We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome ride in solitude with amazing views!”
Review of Arizona Snowbowl

Arizona Snowbowl
Ranked #12 of 109 things to do in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Perfect corduroy on bluebird days, untracked powder in the upper bowl, drinks on the deck of Agassiz Lodge, and epic views of the Gran Canyon. This is what our guests love about skiing and riding at Arizona Snowbowl! Home to Arizona's longest ski season, 240 inches of annual snowfall and the largest beginner terrain in the Southwest, Snowbowl is proud to offer the premier winter experience.
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Got a great deal on Groupon and gave the summer chairlift ride a try. Amazing views. Could see for hundreds of miles. Weather was beautiful and it was nice and quite. You could hear the breeze in trees and birds singing. Ride lasted about 30 min each way. Park rangers at the top to answer questions. Tip: Its a little chilly at the top, so bring a light jacket.

1  Thank LBJ66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skiinginaz, Manager at Arizona Snowbowl, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you so much for your positive feedback! We appreciate you making us a part of your vacation. Please consider coming back again - either to ride the lift during the fall colors or in winter to test your skiing or riding skills.
Either way, you will enjoy the beauty of northern Arizona, clean air and a plenty of sunshine.
Thank you and enjoy the rest of your summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (586)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

395 - 399 of 586 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

Tool the chairlift to the top of snowbowl mountain and it was wonderful, scary on the way up it is a 2000ft lift no snow but very cold at the top bring a jacket.

Thank Shannon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skiinginaz, Manager at Arizona Snowbowl, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Arizona Snowbowl is the coolest place in Arizona, literally. The temperatures at the top (at 11,500 ft) are usually 10-20 degrees cooler than in Flagstaff, making it sometimes 40-50 degrees cooler than in the valley. We always recommend dressing in layers (just in case). Having sunglasses and sunscreen is also always a good idea.
Thank you for making us a part of you vacation. Please come back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Our first time skiing and we had a blast. My 6 year old took ski lessons and he loved it. His instructor was great, although I did notice one or two that weren't too good. Beautiful views. It wasn't as cold as I thought it would be and for that reason the snow is artificially made. Great first time experience.

Thank chaparrita83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skiinginaz, Manager at Arizona Snowbowl, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Hooray to the first timers! We are so glad to hear that your son loved his first days on the snow. Snowbowl is proud to offer one of the best and largest beginner terrains in the Southwest.
Many think that it should be cold on the snow, but our skiers and riders enjoy mild temperatures, over 260 inches of snow annually and lots of sunshine, making Snowbowl a great place to learn and to perfect your skills.
We look forward to seeing both you and your son on the slopes soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Great service, easy parking and an all around wonderful time. Purchased through a groupon, so I'm not sure how much it normally costs. But I will definitely repeat!

Thank NikkiNicoleInTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skiinginaz, Manager at Arizona Snowbowl, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for taking time to leave this comment on the Scenic Chairlift.
For your repeat trip to Snowbowl, please consider fall colors in September and October, when the temperatures are a bit cooler and aspen turns bright yellow - it is truly a magical time to be here. Winter at Snowbowl are fun too - come and enjoy skiing and riding with the same sunshine as you experience in summer.
Whenever you arrive - we hope you enjoy your trip to Snowbowl!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This was a destination stop for our group of motorcycle riders. We called ahead and got discount tickets to ride the lift. Beautiful scenery! What a way to beat the Phoenix heat in the summer.

Thank christine a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skiinginaz, Manager at Arizona Snowbowl, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Christine,
thank you very much for your positive review.
The Scenic Chairlift is truly a great option to escape the heat as the temperatures at the top (11,500 ft) can be 30-40 degrees cooler than in the valley.
Check the weather for a chance of monsoon showers and don't forget to dress in layers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Arizona Snowbowl also viewed

 

Been to Arizona Snowbowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing