We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth our time”

Walnut Canyon National Monument
Ranked #1 of 104 things to do in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: See millions of years of history unraveled in the geology of the rocks at this popular scenic and historic hiking area, once populated by the Sinagua Indians.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Well worth our time”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Couldn't have been better conditions...clear, temp in the mid-hi 60's, very few people. Lots of steps (240) down...and back up...to the cliff dwellings you can view and enter, but lots of level walking and frequent resting places. The trail was under some resconstruction so we couldn't go all around the island trail, but that didn't detract from the experience. Scenery was great. The more we looked at the canyon wall, the more dwellings we spotted.

Nice view from the rim trail, but take the island trail if you can. I'd visit this place again.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,836 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,331
    432
    67
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A must see in Flagstaff.”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

The canyon has actual cave dwellings where the native people lived 1000 years ago. I recommend the guided tours they have throughout the summer. The hike is good for most members of the family, we noticed some older people struggling up the stairs on the way out of the canyon. There are also fantastic views. You can easily make this a full day trip or combine it with the Meteor Crater and end the day at the Lowell Observatory.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dustin_8M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
224 reviews
127 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Neat, Nice Walk”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Walnut Canyon National Monument is very close to the city of Flagstaff and well worth the time if you have an hour to spare.

Once you get into the visitor center and pay the $5 admission per person, you are welcomed to do a trail on "the island" in Walnut Canyon.

The trail is quite lovely, takes about 45 minutes roundtrip, though has a lot of stairs. During the trail you see the canyon, cliff dwellings across the canyon, and cliff dwellings right along the trail. You are allowed to enter some of these dwellings which are pretty cool. After you see the dwellings on the trail you turn around (part of the loop was closed for winter for maintenance) you get to go back up the stairs that you came down from. They are not the easiest stairs, but not extremely difficult (though we did see a family of parents and 2 teenagers struggling and complaining on our way back). They really weren't that bad and don't let the stairs be the reason you don't want to visit!

Lastly, the ranger at the counter was extremely nice. While my group went to the bathroom we had a brief conversation with me about the area and what to expect.

Be aware that no one is allowed to enter the trail after 4pm (they close to 5). The doors to the trail are locked (one-way) at 4 on the dot. The parking lot closes at 5.

Also, it was the first week of December when we went and it was quite cold. There was a lot of fog on the drive over and there was snow throughout the trail.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Worth the steps!”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The cliff dwellings were very interesting. The walk is self-guided, but we were lucky that a volunteer was there to explain a lot of extra features. There are over 200 steps (one way!), but the descent into the canyon and back in time are well worth it!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
105 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very Cool!”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I went here in the summer time. I would recommend going when the weather is a bit cooler because there are a fair amount of stairs. What is really cool that you are able to go into the ruins and also ther is a guide on the trail head to answer any questions you might have.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Walnut Canyon National Monument also viewed

 

Been to Walnut Canyon National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing