We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap and very basic”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Flagstaff
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Western Hills Motel
Ranked #36 of 63 Hotels in Flagstaff
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“cheap and very basic”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

We had just stayed in Vegas and were heading to Sedona but was getting late do decided to stop off in Flagstaff - nothing else was available so stopped here. The only good thing about this place was the price 55 dollars for a double. The room was basic and tired. I had to have several drinks to take mind off the grimness of it. We moved on early next morning.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dolster0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    12
    5
    2
    6
See reviews for
4
10
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

We like to travel off the beaten path, avoiding chain restaurants and hotels when we travel. Vintage Route 66 hotel with a cool neon sign? I couldn't resist! I should have tried harder. The room was sorta clean - floors 'n beds okay but lots of dead bugs around the windows. Ever used one of those airline pillows? These were only slightly larger. We asked the front desk for more pillows but they had no extra. The shower in the bathroom was old which was kinda cool but the door wouldn't shut and it leaked water on the floor. The bathroom window wouldn't close enough to lock safely, its frame warped by age and painted multiple times. The room had ONE power outlet and has way too many things plugged into it. The guy at the front desk was friendly, recommended some nice places to eat, but was there only half the time. Overall the place was cheap, definitely interesting, but I don't think we'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jencat369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

My roommate and I stayed here for three weeks while our apartment was being renovated and we were both very pleased with our stay. The staff is excellent. All of them are very friendly and helpful. There is an amazing restaurant in the same parking lot that serves good cheap breakfast and the best gyros I've ever had. Overall, it was a great temporary home while waiting for our apartment. I would definitely recommend Western Hills and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gavin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed here on out drive to Las Vegas and its a good stay and close to the downtown area. Shopping was nice found interesting things at the local shops. Small but clean rooms and nice staff. Next time we are in town we will stay there again. Low rate and nice people.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Batman46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We drove in from Chicago and saw the vintage western sign and decided to give it a go! It was great! The staff was wonderful and would stay there again!! It was affordable and a great over night stay. Comfy and pleasant rooms. Close to downtown Flagstaff.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acia1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

Stayed here once for two days after they gave away our extended stay room. The room was quite bad. The bathroom had mold, grime, caulking issues and no fan (plus a bolted window so you couldn't even get air in). The room was cramped. The table was very dusty. There was only one outlet in the room. Non-working light above our bed. The sheets were not fitted, just flat sheets. The door had a crappy lock that made us feel unsafe. Also, we saw in the morning that moths had eaten holes through the drapery.

As far as service: We needed a place to stay for a month, but they gave away our room, thank goodness (see above). We booked tentatively and drove up to Flagstaff on the assumption that we had a room. We called the night before to make sure we still had a room - they said yes. Then, we get there, the manager tells us the man in the room had decided to stay, so there is no room for us. He had literally given away our room. That's partly just Arizona law, but it was very troubling that they had made us feel secure when, apparently, we weren't. I wouldn't recommend working with the staff there. They're friendly-sounding but deceptive or, at best, unclear.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellerD933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chase b, Manager at Western Hills Motel, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
We are very sad that your stay with us was not a pleasant one. While we realize that that this is a vintage motel without all of the modern amenities but we do strive to make it as clean and comfortable as possible. My only wish is that you would have alerted us to your concerns while you were staying here so we could have addressed those issues, pointed out power sockets, demonstrated how to open the windows or even moved you to a different room and if we could not make you comfortable we would have been happy to offer you a refund so that you could find a place to stay that was more to your liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Flagstaff hotels

Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

I've stayed here twice. First was late 90s when the NAU dorms closed for the summer and my apartment lease started the next day. I chose because it's cheap and was close to the pizza place I worked. Wow! I was surprised. Large room. Clean. Smelled nice. Great front desk staff. Old place but great value! I stayed again a few months ago. Same story! If you like staying in independent hotels, this is the best choice in East FLG

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn and Suites - Flagstaff
1.1 mi away
Weatherford Hotel
Weatherford Hotel
#34 of 63 in Flagstaff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aspen InnSuites Flagstaff / Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Days Hotel Flagstaff
Days Hotel Flagstaff
#21 of 63 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff
0.6 mi away
Super 8 Flagstaff I-40 Ex 198 Lucky Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western Hills Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Hills Motel

Property: Western Hills Motel
Address: 1580 E Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86001-4821
Region: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 63 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An historic motel with a Western theme right on Route 66. We offer clean rooms and friendly service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Western Hills Motel Flagstaff, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing