We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Starlight Pines B&B
Ranked #3 of 12 Flagstaff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2008

We stayed at the Starlight Pines for 3 nights during our tour of the SW USA during June 08. We used it as a base to visit the Grand Canyon and Sedona. We totally enjoyed our stay. The place is decorated to a high standard, very clean and the hosts, Micheal and Richard are welcoming. We had set our heart on staying in the Dragon Fly room but this was already taken when we booked our reservation. A few months before our stay we recieved a call from Richard saying that the Dragon Room had become available and we could stay in our preferred choice. Brilliant service to say they were calling us at home in the UK ! The Dragonfly room met our expectations- a bright and lovely decorated room and bathroom with tasteful furniture. Our hosts were very helpful and informative when we were planning our days out. Breakfast was served for all guests at 8.30am- home made 2 course breakfasts with a twist.
The guesthouse is located 3 miles out of the centre of Flagstaff but is on a bus route, and we were also able to get a taxi into town if we didn't want to drive.
As with a previous reviewer we are also suprised that no-one has made mention of the train noise. Freight trains pass through the town 24 hours a day and do cause something of a disturbance. We think that this would be a problem wherever you stay in Flagstaff as the town is built around the train line. Richard & Michael do provide ear plugs for the lighter sleepers! Whilst being noisy the trains would not put us off visiting Starlight Pines again.
We also appreciated the postcard that we recently received from Richard and Michael thanking us for our stay- a nice touch.

  • Liked — Decor
  • Disliked — Out of town location
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul_and_Lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    9
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
19
114
19
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
154 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2008

Nowhere in any review is there a mention of the incredibly awful train noise which goes on literally all night long. The Inn is very very close to the train that runs through the middle of town about every hour from 9PM til we left at 6AM. Plus the innkeepers were very rude to us when we arrived at 2PM instead of 4PM for check in. We spent ten nights of this trip in different B&Bs, and this was the first to hassle us about it; plus he answered the door while on the phone and did not even ackowledge my presence for several minutes. We weren't allowed an early check in or given a place to put our bags. After my experience at Starlight Pines, there is no doubt in my mind that many of the reviews posted are fake. There is absolutely no way that the train situation would not have been mentioned otherwise.

  • Liked — The location was good, the establishment was clean.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank vegaslamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
starlightpinesbb, Owners at Starlight Pines B&B, responded to this review, 30 July 2008
We are very sorry for the confusion in check-in time the afternoon of Sunday, June 29th. I really thought that with our 3 calls the night before, we were in agreement on the 4pm check-in.

As it happens, I was alone that afternoon - on the phone, consoling my Aunt - whose husband was recently diagnosed with cancer that Friday evening. I ended the phone call as quickly as I could in order to assist you.

Occasionally, when guests arrive prior to check-in, in the event their room is not ready, we always offer the opportunity for them to leave their luggage with us until their room becomes available.

In regards to the train noise, there are indeed 3 postings on this website. Please see January 4th, 2008, November 18th, 2007 and June 20, 2007 for these reviews.

Perhaps when the City of Flagstaff silences the train noise, you will once again return to Flagstaff and enjoy the area for all its charm and beauty!

If you wish to discuss further, please contact us directly - we'd be happy to discuss this at length, if necessary.

Sincerely,
Richard & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burtrum, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2008

Starlight in the Pines is by far the best B&B I've ever stayed in, and now it is the only B&B I stay in every time I go up to Flagstaff. Starlight offers the best of everything: great food, personable hosts, informative guides to restaurants, sites, and things to do in Flagstaff and surrounding areas. The rooms are comfortable and each has a unique theme: check out the Dragonfly Room in the winter, as it is the only room w/its own fireplace!, or the Lily Room in the summer months, as it has its own private patio w/a grand view of Elden Mountain! Each room has a clawfoot tub for a nice, relaxing bubble bath during your stay. Be sure to check out the B&B's website and reserve in advance if possible, as this place tends to book up quickly!

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank freespirit74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2008

Richard and Michael have done an outstanding job putting together their B & B.

Having lived in England for two years and staying exclusively in
B & B"s, we can say with all honesty that the Starlight Pines ranks among the best we've stayed in.

From the fire in the fireplace in the evening to the decorating, the library, games, computer access to the warmth of the hosts, no detail was missed.

Our room was very well appointed, including the nice soft linens!

Breakfast was excellent (hats off to Michael).

All three dogs (including Baxter) were very well mannered.

Bill and Edie
Brighton, Michigan

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — My husband thinks there should have been toast with breakfast (I don't agree)
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BearLakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2008

My friend and I stayed at the Pines for one night en route to the Grand Canyon in March 2008. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel at home. The hosts are lovely: courteous and helpful without being intrusive. Their doggies are charming and well-behaved. Our room was immaculate, with super comfy beds and a great bathroom--I actually squealed when I saw the massive bathtub. It was lovely to sit by the fireplace after an evening out, and the healthy, copious breakfast the next morning was delicious. The vibe at the Pines is warm and relaxed, and when you leave you feel like you`ve been staying with friends. Highly recommended for a stay in the beautiful Flagstaff-Grand Canyon area.

  • Liked — hosts, location, room comfort
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BrownAmazon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2008

This B&B is absolutely fabulous! Richard and Michael are wonderful and can tell you just about anything you want to know about Flagstaff like what to see, where to eat, and where to relax. The house is emaculate and so charming that you never want to leave! The rooms are cozy, the food delicious, and the company unbeatable. We will definitely return!!!

  • Liked — Everything felt so comfortable and cozy. It was incredibly romantic and made for a great getaway!
  • Disliked — There wasn't anything we didn't enjoy!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank slscott2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ill
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2008

arrived and was pleasantly greeted by the owners. the place was immaculate

it was also decorated uniquely and any information we needed for the area, places to go, free meal coupons,, etc were available.

the dining experience was like nothing i have experenced at a bed and breakfast

the dining room had flowers and place mats on the table. the presentation of the food was awesome

and it was good tasting -

the best bed and breakfast i have ever stayed at

will definately return

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank xentris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
2.4 mi away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
1.3 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff
4.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff
3.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Flagstaff
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starlight Pines B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starlight Pines B&B

Property: Starlight Pines B&B
Address: 3380 E Lockett Rd, Flagstaff, AZ 86004-4039
Region: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Starlight Pines B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Starlight Pines B/B in Flagstaff is a top ten B/B in the State of Arizona. Lily Room has private balcony with magnificent view of Mt Elden! Dragonfly has wood-burning fireplace! All rooms have Tiffany lamps and private baths. Folks use our B/B as a home base to see the Grand Canyon, Sedona and many other area attractions within a 2 hour ride! Plan 3 days in Flagstaff to see everything there is to see in Northern Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Starlight Pines B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starlight Pines B&B Flagstaff, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing