We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best KOA ever!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Flagstaff
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Flagstaff Grand Canyon KOA
St. Maarten
1 review
“Best KOA ever!!!”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

My wife and I stayed here for three nights during our honeymoon. The managers Jim and his wife Janyelle are VW bus owners and just so happened we were having problems with ours. Jim came in early one morning and helped me tune it up so we could beat the snow storm heading towards Flagstaff. They were all very friendly the entire time we were there which made it our best KOA experience (mostly because of the team going above and beyond the call of duty). Thanks Jim and Janielle for helping us keep going, we ended up making it to San Diego, CA where we "finally" ended our epic trip!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank captpatrick10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    82
    55
    26
    18
See reviews for
144
89
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kona, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed here in our rental RV. Iʻve found that campground while often decently run are often at the mercy of the campers there for the night. We had a nice night here at the Flagstaff KOA. The weather report was for thunderstorms, rain and snow and I was glad we were not in a tent! Our spot was nice but not level, but not too bad. Electric and water hookups were good. The laundry was close by and welcome. Check in was nice and turns out the folks in the front office often vacation in our home town. Small world. Spaces are spread out quite generously and there are lots of trees. Road noise is bad but not much of an issue in an RV when itʻs 40 out and all the windows are closed. Iʻm sure itʻd be more of an issue in a tent in the summer. We got the first snow of the season which was exciting, but it didnʻt stick which was nice for driving the next day. Breakfast spot had closed for the season. This is a large park but has a nice feel to it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joferer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangiora
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here overnight in our rented rv in late sept. The staff were friendly and the wifi good. Only complaint would be the road noise, but we have found most campgrounds in the US noisy. We can highly recommend the camp kitchen for a great breakfast to dtsrt thd day.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Blackhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I have stayed at KOA's for years and typically elect to pay more to camp at a KOA to ensure a good nights rest. The Flagstaff KOA was the noisiest one I have ever stayed at. We stayed in a teepee and the group next door was using industrial/commercial lighting that lit our teepee up until 1AM. The children were shrieking until midnight and running through all the campsites, even trying to enter our teepee. Adults were shouting as if they were 100 feet away from each other instead of a few inches. Unfortunately my husband had a 50k race the next day and was not rested. Next time in Flagstaff, we will skip the KOA and get a hotel room.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebandPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed for a few nights inbetween national parks, more like a stop-over really. Positives: the campground is clean, so are the amenities and the employees are very friendly and professional. Negatives: you can hear the road very well, all throughout the night and campsites for tents are back to back so we could hear our neighbour snoring all night as well, his tent only being about 2-3 meters away from us. Because they have assigned sand pits to pitch your tent moving it elsewhere is impossible. Also hardly any shade on tent sites during the day and it did get very hot. They serve breakfast as well but we didn't try that. Location quite convenient and not too far into Flagstaff. Okay for a stop-over but not very relaxing for a longer stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flauschipoohbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholasville, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Overall, our stay here was fine. Campground is tight and we had to back in rather than pull thru. Luckily, our section wasn't very crowded so this wasn't an issue. Bathrooms were in decent condition...didn't use the showers. My kids enjoyed the playground and the bounce house. Water was not working at the dump station. There is a grocery store very close and that was convenient.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4familytravellers802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

While the location is convenient to the town of Flagstaff, the spots are SMALL!! We have a 40' motorhome and tow our car. we had to unhook the car to get in and out of the park. Very cramped and difficult to maneuver. The electricity at our site was iffy. It seemed to surge off and on. One good thing, The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KateDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
3.9 mi away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
1.7 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff
2.2 mi away
Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
#6 of 65 in Flagstaff
986 reviews
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Flagstaff
6.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flagstaff Grand Canyon KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flagstaff Grand Canyon KOA

Property: Flagstaff Grand Canyon KOA
Address: 5803 N US Highway 89, From I-40 Exit 201, 1/2 mile North US 89 to Page, Flagstaff, AZ 86004-2754
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Flagstaff
Number of rooms: 150
Also Known As:
Flagstaff Grand Canyon Koa Hotel Flagstaff
Flagstaff Grand Canyon KOA North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing