We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of Flagstaff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Starlight Pines B&B
Ranked #3 of 11 Flagstaff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Durango, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best of Flagstaff!”
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Our visit this fall was the best! What an incredible place to stay. If you want a classy place, the starlight pines is it! The breakfast was wonderful and you won't find better hosts than Richard and Micheal. We simply loved it

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MountainMan900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    9
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
20
115
19
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenbush, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

The host with the most (Richard) was very helpful sorting out our exploration of the area. Large, sunny rooms with big comfortable beds made the stay very pleasant. Wonderful antiques all over the place, if you like that stuff. Immaculately clean. There was a large victorian sitting room for those non-outside folks. But hey, you are in Flagstaff, so you better be outside. Gourmet breakfast with plenty to eat.

Room Tip: Ask your host for a tour of rooms. Good photo section on their website
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urspo
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2012

The Innkeepers continue to run a splendid place. Richard is so amiable; he had a fire going and sat with the guests who wished to talk. Breakfast is both artistic and delicious. I get some of my best sleeps at this place. The front porch swing remains one of my favorite places on Earth.

Only disappointment?: I miss the train whistles which were once in the distance (so soothing!).

Room Tip: one room is on the main floor (no stairs); one room has a fireplace; another has a balcony to the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Urspo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happy Jack, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We took an impromptu overnight vacation to Flagstaff and arrived in town without a reservation. We had always wanted to go to a Bed & Breakfast, so when I started to make calls to check availability, my naivete showed. The first B&B I talked to told me that B&Bs are usually booked a month or two in advance, but he knew that the Starlight Pines might still have one room available. That gentleman also served as Flagstaff's B&B Ambassador by telling me that the tax rates for hotels in Flagstaff is 14%, while the B&B rate is 3%. That was super information to know as we were trying to make a decision on where to stay.

I immediately called Richard at the Starlight Pines B&B, and yes, he actually had two rooms available because of a last-minute cancellation. We headed over immediately.

Richard had us at "hello"! What a warm, welcoming man he is! Not having had a B&B experience before ("B&B virgins," as Richard called us), we didn't know what to expect. But how wonderful to feel as if we were being welcomed into someone's home! We took a walk through the beautiful home. I think Richard said it was built 16 years ago, but it's a replica of a Victorian home. Beautiful porch. Beautiful decor. Very, very clean. A kitchen to die for.

Richard asked what we planned to do while we were in town, and we mentioned that we wanted to go to the Lowell Observatory. He disappeared for about 20 seconds and came back with two discount coupons for the observatory! What nice service!

He told us that breakfast (souffle) would be served at 8:30am. Because I am recovering from breast cancer treatment and still moving pretty slowly, we told him we would forgo breakfast and sleep in.

We stayed in the Art Deco bedroom, which was just wonderful. We told Richard the next morning that our only learning was that we should have opened the window in the bedroom to let the cool evening breeze in before we went into town. That would have made the room temperature much more pleasant for us (we love a cold room to sleep in). We won't make that mistake next time! We're from Phoenix, so we love cool weather!

The bedroom was immaculate, and it has an attached bathroom. Claw-foot tub, beautiful antique fixtures and furniture. Again, very, very clean. We were entirely comfortable there.

One side note: Richard has two beautiful small dogs that had been very well behaved when we arrived. When we returned from dinner in town at about 10:30pm, we used our guest key to get into the home. We laughed because those two pups were sacked out on their beds in the foyer and didn't open their eyes when we came into the house! They're obviously used to folks they don't know coming and going. GREAT B&B dogs!

Sure enough, we got rolling well after the 8:30am breakfast, but Richard greeted us with an offer of coffee and a beautiful fruit bowl, which he made on the fly. Given that we had declined his regular breakfast fare (which sounded so yummy), we were so touched that he would drop everything to create those beautiful and delicious fruit bowls for us.

We are definitely going to return to the Starlight Pines B&B. Don't hesitate to make a reservation here. You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: For those with disabilities or trouble with stairs, there is a beautiful downstairs room with a king...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HappyJackLodge-Owner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2012

the rooms are beautifully decorated, each with their own bathroom. the breakfast was amazing, Richard, the host is friendly and knowledgable and made me feel like I was at home. Clean and beautiful! I was most impressed and would highly recommend this B&B

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gracey50777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
starlightpinesbb, Owner at Starlight Pines B&B, responded to this review, 9 September 2012
Thank you, so much, for staying here with us and also for taking the time to write a review for Starlight Pines. It was a pleasure to meet you, even though it was a short stay. Sincerely, Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, NM
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

How often do you pick your destination based on a B&B? We do! We've gotten to know Flagstaff, AZ, and its wonderful environs because we love staying at Starlight Pines Bed and Breakfast. We've visited the Grand Canyon (North and South Rims), toured ancient ruins, hiked the San Francisco Peaks, visited Sedona, strolled and eaten in downtown Flagstaff (just a few minutes away), and never have had a boring trip to this lovely small city. But the best part of each stay always centers on Starlight Pines, where the hosts, Richard and Michael, make us feel like we are in an extension of our own home (only cleaner). We've stayed in each of the four bedrooms and like them all. Breakfast is served in the inviting dining room and it's always delicious and just the right amount: expect your day to be energized, not overburdened, by these perfectly proportioned meals. Conversation is never lacking as the fellow guests have been stimulating, and our hosts are experts at guiding their guests into delightful, sometimes hilarious, evenings in the living room or on the spacious front porch. Retiring to your well-appointed room with its relax-to-the-bone comfortable bed and, perhaps, a giant claw foot tub instills the peace and calm that one truly hopes to find while on vacation. Starlight Pines exemplifies everything a great B&B should be.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
starlightpinesbb, Owner at Starlight Pines B&B, responded to this review, 9 September 2012
Thank you two so much for your review and for staying with us. It is ALWAYS a pleasure to see you both and catch up on what is new in your lives! Until next time.... Richard & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Made a weekend getaway from the hot valley(s) of Tucson (and Phoenix) to the cooler pines of Flagstaff -- lucky for us, the B&B where we've stayed before was booked and we decided to try out Starlight Pines instead.

Gracious and welcoming host, Richard, made us feel right at home immediately. The rooms have just the right amount of period pieces -- it's a relatively new property (built in the 1990s) with decor and architecture more in tune with the 1890s.

Breakfasts were scrumptious and filling, keeping us energized all day without having to interrupt our busy schedule. (We really liked the smiley fruit faces that greeted us Sunday morning.)

Helpful hosts with lots of local knowledge kept us right on track. Interesting fellow guests to meet and greet over breakfast -- lots of shared experiences.

While it isn't in the center of town, and there is a little bit of train whistle noise, it's not in the least bit obnoxious -- and after all, Flagstaff isn't THAT big -- we weren't more than five to ten minutes away from whatever we wanted to do.

Thanks for a wonderful weekend getaway!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindenCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
starlightpinesbb, Owner at Starlight Pines B&B, responded to this review, 9 September 2012
Hello! It was great to meet you and your partner in crime, lol.... Thank you so very much for taking the time to write a review too! We do try so very hard to offer the right amount of portions for breakfast...(thanks for sharing a recipe too!) I do sincerely hope to host you two again! Until then, take care! Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
2.4 mi away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
1.3 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff
3.6 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites
4.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Flagstaff
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starlight Pines B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starlight Pines B&B

Property: Starlight Pines B&B
Address: 3380 E Lockett Rd, Flagstaff, AZ 86004-4039
Region: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Starlight Pines B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Starlight Pines B/B in Flagstaff is a top ten B/B in the State of Arizona. Lily Room has private balcony with magnificent view of Mt Elden! Dragonfly has wood-burning fireplace! All rooms have Tiffany lamps and private baths. Folks use our B/B as a home base to see the Grand Canyon, Sedona and many other area attractions within a 2 hour ride! Plan 3 days in Flagstaff to see everything there is to see in Northern Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Starlight Pines B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starlight Pines B&B Flagstaff, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing