We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is great”
Review of Hotel Monte Vista

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Monte Vista
Ranked #29 of 64 Hotels in Flagstaff
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This place is great”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Micheal J Fox suite was great. Being a history buff, I really enjoyed the charm of this hotel add opposed to the cookie cutter rooms found at most major chains. The lounge is always great and I look forward to staying again

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pstearns8125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    157
    88
    54
    84
See reviews for
62
187
35
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We drove up from Tucson to Flagstaff to spend the weekend exploring. My boyfriend gave me free reign to plan exactly what we were going to spend our time doing but was 100% stuck on staying at the Monte Vista. I'm incredibly happy I sometimes just let him have his way. We were traveling with our two kids and were pretty surprised that our room didn't have two double beds. (turns out he messed up on the reservation and NOT the hotel) We ended up getting a roll out bed, which worked well for everyone. The hotel is clean, quiet, and pretty eclectic. That might not be what some people are looking for but if you want every modern amenity go stay at a Hilton. Cocktails and the Lobby Lounge were packed both nights we stayed. Bartenders were friendly and had some good stories. We walked to every place we wanted to go downtown. I suggest Pita Pit and Collins Irish Pub, Try the Collins burger it will make your toes curl. The kids left both their ipods in the room after we checked out. I called and housekeeping had found them. I was expecting the worst. With a lot of smaller hotels you wouldn't ever get your stuff back. We will be returning to the hotel in the furture, maybe next time just a mom and dad trip. I highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun City West, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Excellent location- downstairs bar and coffee shop is wonderful. If you are looking for a unique place this is it- Getting reservations was weird- I don't know if they have many cancellations but I was getting 3 rooms and they wanted all this paper work for a group. checking in was strange also- didn't want us to leave luggage in office and you cant check in until 3. Leaving luggage in your car isn't a great idea. And the woman at the desk seemed put our when we asked if they could store our luggage. We stayed one night and our air conditioner did not work very well-it froze up 3 times during the night and when I told the front desk the same woman didn't seem to care- the room is clean and you are close to everything downtown. I hope the woman at the front desk gets a little friendlier.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield oh
Level Contributor
94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We had room 405, the Anthony Hopkins Suite, and it in no way resembled a suite. Very small, the double bed was against the wall on one side making it hard to get in and out of. The toilet/shower area was small enough to be almost claustrophobic. That said, the room was clean, everything worked, and we had a nice view of the mountains. Not the worst room I have stayed in, very convenient, to the shops and eateries in downtown Flagstaff, but for $125 a night we expected better.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank preams1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuuk, Greenland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

In walking distance to everything downtown-related. The place is old, but funky. It has a wonderful café/cocktailbar, who makes a mean Bloody Mary amongst other things, and a cool bar with live music (the friday night we were there, anyway).
If you want peacefull surroundings, you probably shouldn't book a room on a weekend, but if you like to go out, this is a good and lively spot!
Friendly, helpfull staff and charming rooms (some of them have names - we never found out what that was about, but we liked it).
Would definately book a room there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivalu R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

The history of the hotel accompanied by the character of each room makes it a fun place to stay. It's located right in town, which gives some refreshing night life to go check out instead of shutting yourself in the room for the night.

The rooms are clean and well maintained - although we stayed in the Debbie Reynolds room and they went a little overboard with the pink coloring of the room.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are supposedly "haunted". If that is your bag, ask the front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrPerson871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

If you want the conveniences of a modern hotel, try one of the soulless chains on the outskirts of Flagstaff's historic district. If you want to be in the heart of a lively town, the Monte Vista is the place to stay. The rooms are rather antique (the sink is in the bedroom, the shower is the size of a phone booth, the carpets could use an upgrade, the ceiling fan worked on a schedule of its own). Indeed, the only modern part of the hotel seemed to be the bar. But my room was spacious, the bed was comfortable, and the hotel as a whole is charming and the staff very friendly and helpful. The location is unbeatable; interesting restaurants and shops await as soon as you walk out the door. Although some reviewers have complained about noise, my room on the fourth floor was very quiet; same for my friend who stayed down the hall. I would recommend the hotel for solo travellers, couples and friends, but probably not for families with restless children.

Room Tip: If you need space, try a fourth floor room with double queen beds or a king bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BGB166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.1 mi away
Weatherford Hotel
Weatherford Hotel
#36 of 64 in Flagstaff
182 reviews
0.5 mi away
Highland Country Inn
Highland Country Inn
#17 of 64 in Flagstaff
512 reviews
0.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Flagstaff
0.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Flagstaff University
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Vista

Property: Hotel Monte Vista
Address: 100 N San Francisco St, Flagstaff, AZ 86001-5232
Region: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 64 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monte Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Hotel Monte Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Vista Hotel
Monte Vista Flagstaff
Hotel Monte Vista Flagstaff, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing