We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a little old coffee shop”
Review of City Cafe

City Cafe
Ranked #26 of 429 Restaurants in Murfreesboro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$12
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: In business since 1900, the City Cafe experience is like stepping back in time to the days of the hometown diner--the place where you knew everyone and they knew you. Good food, great service and friendly people combined with good value for your money left you with a smile on your face. Breakfast was always hot and fresh and included all your favorites--like eggs, grits, bacon, country ham, or omelets filled with anything you could want. Homemade desserts, real ice cream milkshakes, and hand-patted burgers were just some of the treats that awaited, and that plate lunch with Fried Chicken, Homemade Meatloaf, and side dishes that reminded you of Sunday Dinner at Grandma's house. If you miss that kind of place, or if you've never experienced it, you don't have to have a time machine to go back and do so. Just get in whatever mode of transportation you have and then . . . Come see us!
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
236 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Just a little old coffee shop”
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

A good little place for a simple tasty meal and a trip back in time. I wish every town had one of these. Nothing fancy but satisfying in a way a chain can never be.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CelineSoCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    31
    14
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
126 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice breakfast ”
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Good old fashion small town cafe. At just over 100 years old, they've got it down to a science! We had breakfast there and I got The Lawyer Breakfast with biscuits. Yum!

Helpful?
Thank TRM59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston Springs, Tennessee
Level Contributor
1,175 reviews
1,169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 352 helpful votes
“Classic Cafe”
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Murfreesboro is not a small town, this cafe has the feel of one. I was greeted warmly upon entering and waited on promptly. I ordered and my food came quickly. My meal was very good and prices are more than reasonable. I look forward to a return visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 4bird1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great Meat & 3!”
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Great selection, including daily specials, of Southern home cooking. The homemade rolls are excellent. Save room for a piece of fudge pie, then take a walk around the square to burn some of it off. Great food and service at a very reasonable price.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Koda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, Tennessee
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“City Cafe on The Square”
Reviewed 14 August 2012

My daughter and I went to the City Cafe on a Saturday morning for breakfast before going to the Saturday Market across the street. The service was great and the omlets were delecious. We enjoyed the home town atmosphere very much.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank grich11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed City Cafe also viewed

 
Murfreesboro, TN
 
Murfreesboro, TN
Murfreesboro, TN
 

Been to City Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing