We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, as always”
Review of Ski Lift Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ski Lift Lodge
Ranked #23 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great, as always”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We enjoy staying at these cabins whenever we hike near Flagstaff. They are always spotless, the mattresses are good, the location is charming, the food is great. At 7am the breakfast buffet could be a bit earlier, but it is worth waiting for.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    61
    22
    4
    11
See reviews for
59
36
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Demotte, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

We rented 2 cabin rooms. The rooms were right next to each other. The cabins were very cute. We enjoyed sitting on the front porch of the cabin. The view of the mountain from the deck of the Lodge was outstanding! It was a great value to stay in the rooms and get 2 Scenic Ski Lift tickets per room. We had a great day on the Mountain and then having lunch while listening to acoustic guitar. It was a wonderful Father's Day!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

I had such a great time in Flagstaff during my 2 night stay. Overall, this proved to be the quiet, peaceful getaway I was looking for but the cabins themselves need a desperate update.

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The bar/restaurant was simple and exactly what you'd expect from a tiny spot up in the mountain but was only open from 4-9pm. It was close enough to downtown that if you wanted to grab a drink or bite to eat, it was a short 10 minutes away. The single queen cabin room were big enough for me and my small dog but I'd have a hard time believing 2 grown people could comfortably fit there other than to sleep.

My suggestion: the last "update" was in 1998 according to the literature offered in the room. It's 2013...it might be time to do an overhaul and spruce things up. I would LOVE to stay here again but next time I'll know to bring a fan, a pad for the concrete bed (not sure what to do about the squeaky springs - no "private" time for grown ups), an extension cord with a power strip since the few outlets in the cabin were inconveniently placed, shower shoes and bleach along with a scrub brush to clean the mildew in the shower (and hopefully hide the mildew smell from the lack of air circulation in the cabin).

This place has ALL the potential. I hope that there are plans to listen to the reviews and update the cabins so that everyone can enjoy the wonderful qualities of this cabin setting and the beautiful nature that surrounds it! I love the idea of what this could be with a little TLC.

Room Tip: At very least....Bring a portable fan for your room, bring some kind of padding for the beds, bring...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowhitegrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks, Alaska, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

My friends and I stayed at the Lodge for a couple of nights in February. It is not a 5-star resort, but we were completely comfortable and happy. The beds were just right and the rooms we stayed in (2 rooms side-by side in their own cabin-like building) had gas fireplace heaters that were super-cozy and gave great ambiance, not to mention all the BTU's you could ask for. The water pressure in one of the sinks wasn't great, but the shower pressure was amazing. Best of all was the proximity to the mountain: no stoplights or traffic, which probably shaves 15 minutes off the commute from Flag. Decent continental breakfast perfect for pre-ski. I also have to mention that I left some things in the room when I checked out and the staff went out of their way to get them back to me in a timely manner. Thanks y'all!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pedroXL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, AZ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2013

If getting a good nights rest is important to you than I say stay clear of Ski Lift Lodge. The beds are terrible and the room heater sounds like a Mack truck when is starts blowing - the blower on the heater is right at bed height so the unfortunate person who is sleeping next to the heater (that was me) gets blasted by hot air every 30 mins. I fall asleep easy and stay asleep but not at this place - WORST night of sleep I have ever had.

The one star for this place I would give to the staff who was very polite and apologetic about the beds - the satff did say that the poor quality of the beds is a very common complaint but General Management won't do anything about it. So shame on Snow Bowl for neglecting what could be a very fun and comfortable little motel - I guess you get your money from the people trying your hotel for the first time and don't care if they are repeat customers. FYI, I cancelled our second nights stay and our second day of skiing so that was roughly $450 of revenue lost - guess what that $450 could have bought two new beds.

Take a hint Ski Lift Lodge and put some money into this motel!!!

This family will be skiing at Sunrise from now on.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arizona_Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Hi,
I have been passing by these going to Snowbowl for 19yrs. They always looked over priced for what is availabe in Flagstaff. With the half off lift tickets, free all you can eat buffet breakfast which included eggs, french toast, bacon, sausage, potatoes, ceral, yogurt, milk, chocolate milk, tea, coffee, hot chocolate, and very affordable delicious dinner menu I have been missing out. It is all you need, you are under the pines, the rooms are quaint and clean with a gas wood burning stove for heat. Right at Snowbowl road for easy access. Friendly people that provide great customer service.
The only con is the beds were just above average, they weren't the worst, but they weren't the best. I got a good night sleep, so they were good enough. This is the only reason I gave it a 4 out of 5.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Griff156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, AZ
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

The plus side to this motel is it is the closest lodging to the ski resort. You also get half price on your lift tickets. The restaurant is cozy, but the food is expensive and not very good. The atmosphere almost makes up for it, though. There is a wood burning stove inside and it's a nice place to hang out. They do include breakfast with your room purchase which was not too bad.

The down side to this motel is it's really old and smells musty. The floor in our bathrooom had a soft spot which grossed me out. I was so glad I brought my own sheets because the bedding was also really old and I was worried the blankets might not be clean. The mattress was awful. Overall it felt unclean & dirty to me, but I realize that is probably because everything is old. This place could be adorable if it were remodeled and better maintained.

Room Tip: The cabin style rooms only have a very old shower. The hotel style rooms have a bathtub and the sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
6.1 mi away
Highland Country Inn
Highland Country Inn
#15 of 65 in Flagstaff
520 reviews
7.4 mi away
Days Hotel Flagstaff
Days Hotel Flagstaff
#22 of 65 in Flagstaff
1,093 reviews
6.2 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#25 of 65 in Flagstaff
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Flagstaff University
7.5 mi away
Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites
7.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#13 of 65 in Flagstaff
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ski Lift Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ski Lift Lodge

Property: Ski Lift Lodge
Address: 6355 N Highway 180, Flagstaff, AZ 86001-7907
Region: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ski Lift Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regardless of whether you're planning a visit in winter, summer, spring, or fall, these cabins are an ideal place to stay. Located the closest to the slopes of Arizona Snowbowl, this accommodation also provides direct access to northern Arizona's attractions including the Grand Canyon and is perfect for those who want to access hiking or biking trails from their door steps. The restaurant located on the premises offers nightly dinner specials and homemade cheesecake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Ski Lift Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ski Lift Hotel Flagstaff
Ski Lift Lodge Flagstaff, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing