We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wupatki National Monument

Wupatki National Monument
Book In Advance
More Info
US$741.39*
and up
Private Grand Canyon Complete Tour with Ancient ruins and lava field
Ranked #2 of 100 things to do in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore this fascinating ancient pueblo, located near the San Francisco Peaks, which once housed almost 100 members of the Anasazi and Sinagua tribes.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

I loved going on the off-beaten path to see so many diverse mineral and rock formations. Just sitting on the top of an 800 year-old ruin and experiencing the panoramic view was such a wonderful moment. I recommend taking the road less traveled.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 257Amanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    854
    396
    68
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect stop on the way to the Great Hole in the Ground”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

It takes a while to get to the Grand Canyon. It's not Disneyland. There are two ways from Flagstaff and it takes time, so what better way to get a real high plateau experience than Wupatki. It is open and arid. Rarely, are there many people and you get a sense of what is had been like back in the day. We have been there before sunset which is when it closes. So beautiful. Remember not far away is the Painted Desert so the colors when the sun goes down are amazing. As well, it is so quiet. I grew up in the desert. It is one of the best things about it: the quiet. That being said traveling with a bunch of little kids might not be the best. As well, many places to buy local jewelry from the indigenous tribes. It's not my thing, but I am well trained and know we will be stopping there.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank rosie3losangeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

The ruins are all easily accessible. The one behind the visitors center is the largest. Do NOT miss the blow hole! Make sure you go down to the ball court and beyond. This is definitely a must see!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Beatrice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
479 reviews
193 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Interesting Indian ruins”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Wupatki National Monument consists of five pueblo ruins spread out over a desert landscape. All five pueblos are less than 1/4 mile from the road that goes through the park.

The largest pueblo is behind the visitor's center, which has a small museum. This pueblo has dozens of rooms and a well-preserved ballcourt. You get a printed guide with numbered stops corresponding to posts around the ruins that provides information about different rooms and areas of the pueblo.

The other four pueblos are much smaller (1-3 rooms) and mostly less well-preserved (some are little more than stone foundations). The ruins themselves are not very impressive, as they are mostly rubble or 1-2 story high walls with dirt floors and no ceilings. There aren't any artifacts in them, they don't have any artwork, and are just designed as functional dwellings. What is cool about the monument is being able to see how people actually lived in this remote and desolate environment. All of the pueblos offer stunning views of the surrounding landscape, too.

Admission is only $5 (and admission to Wutpaki is good for admission to neighboring Sunset Crater), though there isn't much to see other than the main pueblo and the view from the "Citadel" pueblo. Still, Wutpaki is worth seeing because it's interesting, it's inexpensive, it's easily accessible from Flagstaff, and you can see everything here in an hour or two.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Brendan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
139 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Loved it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

My son and I loved the windy roads to stop at each of these ruins. It was a fun little drive and the structures were great. We really had a lot of fun visiting here and Sunset Crater.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wupatki National Monument also viewed

 

Been to Wupatki National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing