We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic but brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Arizona Mountain Inn & Cabins
Ranked #26 of 63 Hotels in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Basic but brilliant”
Reviewed 1 June 2009

Our party of 4 loved the Arizona Mountain Inn. It was so much better than staying in motel rooms.

We had cabin 13. All of the cabins are located in woods.

The decor was fairly old and a little scruffy but we had come prepared for this and so it wasn't a shock. We loved having a living room so that we could sit and socialise together. Unfortunately we had 2 nights of rain so couldn't use the bbq.

One of our party is morbidly afraid of spiders so contacted the hotel before our visit to ask if they could do anything about it. They responded promptly and politely saying they would go around specially to get rid of any spiders. I only saw one in 3 days.

The inn is well located and is only a $10 ride from downtown Flagstaff. I recommend a visit to Altitudes bar for their specials and a tasty pint of Fat Tire.

There is a decent Safeway on the route into town for food and supplies.

Don't come here if you want luxery and a really clean hotel but do come here if you want something with character and to socialise.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    36
    17
    7
    5
See reviews for
42
42
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
FL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2009

This was just what I was looking for, a cabin in the woods for my family of 4 driving from Sedona up to the Grand Canyon. We stayed in Cabin 8 2 nights with a view of the San Francisco peaks. PLENTY of Hot Water for all 4 of us to take showers. The Wood fireplace will really heat the place up so take it easy on it. I liked the Grill on the deck and we had some BBQ pork chops one night. The nice folks let us take the "take out" bible back to the cabin to get some food delivered. It's close to oak creek canyon (89A) and I-40 to take you out to Sunset Crater and walnut canyon. Sunset Crater and the drive through the painted desert to Wupatki was amazing! Do it if you’re in flag for the day. Walnut Canyon with a 6 yr old was more terrifying than the edges of the Grand Canyon!

My kids loved the "room" in the loft and thought this was the best place we stayed in AZ.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FLtoAZtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla, CA
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2009

My wife and I almost never give places we stay at poor ratings, but this one couldn't go unnoticed. If I am honest with my self, and ignore our obvious "I hate this place moments" (which we had more than once), the only plus to the Arizona Mountain Inn was the location, which was tucked away in the thick green of beautiful Flagstaff AZ. Other than that this stay was a Nightmare. I will briefly run through the list.
1. The owner (the guy) was a scum bag, I caught him looking at my wife with a creepy glare a few times, and not at her eye's.
2. The cabin was disgusting, we wore socks around the cabin for fear of touching the ground with our feet.
3. Our first cabin REAKED of vomit, but thanks to the ever so hospitable owners, they moved us after we dragged them both into our Cabin to smell it.
4. Both cabins that we saw had WAY to many spiders. (Obviously I would expect to see one or two, but this was more like 14 or 15!)
5. The single most uncomfortable mattress I have ever been on in my life, my back is still in pain.
The list goes on, all in all I would NEVER recommend this place to any one, you are better off staying at ANY other hotel in Flag, if you want the whole out in the wilderness feel, pitch a tent and sleep on the ground, you will get a better nights sleep.
I guess I have one more nice thing to say about this place, the sugar muffins are tasty.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingPEAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2008

Great if you like "away from it all". Wake up under the trees, in your own log cabin. We were 4 in cabin 14, which has a separate bedroom downstairs, two sleeping areas upstairs with 3 queen beds, and two bathrooms. The kitchen seats 8 and has a fridge and microwave. Its not expensive compared with 2 double rooms in a hotel, it was clean, and had enough plates, glasses (plastic), cutlery and mugs etc for 8. Don't expect a TV. But there is a barbecue outside. We stayed 3 nights and enjoyed it, though we only had food in once and frankly, shopping for food at Walmart is an experience for Europeans. Definitely recommend the Mountain Inn (but not the Walmart!!). If you arrive by taxi at night you need to get them to take you to your cabins, its dark at night.

  • Liked — Spacious, well set up
  • Disliked — Our cabin was a duplex and we could vaguely hear the neighbouring snoring at night
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vesuve99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2008

We stayed in Room 21 which was okay for one night. The bed is a king, and the mattress, which is on the soft side, needs turning or replacing. It has two depressions on either side of a middle ridge, the impressions of many bodies that have slept there. There is no place to put an open suitcase except on the floor.

This room has a jetted tub in its bathroom. The jets are very noisy, and the water heater has insufficient capacity for the tub. I followed the desk clerk's directions on filling and got a tub of barely warm water.

The breakfast was tasty (fruit, muffins, boiled egg). Being on the outskirts of town, the property is very quiet.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bed
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MercyHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, az
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2008

My husband and I stayed in the Honeymoon suite 21. It was very lovely, we were so relaxed, away from all the noise and the city, the weather was perfect about 50 degrees at night, we slept with the window slightly opened and burned a log on the fire place. The staff was really friendly and provided excellent customer service, also helped me with directions around the city and great places to eat. the place smelled like fresh burning scented candles, I loved the bed how comfy it was and the bath tub jacuzze style. I do recommend this place for all the love birds who want a romantic getaway, and will definitely return again....

  • Liked — The theme of the room
  • Disliked — Not being able to stay longer.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AMollinedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, AZ
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed in Suite 21. It was wonderful! The staff was very friendly and helpful. This was our first time in a bed and breakfast, but we felt like we were the only ones there. We will definitely go back again!

  • Liked — The jacuzzi tub in Suite 21
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank simbasmom67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
2.9 mi away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
8.4 mi away
Ski Lift Lodge
Ski Lift Lodge
#23 of 63 in Flagstaff
128 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#12 of 63 in Flagstaff
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
#6 of 63 in Flagstaff
956 reviews
1.3 mi away
GreenTree Inn Flagstaff
GreenTree Inn Flagstaff
#22 of 63 in Flagstaff
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arizona Mountain Inn & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arizona Mountain Inn & Cabins

Property: Arizona Mountain Inn & Cabins
Address: 4200 Lake Mary Rd, Flagstaff, AZ 86005-9210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 63 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Arizona Mountain Inn & Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 beautiful fully-furnished cabins and 3 B&B suites tucked back on 13 acres of Ponderosa pine. Conveniently located 1 mile from town, but feels like your miles out in the forest. Dogs allowed for a fee. Free WIFI. Free breakfast in B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Arizona Mountain Inn & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arizona Mountain Hotel Flagstaff
Arizona Mountain Inn & Cabins Flagstaff, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing