPonch17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren P, Front Office Manager at Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

We're so glad that you and your husband chose to stay with us for your night away! We know that these special nights can be few and far between, and on behalf of the entire staff here at the Radisson Lackawanna Station, we're thrilled to have had you with us. A night in one of our whirlpool rooms and breakfast in our award winning Carmen's restaurant seems like a great way to spend the night, and we hope you'll be able to find time for another date night with us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel, a renovated train station, was beautiful and very impressive from the moment we walked in the door! The lobby is amazing! Then, we got into our room and everything changed. We arrived late and exhausted. We thought we had adjusted the air so the room would cool down, but it never did and we roasted all night long. The next morning, we realized the room was not only dated and hot, but dirty. There was mold all over the bottom of the shower curtain and a used bandaid behind the nightstand. We were happy to leave!

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Mompugz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren P, Front Office Manager at Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for your comments, and your thoughtful review. We are happy to see that you enjoyed our magnificent lobby, but disappointed to hear about the issues you encountered with your guestroom. I have pulled our reports, and I found the issues you mentioned at checkout, and while I have spoken with both Engineering and Housekeeping regarding your comments, and they have been properly addressed and corrected, I want to apologize for the disappointing experience you had because of these issues. We truly appreciate your time and business, and hope to welcome you back in the future to meet and exceed all expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Housekeeping was missing in action even though we were out of the room from 9a.m. --4. Carpet was filthy as if it had not been vacuumed. Restaurant was over-priced in view of food selections and presentations. Although it is a beautiful old building with a great lobby and dining room (the old station waiting room), it was very difficult to access the entrance for elderly individuals. The door person was not attentive to assisting. The buffet was over priced. The Station Café and the Trax bar provided nice options in terms of ambiance.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels
2  Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren P, Front Office Manager at Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay. We are so sorry to hear that your room was not serviced by our housekeeping staff in a timely manner. We certainly understand your frustration at this oversight, and I will address this with our staff immediately. I truly apologize for the inconvenience, but hope that should your travels bring you back to Scranton, you give us the opportunity to provide you with the exceptional service we pride ourselves on here at the Lackawanna Station.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Close to Tobyhanna (only about a 25 minute drive to the depot), nice train station atmosphere in the hotel lobby, fantastic breakfast in the lobby, wonderful service, nice area to walk around the hotel, very nice rooms and Radisson has one of the most rewarding hotel point programs

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels
Thank NJCowboyVito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren P, Front Office Manager at Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, as well as our incredible breakfast, served daily in Carmen's 2.0 restaurant. We're so happy to hear that you enjoy all of the perks that come with the Club Carlson membership, and hope you have the opportunity to explore the many wonderful Carlson hotels in our chain, and of course, hope you'll come back to us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Nice stop over in Scranton, PA. Old train station transformed into 4 star Radisson hotel. Nice rooms, spacious bathroom with amenities, two restaurants and a Starbucks coffe shop in the lobby. Clean and fast service. If you come from Brazil there's even a brazilian girl working there.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank Jeanpeter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren P, Front Office Manager at Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

We're so glad that you enjoyed your stop with us in Scranton. It was our pleasure to serve you, and hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews