We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“group of seven” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Satchmo's BBQ

Satchmo's BBQ
Ranked #5 of 338 Restaurants in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A funky little joint, that cooks with love. Ribs, Beef Brisket, Pulled Pork, Jambalaya, Gumbo, Poboys and Veggie options just to name a few! A killer selection of local and regional craft brews. We understand it may not taste just like your Grandma's Gumbo or just like Pop's BBQ. But what we do understand is cook'n with love, just like Grandma and Pop's did. Good for your soul food!
PHOENIX
Level Contributor
147 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“group of seven”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

There is no booking only one table inside, that can accommodate a group of 7, so we sat outside, a bit chilly but there was an outside heater by the table. Food was excellent, small selection which you order first and pay a register. Cajun style food that all the group loved I had the jambalaya and gumbo, which were both sides, but tasty and filling . Reasonable prices and great food

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kiwiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    293
    120
    27
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Love the sandwich and the tots... not a fan of the coleslaw... but the baked beans my mom had were awesome! Great value Great food.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MrsKendraG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hard to find, but worth looking for”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

My wife and I ate at Satchmo's in April. The food was very good, simple fair with a good selection of local beers. I had the pulled pork which was really good. Obviously, this is a place where locals eat and it was moderately busy - in part because we were early.
Satchmo's is behind the gas station on the southwest corner of the intersection of N 4th St. and E 7th Ave.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mjc_edwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best BBQ in Flagstaff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Delicious BBQ with a Cajun twist! We go here at least a couple times a month and we've never been disappointed. Don't let the outside of the restaurant fool you, this is some of the best food in town!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank daisyb0mb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic food...a hidden gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

The exterior of this restaurant does not do any justice to the wonderful ambience inside. The food was superb the ribs and the sauce completely unique and delicious. The jambalaya was fantastic and the kids grilled cheese with tater tots were a nice surprise. The brisket was also delicious even without the sauce… all-in-all a fantastic experience.

Helpful?
Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Satchmo's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing