We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but fine for BPs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Canyon International Hostel
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Basic but fine for BPs”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Very nice showers, limited breakfast with disgustingly sweet porridge sachets. wifi was temperamental but overall perfectly fine stay.
Good location for restaurants/bars in Flagstaff in the evening. only an hour's drive to the main sightseeing views and hikes of the GC.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank benandnemz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    67
    26
    7
    6
See reviews for
11
25
70
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

great place, lovely place to stay, good place to meet like minded people.. place is clean and the rooms are clean, beds are comfy, good value for money, even though i only stayed two nights it was fantastic!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melona22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

A bit over priced for me but then all hostels are in USA...I liked the HI in Phoenix because they're
Open to working mostly cleaning! In exchange for bed.
This hostel is well located but they need to turn down the MUSIC blasting as it makes it hard to talk with other guests which is what I enjoy doing when choosing a hostel. The fellowship is important for me.
In New Zealand we have a huge network of hostels . I am surprised America has so FEW!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dortmund, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The rooms very small, the TV (we had to pay extra for it) worked not like described, very close to the main station (= 1. close to a very good restaurant (Lumberyard Brewing Company), 2. you can here the very looong trains every 45 minutes.
I found it a bit confusing as they have two check-in/ -out points.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manu-wan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I lucked into getting a bunk one night and ended up staying for three. It's right by downtown Flagstaff. Everything feels very clean, the staff is friendly, there's a pretty good kitchen, and plenty to eat for breakfast. My only complaint is that the first night I was there it was a little loud at 2am, it's tough to complain when you get a breakfast, bed, and shower for the price of a campsite though

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler, TX
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Stayed here late April 2014. Walking distance from the Amtrak station, they let me in at 0630 to have breakfast, warm and freshen up. Nice people, clean facility other than just some minor attention was needed to the free computer area( dusting and a good wipe down).

Would certainly stay here again. A+++ all the way!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grettasmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I complaint about the bed bug to them that I got serious bites after I got home, and asked for refund and told them maybe rather than writing them bad reviews online. The owner replied that I am "lack of knowledge", I "threatened" them and doesn't sound genuine.They replied they are the owner named John McCulloch and the wife Lisa. I then replied with the receipt for buying medicine which is less then USD 3, because they said I am from different culture and lack of knowledge and didn't even attach the receipt. They still don't reply afterward and want to close the case without refund and bad manner.

They said nobody complains and checked for nothing. I only saw the same situation on TripAdvisor and wanted to threaten for money back. They also said I should be careful with the hostels before and after I stayed, maybe I brought bugs or they brought bugs to me.

They said I didn't complain right away, but how do I know that's their problem if I never saw complaints online. Even I complained right away they would have said nobody complains and I might have bites from the outsides. But I did have bites from my clothes I hang on or when waking up in the morning and found them on the body.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clairewa02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, Owner at Grand Canyon International Hostel, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
This was the real response I had sent to Ms. Wang.

On Tue, Apr 8, 2014 at 3:37 AM, John Mcculloch <itmedianow@yahoo.com> wrote:
Ms. Wang- My name is John McCulloch and my wife, Lisa, and I are the owners of the Hostel. When I was notified last Friday (April 4th) of your request for a refund, I immediately went to the Hostel to check about bed bugs in room #6. However, there were three (3) guests in the room and I was not going to remove their luggage to search for bed bugs. They were scheduled to check out on Saturday but they decided to stay until tomorrow (April 8th). So I will search the room then for any signs of bed bugs. I must say that none of the 3 people in the room have stated any concerns for being bitten. No one complained before you were here and no one has been bitten since you left. You stayed for 4 nights and you never mentioned about being bit by bed bugs. It was only after you read that we provided refunds did you contact us, and now you threaten to write a bad review about our hostel if we don't send you money. In most parts of the world that would be considered "blackmail".

As you were told, we take bed bugs very seriously and have a thorough cleaning process if they were to be found. You also stated you want to be compensated for your medicine but offer no receipt for what that cost may be. There is a professional way to proceed and your current request does not sound genuine. Given the cultural differences, I understand your lack of knowledge in knowing how to seek appropriate compensation if warranted, but since you took 11 days to contact us, it will take a little while to confirm or exclude the presence of bed bugs. As a professional courtesy to other Hostels, where did you stay before you came to our Hostel, and where did you go immediately after you left our Hostel. If there were bed bugs in the room, I would not like to think you might have carried them to another hostel.

I hope we can resolve this in the next few days.

Respectfully,

John McCulloch

P.S. No bed bugs were found
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff
0.4 mi away
Highland Country Inn
Highland Country Inn
#16 of 65 in Flagstaff
517 reviews
0.2 mi away
Weatherford Hotel
Weatherford Hotel
#34 of 65 in Flagstaff
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
0.2 mi away
Hotel Monte Vista
Hotel Monte Vista
#29 of 65 in Flagstaff
466 reviews
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Flagstaff University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canyon International Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon International Hostel

Property: Grand Canyon International Hostel
Address: 19 South San Francisco St, Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Region: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming happy travelers from around the world for over 20 years! This charming hostel located in the quaint mountain town of Flagstaff, is a fun, friendly and inexpensive place to stay the night, and is only 80 miles from the magnificent Grand Canyon! It provides a unique and relaxing environment which encourages mingling with other guests, including the thousands of International visitors who overnight here every year. Make new friends, practice your foreign language skills and rest up for your next Arizona adventure, all under one roof! There's nothing fancy about this place, but it definitely has loads of charm and character! The accommodation is clean, simple and affordable with cozy dorm rooms on the main level and "themed" private rooms on the upper floor. The location is ideal for those who prefer walking to driving. Exploring historic downtown Flagstaff is easy - a vast selection of restaurants, pubs, shopping and nightlife are all within walking distance. A healthy breakfast, WI FI, parking and taxes are included in the nightly rate, and on site kitchen and laundry facilities are available for guest use as well. We also operate awesome day hiking tours to the Grand Canyon. Shop around and you'll see that we offer the best price in town - guaranteed! We hope you will choose to visit our little "home away from home" very soon. Safe travels! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Canyon International Hotel Flagstaff
Grand Canyon International Hostel Flagstaff, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing